Harlequin Mills & Boon Medical Romance Novels

Sydney Harbour Hospital – Finn, the King of Alpha’s meets his match! by Amy Andrews

SHHSo, in 10 days the UK release of the long-awaited finale (I know that cos it says it on the cover 🙂 ) to the Sydney Harbour Hospital series – Evie’s Bombshell – will be upon us. Eight Down Under authors toiled away at the series last year and we’re thrilled that it’s been so well received by readers.  Below is the full continuity booklist –

SHH #1 Lilly’s Scandal – Marion Lennox

SHH #2 Zoe’s Baby – Alison Roberts

SHH #3 Luca’s Bad Girl – Amy Andrews

SHH #4 Tom’s Redemption – Fiona Lowe

SHH #5 Lexi’s Secret – Melanie Milburne

SHH #6 Bella’s Wishlist – Emily Forbes

SHH #7 Marco’s temptation – Fiona Mc Arthur

SHH #8 Ava’s Re-awakening – Carol Marinelli

And here are some links if you want to check out/buy any of the ones you’ve missed before you get to #9 in case you’re like me and have to read a series chronologically or the world explodes!

http://www.millsandboon.com.au/products/search/Sydney+Harbour+Hospital

http://www.millsandboon.co.uk/pages/searchres.htm

I know many of you have been hanging out for Finn and Evie’s (the two continuity characters) story and I was stoked to be asked to write it because, even when I was writing Mia and Luca’s book (#3), my emotional investment in Finn and Evie was far greater (but shh, you didn’t hear that from me!)

And I have to say, I think a lot of that had to do with Finn. Honestly, I have never ever written such an awful, rude, callous, bloody-minded, exasperating man in all my writing years – I just had to give the stubborn man a HEA!! The authors who worked on the continuity were given Dr Greg House as an example of Finn’s persona and I think without that, I would have been lost because I just don’t write men like that. So, every time I had to write a Finn-being-a-bastard-again scene I would think – how/what would House say?

There are some great examples of Finn’s razor tongue in this fabulous review. Yes! Evie’s Bombshell already has a 5 star review!   🙂

http://harlequinjunkie.com/review-sydney-harbor-hospital-evies-bombshell/

If you’re interested, pretty soon Harlequin UK should be posting a short scene I wrote last year which is the “prequel” to Finn and Evie. It’s a snapshot of their first meeting and I had a lot of fun with that scene 🙂

Oh and if you love continuities as much as I do there’s a fab new one out this year from our US authors centred around a NYC children’s hospital nicknamed Angels . It also has an Aussie spinoff of 4 books (set at the Gold Coast) of which I’m writing the last. The first Angels book (there are 8)  is out in March and maybe one of our US authors will come and tell us all a bit more about that if we ask real nice and promise them chocolate 🙂

But, in the meantime, tell me about you. Did you read/like the SHH books? Got a favourite (and no, it doesn’t have to be mine – my ego can stand it, trust me). Do you like your Alpha’s alpha like Finn or Alpha with a nice big slice of beta to keep him tamed?

 

 

20 thoughts on “Sydney Harbour Hospital – Finn, the King of Alpha’s meets his match! by Amy Andrews”

  1. Chocolate?…There’s not much I wouldn’t do for chocolate!

    First off, congratulations on Sydney Harbour Hospital beging such a fantastic continuity and on The Long Awaited Finale’s long awaited release!!!

    The upcoming medical romance continuity, set at the fictional Angel Mendez Children’s Hospital in New York City, is named NYC Angels. There are eight books releasing two per month starting in March 2013.

    Here’s the lineup:

    Book #1: Carol Marinelli
    Book #2: Janice Lynn
    Book #3: Laura Iding
    Book #4: Susan Carlisle
    Book #5: Tina Beckett
    Book #6: Wendy S. Marcus
    Book #7: Lynne Marshall
    Book #8: Alison Roberts

    Check out the AMAZING UK book cover template for the series: http://www.amazon.co.uk/NYC-Angels-Redeeming-Playboy-Heiresss/dp/0263898814/ref=sr_1_16?s=books&ie=UTF8&qid=1358778274&sr=1-16

    And thanks for the mention Alison!

    1. Ah, see, I knew I’d catch one of you with chocolate 🙂 Thanks Wendy for the info and I love that cover! Looks like there’s a couple of downunderers in the NYCAngels line up too! Can’t wait to get stuck into that!

  2. I read the full series from SHH! And I agree Finn is the most awful, rude, callous, bloody-minded, exasperating man I’ve ever met. As I’m still on Chapter 3 of Finn and Evie’s story!

    Congratulations Amy! I just can’t believe however Finn can get his HEA at this time!

    And so looking forward to the next continuity NYC Angels! Congratulations Wendy and all the hard working authors bringing us so awesome stories we enjoy!

  3. I loved the first eight books of SHH and I’ll be ordering Evie’s Bombshell on March 1st. I cannot pick a favorite ~ I enjoyed all the stories. Always felt a bit cheated because Finn and Evie did not get a clearly defined HEA.

    I love the fact that NYC Angels is coming out two books a month as I usually wait until I have all the books in a series to read it. When are the four related Australian ones coming out?

    1. Well hopefully you’ll feel less cheated now, Kaelee 🙂
      I’m actually not sure when the spin off is slated. I think maybe towards the end of the year (haven’t written mine yet!) but maybe Fiona Lowe might know if she pops in.

  4. Hi Amy – I can’t wait to see what you’ve done with Finn and Evie! And thanks to Wendy, too, for giving us the lowdown on NYC Angels, those covers are spectacular.

    Congratulations on that awesome review, and I’ll be looking out for your ‘prequel’ as well, because I’m a big fan of the before and after!

    1. Hi Annie. I loved being able to do that little scene of the “before”. Cant remember for the life of me now how that even came about…..
      Just call me seive-brain!

  5. I have to admit that too much alpha, after a while, gives me indigestion. The tricky part about writing a continuity character, as you said, is you don’t actually create the h/h. I must read this book to see how beautifully you tame him. I do prefer a dollop of beta with my alphas. 🙂
    Great book cover.
    P.S. – sorry I’m late!

    1. No need to apologise Lynne – I’m always late to these things. But I do try, really. See the above sieve-brain comment!
      I like my Alpha’s with a dollop too! And now doesn’t that evoke some lovely images 🙂

  6. Amy,
    I love it when the big, bad alpha comes up against that woman that humbles him. Can’t wait to see it happen in your book. I do love a good series and am looking forward to the Angels coming out.

    1. Hey Susan – you’re book 4 in the Angle’s continuity so we dont have to wait too long for it 🙂
      It’s interesting I think about what tames Finn. I dont know if he’d have ever capitulated if it has just been Evie belting her head agasint the brick wall around his heart. It took something extra-special for that 🙂
      But no spoilers 🙂

  7. I have really enjoyed the SHH series and sad to see it wrap up….I’m soo going to miss that obnoxious man Finn.
    I can’t wait to get into the NYC Angels series….as you might or might not know I am a sucker for Medicals Romances and Amy will attest to the fact that I read 4 books of SHH over a period of 24 hrs last weekend 😉

  8. The SHH books have a permanent place on my Kindle, next to the NY Angels and Gold Coast books! I still enjoy rereading them!

Leave a Reply

