Harlequin Mills & Boon Medical Romance Novels, Holiday Celebrations, New Releases, The Writing Life

Rainy Days and Mondays

Well, today isn’t Monday, but as I was writing this blog post, it was. And it was definitely raining. Most of the day, in fact. But, unlike the song, those kinds of days don’t “get me down.” I tend to like the rain. And sleeping to the sound of thunder is just bliss.

What wasn’t so blissful was the cold that went along with the rain, since we’re headed into winter, and the days are getting shorter. But what does make me happy is that I just got my story bible for the continuity I’ll be writing. And it’s a Christmas story. One of my favorite kinds of books to write! Did the editors plan it that way, hoping the festive lights and tinsel would light my muse’s fire? I don’t know, but I think it’s going to work. I’m very excited about the plot I’ve been given, and on Monday, I was busy setting up my chapters in Scrivener (the writing program I use). So, right now, it’s literally a series of twelve chapter headings and an expanse of empty pages. My imagination is running wild with how I can make this story my own.

Monday’s rain just added to my momentum, since I couldn’t get out and do anything. In fact, I drove to a nearby supermarket parking lot to get some peace and quiet, pushed back the seat as far as it would go and listened to the rain while I got my program set up. It was wonderful. Just me, the warmth of the car heater, and my still-to-be-written book.

rainy days and Mondays
The view from my car on a rainy Monday

And I can’t wait to start! I just came off a frenetic writing schedule and finally had time to stop and recharge my batteries. So just like the rain that was washing the thin layer of dust from my car, it cleared the cobwebs from my mind too. I’m ready to write.

I’m in love. With my characters. My story. My life. Even on a rainy, Monday morning!

To add to my joy, I just received the cover for my latest book. I love that too!

How about you? Do you like rainy days?

9781335663344

5 thoughts on “Rainy Days and Mondays”

  1. Hi Tina

    Oh yes I love the rain if I don’t have to go anywhere and I am up to date with the washing 🙂 We are going into summer here in Australia which means storms as well and there were a few around today that left a lot of hail in some parts not here but around, love days like this so as I can just sit and read.

    Love that cover woohoo

    Have Fun

    Helen

    1. Yes, me too, Helen! I love to curl up with a good book on those stormy days! It’s actually raining again right now. But I’m snug in the house with nowhere I have to be. So it’s all good!

  2. I love love love sleeping with rain drumming on the roof, Tina. And lazing in bed all day reading on a rainy day – if I dont have anything else to be doing. Its raining at the moment as I stare out the window but I have to *write* 3k today so there will be no reading, alas! 😦

    1. It’s raining here too, Amy! And I should be writing, I really should. But I’m sitting on the love seat with my pug beside me and have decided it’s going to be a lazy day. Maybe I’ll get some writing in later this evening!

  3. I do enjoy rain – to a point! I love hearing it when I’m sleeping, or curled up with a book, or drumming on the canvas when we used to camp. But it’s been too many days in a row of cold, gray rain, and it’s time for it to move on 🙂 I need some sunshine! But the good part is that I, too, have writing I have to do today, and since working outside isn’t an option (something hubby had on task for us today) that will be easier to accomplish 🙂

Leave a comment