Harlequin Mills & Boon Medical Romance Novels

Brand Power – Helping You Buy Better

I am a great believer in brand power – that unique promise that differentiates one product from another.

Each Harlequin series has its own ‘brand’. Medicals are intense and uplifting and…well, medical. Harlequin Presents are what you turn to for a passionate escape to a glamorous setting. Blaze stories are hot and steamy.

It’s all about letting readers know what they’re going to get – no nasty surprises!

P1010018
darkly sexy / trust me, I’m a doctor / fresh & flirty

But each Harlequin author also has a brand that layers over the top of the series promise – a unique voice and distinctive style that makes reading one author’s books a different experience from reading any other author’s.

Cover US
Quirky shoe designer heroine, celebrity chef hero, planning a same sex wedding celebration – doesn’t get much more sexy, funny, modern, urban than that!

As a reader, I am voracious and eclectic and I love to dabble in all things romantic.

But as a writer, I have a particular brand positioning: sexy, funny, modern, urban. That brand dictates that even when I am dealing with very serious issues – grief, betrayal, tropical diseases, neglected children, drug abuse, sexual harassment, media intrusion, sibling rivalry, to name just a few – the angst is never so soul destroying that my characters can’t stride into the world laughing as they grab it by the throat.

I’ve written across three sub-genres – Medical, Romantic Comedy, and New Adult – and I may well add a few more before I put down the quill. I’ve got a few romantic suspense ideas twirling in my head, for example, and I adore the idea of writing an historical romance. But whatever type of story I’m working on, and whatever the trope, sexy, funny, modern, urban is the way I’m going to tell it.

  • Want a saga? I’m not your girl. I prefer diving into the story of one couple in as tight a time frame as possible – a week or a month or a year, rather than a couple of generations.
  • Something rural? I’m city through and through, so the only time you’re likely to see me in a country setting is with a fish out of water trope.
  • Sweet romance? Not me – I like to know exactly what the hero and heroine are doing in the bedroom and why it’s important to them.
  • A three volume epic?  Er…no. I’m generally worn out by my characters by the end of one book, and am anxious to find some new ones to throw into the world.

    Wanting Mr Wrong hi res cover (669x1024) (3)
    Movie star hero, anti-paparazzi heroine, a tight group of city-dwelling friends talking about pheromones.

I’m never offended when someone decides I’m not their cup of tea. I read all my reviews, even the 1-stars, and whenever I get some flack about the issues I cover or the way I write about them, I always take a moment to reflect on what I could do better. Most of the time, however, it simply means those particular readers just don’t like my brand – and that’s okay.

On the flip side, I sure get a kick out of it when someone tells me I’ve given them a few happy hours. It’s a wonderful thing to know that my sexy, funny, modern, urban stories are right for some of the many diverse readers out there.

So, readers and writers, what’s your ‘brand’? And how much do you stray from it when you’re writing a book or choosing one to read?

I’m looking forward to diving into a new Medical story next year, but meanwhile, I’m featuring a little try before you buy opportunity. I have a short story in an anthology that is out now and it’s FREE! My story, When Jack Met Evie, is a prequel to my book Wanting Mr Wrong, so if you’ve never read my stuff, it’s a painless why to give me a try.

The Day We Met - Cover Image (669x1024)WHEN JACK MET EVIE he found his usual movie star charm wasn’t enough to catch her attention. In fact, she seemed to be actively avoiding him . . . He’s heard Evie has a fatal fear of paparazzi, but that doesn’t mean he should ignore his heart, does it?

And please feel free to connect with me via my website, Facebook, and Twitter.

21 thoughts on “Brand Power – Helping You Buy Better”

  1. I absolutely agree about branding, Avril…it’s always good to know you are getting what you expected, although sometimes I do like to pleasantly surprised! My branding is ‘fresh, fun and flirty’ so my stories tend to be urban and upbeat with sex scenes…at least that’s what I’m aiming for, and that’s what my readers expect.
    As for choosing books to read I have to admit I usually go for old favourite auto-buy authors. If I was choosing something new the branding would definitely be the first thing I’d look at…interesting bright covers and funny clever titles sell to me (very much like the ones you’ve got up here 🙂
    Thanks for the free book- I’ll hop on over and get it!

    1. Fresh, fun and flirty does sound like you! And I am definitely a sucker for a bright, cheerful cover – loved the KISS covers, in particular.

