Harlequin Mills & Boon Medical Romance Novels

My Reading Pile

My Reading Pile

First of all, I’d like to wish everyone all the very best for 2013. May it bring health, happiness and success!
I have been ill over the holiday season- nothing serious- just a virus that laid me low for a few days. My eldest daughter had gone back to uni, my husband and my younger daughter had gone skiing so that left me plenty of time to write and catch up on my reading.
I love reading and my friends and family know that so I received loads of books for Christmas plus some vouchers to buy more to read on my ipad. (I still prefer to read a ‘real’ book but I also like to have a selection on my ipad for when I travel)

As you can see I Have been reading some books about Afghanistan- that was a few months ago when I was writing my medical romance set in Afghanistan- but I thought a would include a couple I read in case anyone is interested. And while I was on holiday, just before Christmas, I read Sister Pact (not included in the pic as it’s on my ipad ) by our very own Amy Andrews (writing as Ali Ahearn with her sister Ros Baxter) and I thoroughly enjoyed it. For those of you who haven’t read it yet, you’re in for a treat. It’s funny and sad … and just a great read.

Right now, and also not in the pic, I’m reading Gone Girl by Gillian Flynn. If you like a thriller with a difference- try this. I can’t put it down. When that’s finished, I’m going to have to chose between The Woman who went to Bed for a Year – such a great title and Sue Townsend is so funny- and The Painter of Silence by Georgina Harding. I love historical novels but it will depend what kind of mood I’m in when I finish Gone Girl.

I read all sorts of stuff. Romance of course, historical fiction (I love Philippa Gregory and Katharine McMahon amongst others)- as well as crime ( I have the new Peter May whose crime novels are set in Lewis which is an island off the west coast of Scotland close to the one where my parents were raised) as well as thrillers- hence the inclusion of Simon Kernick. I don’t always read genre fiction- hence the inclusion of Salmon Fishing in the Yemen which I read while laid low and can also thoroughly recommend.

So what are you reading at the moment? I’ll take for granted that some where in your reading pile is a book by your favourite Harlequin author or from your favourite series- but what else are you reading? Have you read something recently and you wish you hadn’t bothered? I’m almost scared to ask in case my tbr pile gets any bigger!

Anne Fraser x

22 thoughts on “My Reading Pile”

  1. hey Anne – I think you have most excellent reading taste 🙂 Am thrilled that you mentioned Sister Pact!
    I’ve read about a dozen books over the holidays which has been bliss and the stand out for me was The Help – loved it. And pretty soon the RITA package will arrive with more books for me to read!
    Sigh….I miss reading so much! I really need to make more time to do it.
    Thanks for a great post 🙂

  2. I’ve read stacks of books over the Xmas break but all category and a handful of novellas and shorts on ebook. Almost all of my TBR are category as well. Do have some single title and historicals on the piles. They tend to linger longer because I hate to put a book down when I start to read and it’s easier for me to find a 2 hour read slot than a 4 hour slot.

    1. Hi Amy

      I read The Help some time ago and also loved it. So many books and so little time,which is why, these days if I’m not enjoying a book by the time I’m a quarter way through it I give up! It’s also why I tend not to re-read books although I made an exception for Wuthering Heights when I visited Yorkshire last year. So glad I did. It was completely different to how I remembered it.
      ps RITA package?

    2. Hi Princess Fi

      I know what you mean about hating to put a book down. When I’m loving a book I tell myself, just one more chapter before I make dinner/ go to sleep/ go do chores and before I know it…Category romances are great for shorter, more intense reads. I tend to read a mix of genres depending on my mood.

  3. Hi Anne – I have to admit I have somany e-pubbed friends, that most of this year I have been reading debut romance author books. I do like to read nonfiction with political slant – I won’t go into it here at politics are always a hot topic, but have read some really good ones lately. When I read out of romance genre, I tend to read Thrillers for some reason. I like intrigue, but couldn’t write it if my life depended on it.
    I also read Sister Pact and adored it. 🙂
    I am awating my Romance Writers of America books (could be anywhere from 5-8) which I will need to read and judge in a very short period of time. This is how I often discover new authors and when I read out of my ususal genre of choice. Always fun.
    Next time I blog for LIBM, stop by and chat!
    Sorry to hear you were sick during the holidays.

