Harlequin Mills & Boon Medical Romance Novels, Hot Docs!, Quirky Stories

Too Good Looking for His Own Good!

By Lynne Marshall

Have you ever seen a truly gorgeous man in person and up close?  It is a rare treat.  We see pictures of great looking movie stars and athletes, but how often do we see them in real life?  Sure, we may spot a pretty face in a crowd, but having an ongoing encounter is a whole different ballgame.

I have two memories of being around guys who were so good looking I could barely function.  I’m serious!  Of course I was much much younger then, but man oh man was it humiliating.

One was a patient.  I worked in a clinic at the time, and he needed to come in regularly.  I won’t go into why as that is private medical information.  Since I was the original nurse to intake him, he always remembered me.  At first, I was simply struck by how gorgeous he was and I functioned fine, but as time went by and I saw more and more of him (yes, I admit to daydreaming about him. A lot!) I started falling apart whenever he showed up.  It got to the point where I had to ask other nurses to give him his treatment because I wasn’t sure I could function properly around him.  Honestly, it was so embarrassing, but the man was that handsome!

The other time was when a whole lot of construction was going on at work and the place was crawling with men.  Loud, gregarious, some obnoxious, men.  There was always so much noise going on I couldn’t help but look inside the room they were working on when I passed.  That’s what got me in trouble.  This one time, by chance, my eyes connected with the most incredibly beautiful eyes I’d ever seen.  They were bright blue and surrounded by thick black lashes.  As my personal camera pulled back I noticed a face to match those eyes, and a head of thick dark brown to the point of almost being black, hair.  Fireworks imploded in my chest.  I looked away immediately, but darn if every single time I tried to sneak a look at that particular construction worker, I got caught by him!  I mean, who could resist such eye candy!  For the rest of my life I will remember one particular staring contest we had. It made my knees go weak.  Darn, it was humiliating to be susceptible to something as superficial as a gorgeous face.

There.  I’ve admitted it.  I’m superficial when it comes to beautiful men. No way could I be around them all the time.  I’d be useless.

How about you?  Ever worked or had to interact with a truly, classically gorgeous man?

Do tell!

Lynne Marshall’s current Harlequin Medical Romance is appropriately titled:

Dr. Tall, Dark…and Dangerous?  How’s this for a handsome face?

Until next time,

Lynne Marshall

16 thoughts on “Too Good Looking for His Own Good!”

  1. I think we’ve all ‘been there done that’ with a handsome man. We’re genetically wired to have our radar seek out good breeding stock! I remember in early dating days and I am aging myself here, my now DH saw the movie, Witness. It was the perfect film for us because I lusted after a young Harrison Ford and he was lusting after the actress who played the Amish woman. A win-win situation 😉 Bottom line, I’ll take a slightly less than perfect face and body if he irons.

  2. Hi Fiona – yes, wisdom does win out as we uh-hum mature. I couldn’t imagine being involved with a man with whom every woman on the street would do anything to get her mits on!

    I’ve got a man who washes dishes as his way of thanking me for cooking dinner. Now that’s gorgeous! 🙂

  3. lol Fiona – you’re right there.
    Yes, Lynne, there are those dumb-struck moments that punctuate all our lives I reckon.
    They call it the copulatory gaze don’t they? And I LOVE it! That ceaseless eye contact where all your energy is trained on just one person and vice versa and everything around you falls away even if its just for seconds. Oh the anticipation, the belly tightening.
    Sigh…..LOVE it!
    And hubba hubba – your cover man, phwoar! That’s some copulatory gaze he’s got going on. Fanning myself!

    1. As usual, Amy – you nailed it! 🙂
      Being a nurse, I had to work with all kinds of people, all ages and sexes etc, but can you imagine how it must be to be a female police officer, working around all that testosterone every day? Having those construction workers for the few months they were really drove that point home. The entire atmosphere of our quiet little medical clinic changed.

      Ah, yes, my lovely, lovely cover…it is my career favorite!