  2. Hi Avril – good for you for knowing exactly what you’re about as a writer. I’m still not sure! I do however prefer small town settings. Having grown up in Los Angeles, I really didn’t like it. I like the idea of people connecting with each other (not being nosy but caring) and a small town that they all feel loyal to. Writing has taught me that no matter what I write it’s got to focus on the emotion behind whatever plot I come up with.
    Glad to know you’ll be writing another medical! 🙂 (or have you already?)

    1. As a reader, I’m equal opportunity – small town, city, or anything in between. I just feel more ‘myself’ when I’m writing about the city. It’s the ‘shallow’ in me! I have the plot of my next medical swirling in my head, and I’ll be putting my aviation background to good use, I think! Just one or two things to get out of the way before I get stuck into it.

  3. I’m definitely medical and contemporary. I enjoy writing those hot bedroom scenes and as a former published writer of horror, I like my medical scenes to be gritty and real, something my ed has to reign me back on!

  4. I’m firmly Historical but more Game of Thrones than Pride and Prejudice- I had my first heroine use a crossbow to slaughter a wolf so I don’t think my characters would make it past the front door of a polite Regency ballroom.

  5. Fabulously smart blog, Avril! Very wise.

    My tagline is contemporary love stories, satisfaction guaranteed. I like that it has an overarching appeal that both urban and small town romance can fit into although my books, like yours, are overwhelmingly urban. I’ve started to brand my bigger books as urban-family romance because I do like a crazy cast of extras 🙂

    As far as reading goes, I’m a bit like Louisa, I usually stick to my favs but will buy on recs as well!

    1. I love your tagline. I rally am enjoying the ‘friends’ of my city dwelling heroes and heroines – I think partly because my readers skew slightly younger and they tend to find that aspect so important.

      As a reader, of course, I am up for just about anything, although I like sassy books the best.

  6. Avril I love how different our books can be meaning that there’s always something for everyone. (ps. I write the total opposite to you when it comes to medically! Sweet. Sagas. Rural. Series. Haha!)
    Branding is so important. Readers need to know what they’re getting. Nothing worse than poor grandma getting a shock when she picks up a steamy romance when she usually reads sweet. And I imagine those who like their reads a little more on the sexy side would be frustrated reading behind closed door bedroom scenes. Each to our own as readers and writers. It’s what makes us all unique. X

    1. I hate the though that someone will pick up my books and get an unexpected eyeful, so to speak! But oddly enough, I am happy enough with both sweet and sexy, as a reader.

  7. Great blog, Avril! One of the things I’m pondering as the new year approaches is exactly your question – what’s my brand? Obviously, I’m not yet sure! I remember hearing that one good way to begin to get a handle on that if we don’t already know is to ask readers to give a few words they would use to describe your books. Apparently, it can be eye-opening! Words that frequently come up by a variety of readers who’ve read more than one book can help us identify our brand. Or, of course, I could simply decide what I want my brand to be, and be sure to head in that direction! Will see….hoping to be ‘brand’ new next year! 😉

    1. That’s a really exciting position to be in. I’m on Wattpad and get lots of feedback along the way from readers there that confirm what I think about my own writing – sexy and funny are the two main things people say. I don’t think I deliberately chose my brand – it just came out that way and I recognised it. But I remember having a catch-up with a small group of readers a few months ago and when I was trying to come up with what my books are like, I ended up saying; it’s like the way we’re sitting and I’m talking to you – that’s the kind of feel you get from my books! Which on reflection may have been a dangerous thing to say!

  8. Avril, my brand is deeply emotional. I get a kick out of a reader telling me they cried when they read my stories. Not that they’re sad all the way through, but they do pull at the heartstrings occasionally.

    1. It’s a wonderful thing to hear. As a reader, I love it when that happens to me. I’ve had quite a few people tell me that they’ve cried in some of my scenes – and because I generally writer romantic comedy, I’m always thrilled by that.

  9. I read a little of everything but on a rainy, cold Sunday afternoon I’m going for an author I know. My brand is fun, sexy and snappy dialogue. My story with be in small towns to big cities, and all over the world.

    1. I’ve been experimenting a little more with authors this year and have found some great reads But the one thing I must have is great dialogue – and preferably a few laughs as well.

  10. Ahhh Avril – great topic! I have always considered myself a bit of a Cover Whore…completely drawn in by the visual promise of something witty, sassy, mind-tinglingly refreshing…I definitely read a wiiiiiide spectrum of books – minus sci-fi. Or instructions. Husband reads instructions. I love your brand – you kicky minx, you!

Leave a comment