  4. Hi Lynne

    Lovely to ‘see’ you here. You guys are lucky to get to read so many debut authors- it’s such a thrill when you find a new author that you know you’re going to love for years to come, isn’t it. And I meant to say, I loved One for the Road. I didn’t include it in my list cos I read it ages ago. I hear you are writing or have written a follow up- also with an older heroine? I don’t now why there aren’t more books with older heroines. Actually I recently read The Best Exotic Marigold Hotel and I don’t think any of the characters were under sixty and it’s also a great read which goes to show…
    But I digress. I love historical non fiction too. I’m reading loads about the second world war at the moment, in between fiction, and some of it is truly harrowing. (But boy have a found a whole new set of female and male heros!)

    I’ll definitely come by and chat next time you’re blogging.

    Anne x

    1. So glad you enjoyed One for the Road. My current older heroine story is Too Close for Comfort (which happens to be on sale right now in e-book. 🙂 Couldn’t resist) I adored the Best Exotic Marigold Hotel. As I always say – It’s never too late to fall in love. Fun blog.

  5. Annie,
    I’m currently reading a Presents by Lynne Raye Harris. It is a very good. I do read nonfiction mostly about heart issues and hot tea. Not exciting stuff but it’s what I’m interested in. I have a huge pile of romances to read beside my bed.

      1. I love afternoon tea. I’m always keeping up with stories about it and places to go to have tea. I’ve recently bought a couple of books about it and take a magazine called Tea Time.

  6. My TBR is truly scary but I’m a quick reader and tend to fly through them. I currently have Thr Nightingale Girls by Donna Douglas, The Hous on Tradd street by Karen White, The Legacy of Eden by Nelle Davy and Victoria Fox Temptation Island. Really enjoyed a whole host of YA books this year particularly the Gone series by Michael Grant and I have Sister Pact on my kindle to read!

  7. Hi Scarlet

    Would you particularly recommend any of those? I’m a fast reader too but I think I’m actually a little addicted to books- I can’t pass a bookstore or a library, or even shop in a supermarket without coming out a new book. Just as well that I’m a quick reader too. I have to admit I don’t read YA… at least not yet.

  8. Argh! Anne! The TBR pile! Teetering on my book shelf and e-teetering on my PC… don’t have an e-reader yet so I do it the hard way and read on the PC. Might have to do something about that!

    I’ve just finished reading C.S. Graham’s Where Shadows Dance and I can’t wait for her next book in the series! I see it’s out now in hardback… (gulp… the temptation is nearly overwhelming!) The Sebastian St Cyr mysteries are set in the Regency and they’re brilliant. Historical author, lovely Anna Campbell, introduced me to this series.

  9. Morning Sharon

    Couldn’t get to work this a.m. cos I had to finish Gone Girl. It kept me guessing right up to the end. I’m going to get Where the Shadows Dance- great title- as soon as I’ve made inroads into my current tbr pile. I don’t use my e reader that much- only when I’m travelling- but for that reason alone, I couldn’t do without it.
    I can imagine my life without lots of stuff- but without books? That would be my idea of hell.

    1. Hi Anne – I couldn’t agree more about books being a must-have! I can’t imagine not having at least one book on the go!

      Hey, if you’re serious about reading CS Graham books then it’s well worth starting from the beginning of the series.

  10. Hi Anne, great blog and lots of lovely book ideas! I love thrillers and mysteries (along with pretty much everything else) and I’m right in the middle of Heartstone by C.J. Sansom at the moment. It’s a mystery story set in Tudor England and I’ve been hooked by the descriptions of what places I know now, looked like then.

    1. Hi Annie

      I read something by CJ Sansom recently and I think I have Heartstone on my shelf somewhere. I’m going to go around the house later and search out all the books I haven’t read and put them in one place.(I’ve been known to buy duplicates before as I’ve forgotten I’d already bought the book!)

  11. Hi Anne! My tower of books is virtual (most are on Kindle), but your list is tempting me to add some more titles to my TBR pile.

    As for me, my daughter came home for Christmas, and I borrowed two of her books and read them while she was here. They were YA books by Meg Cabot (not a genre I normally read). I enjoyed them so much that I’m already planning on buying the third book in the series when it comes out this year! Every time I read something like that, I promise myself I’m going to expand my reading horizons even more. This time, maybe that promise will stick.

    Great post!

    1. Hi Tina

      My daughters are also a good source of new authors. My eldest loves Joanne Harris while the younger one is more of a fan fic and podcast (always non- fiction) sort of girl. In fact while she’s been at home she’s managed to load up tons of podcasts onto my computer. It’s a brilliant way actually for searching out lesser known nuggets of history.

Leave a Reply