  4. Oh, Lynne, I’ve found a new side to you and love it.
    I’d don’t remember someone that beautiful that had me beside myself but I can think of a few who would do it to me—Matthew Goode, Matt Boomer, Pierce Brosan just to name a few. Please tell more of you secrets!

    1. LOL Susan! I could never make it as a movie star, being around all of those gorgeous men. Though, I suppose that working with them would shed light on their true personalities, and in the end the personality is really the biggest draw. Isn’t it? Though – Pierce Brosnan – be still my pattering heart (he only gets better with age!)

  5. Oh, Lynne, you are so right about the dangers of falling headlong into the depths of a co-stars eyes when you’re both doing your level best to portray genuine, full-fledged emotions by baring a part of your soul for all the world to see. If those sparks can tingle audience senses, just think how powerful they can be for the participants. We should all be so lucky to have someone gaze at us with pure love in their eyes — sadly, most of us are far too uncomfortable with offering ourselves up with such vulnerability. You can imagine, then, my thrill (and absolute terror!) the time I walked into an acting class only to realize the instructor was none other than my favorite heartthrob! “Pick me, pick me,” my foolish heart cried out when it came time to do a scene; then, “Oh, God! I couldn’t! Please, not me!” my mind shot back. Let’s just say, “Thank God for unanswered prayers.”

    1. Dear Anonymous – this is a great story. I absolutely wouldn’t know how to handle that kind of situation. Unfortunately, strong reactions like that can also be humiliating! Trust me, I knew, when I had those clumsy and awkward moments on the job! LOL

  6. Oh, Lynne, you are so right about the dangers of falling headlong into the depths of a co-stars eyes when you’re both doing your level best to portray genuine, full-fledged emotions by baring a part of your soul for all the world to see. If those sparks can tingle audience senses, just think how powerful they can be for the participants. We should all be so lucky to have someone gaze at us with pure love in their eyes — sadly, most of us are far too uncomfortable with offering ourselves up with such vulnerability. You can imagine, then, my thrill (and absolute terror!) the time I walked into an acting class only to realize the instructor was none other than my favorite heartthrob! “Pick me, pick me,” my foolish heart cried out when it came time to do a scene; then, “Oh, God! I couldn’t! Please, not me!” my mind shot back. Let’s just say, “Thank God for unanswered prayers.”

  7. When I started reading this post it brought to mind this school psychologist that came by to observe a few 4-yr-olds in our class. We have school personnel dropping by the classrooms every spring so that they can see how the children function in the classroom. (I work in a special ed/integrated preschool.) This particular psychologist was some serious eye-candy stepping into a building that had no adult males. We were all bad! Interestingly he didn’t do it for me. But I have a childhood friend with the best pair of eyes and eyelashes going and I still feel that tummy tingle when I see a picture of him on facebook.

    1. Hi Nan!
      There’s just something about the eyes, right? I can imagine how hard it must be for a good looking guy to work with an overabundance of women! Such a curse, right? LOL He probably got more homebacked goods than anyone on the planet.

      Thank you for working in the special education preschool. I’m sure the blessings flow both ways.

  8. Oh, Lynne, I had a good chuckle at your blog… and remembered with some embarrassment an absolutely divine doctor at one of the hospitals I worked at. I used to go down to the theatre to do urgent frozen sections. In those days, I used to blush terribly and, whenever he was the surgeon requesting the section, I was very glad of the paper mask to hide behind!

    Your cover is smashing!

    1. Sharon – loved your story. Job crushes are tough ones to work through, but when we’re young, it seems like a necessity. Plus it keeps things a big more interesting, doesn’t it? Shaky hands and all. 🙂

  9. Hi Lynne- great blog! There is only one actor I have a crush on right now and it’s Jake Gyllenhal – man, those eyes are to die for. I get all silly when I look at his pictures! Even at my age! Sadly I haven’t had the opportunity to work with him- yet! I live in hope.

    Gorgeous cover!

    1. LOL Louisa! I hope you get to work with Jake soon, and please come back and tell us all about it here at Love is the Best Medicine. I have a friend who worked with George Clooney in his early years. To this day she is stil gaga about him. 🙂

Leave a Reply

