Harlequin Mills & Boon Medical Romance Novels

True Heroes – Boston-style by Amy Andrews

Image

So yeh, I’m late with this blog. I was going to do it on some funky earrings I recently posted on my FB page but this morning I woke to the news coming out of Boston and trivial just doesn’t seem right today.

Today I want to say my thoughts are with you Boston.

And my thoughts are with the “heroes” of Boston. The bystanders who rushed to help, the marathon competitors who ran straight to the hospital to give blood, and the paramedics, police and fire services personnel at the coal face.

My thoughts also go to the doctors and the nurses who are still dealing with mass trauma casualties as I write this.

You people are my heroes.

And while we have people like you in our world – people with bombs will never win.

image courtesy of  – <a href=”http://www.publicdomainpictures.net/view-image.php?image=10112&picture=paramedic-uniform”>Paramedic Uniform</a> by Kim Newberg

16 thoughts on “True Heroes – Boston-style by Amy Andrews”

  1. I totally agree. Apparently as well as the official first responders people in the crowd rushed to help without thought for their safety and I think that’s what 99.9999% of human beings do automatically. We want to help. It’s just that crazy tiny weenie percentage that cause the problems….

    1. I know, Fiona, reports of bystanders tearing down barricades to get to the injured is always goose-bump stuff isn’t it?

  2. I don’t have anything to add to the conversation, aside from appreciating those who rush in to help.

    These things always take a while for me to process. There is no understanding it. Used to wonder what would make someone do these things, like that would make it better…

  3. Absolutely, Amy. First responders are the truest heroes of our times. I loved the quick shot I saw of a female running toward the action with a sash across her chest saying – Police Doctor. I can only imagine the chaos at the local hospitals tonight – probably the very hospital my SIL trained in – Boston University hospital, and where my daughter went through her Nurse Practitioner training – Boston Memorial hospital. Must be way way crazy there tonight.

    1. Yes, Lynne – that’s whats been gong through my mind today. Choas in the hospitals, calling in extra staff etc. A lot of overtime being done in Boston hospitals today/tonight I think.

  4. I don’t know what to say- it’s a senseless act of violence that defies any kind of belief.

    Thank goodness for those people who put their own lives on the line to help save lives of others. My heart is with the people of Boston.

    1. Words are so trite really at times like this, aren’t they, Louisa?
      I think this is the briefest I’ve ever been in a blog :-/

  5. Just heard that one of the victims was an eight year old boy. Since I have an eight year old myself I’m feeling pretty numb and shedding a tear. Why oh why?

  6. Well said, Amy! It’s horrifying to see the amount of damage that can be done by a tiny minority, but they will never win while everyday heroes show that saving a life speaks so much louder than taking one. My heart goes out to the people of Boston and everyone who has been so cruelly affected by this senseless violence.

Leave a Reply

