Quirky Stories

Bang! Crash! Renovating is not my Joy

As I type this, the noise of a jack hammer is floating up to the office as Jamie, the tiler is removing my kitchen floor.

Twelve years ago, when we moved into our house, it was newly renovated. Everything was sparkly and new inside the frame of a lovely old house. Then one day, you look around at your sparkly new house and realize years have passed and it’s not so sparkly any more! The grout in the kitchen floor has been coming away for a while now , cracks have developed and now the chips in the ceramic tiles can no longer be ignored. However, the rest of the kitchen is doing pretty well so we decided to do a kitchen make-over by getting a new floor, getting the chips on the cupboards repaired and replacing the door handles. The new door handles turned out to be the easiest part and I’ve had the 40 handles for about two months now waiting to be installed.

The tiles however were not an easy fix. They involved numerous Saturday mornings visiting tile stores and finding out our selection was limited due to the fact we were not changing the color scheme of the kitchen. Of course, this meant we had to get some of the most expensive tiles they had!

My kitchen is the heartbeat of the house. It has four doors leading out of it and I’m not able to use it for  a week. Yesterday, we had to move out the fridge and freezer, the table and chairs, empty the island counter and set up a very limited and temporary kitchen in my tiny laundry. Fortunately, it is just me at home this week and I have sent the cat to the cattery. Poor Pekoe wouldn’t have coped with the jack hammer and the tradesmen coming in and out. Fortunately, The Lad is back at university this week and Boy Wonder isn’t home for holidays/ vacation for two more weeks.Their bedrooms are now filled with the contents of the island counter/bench.

I will be getting a lot of exercise because to access the front of the house I have to walk outside and to get to the office I have to walk up the scary external stair case I never use. I’m not fond of heights!

It’s been a long time since I’ve done much more than painting in regards to house renovations because I am still recovering from the great bathroom renovation of 1995. Cue palpitations and counselling appointments!  I am hoping that this is going to be straightforward but who am I kidding? It is renovating (sort of) and already the plumber has stressed me but crisis averted due to some thinking outside the square on my behalf and an obliging tiler.

Not sure how much work I am going to get done on my current project but I am literally locked into my office…all doors to the kitchen are taped so I guess I put in my ear plugs and tackle chapter four!

So, hit me with your renovation stories! I want to hear the good, the bad and the ugly!

Meanwhile, for those of your with renovating stress in your life or any stress at all, or none, you might enjoy my Wedding Fever Trilogy. Saved By The Bride and Picture Perfect Wedding, both 100,000 word novels are a steal at Amazon for $2.51 and $1.99 respectively.  The Library Journal said, “Lowe writes a thoughtful romance that holds your attention to the end.” To read all about the novels and and to check out my back list books…loads of sexy doctors there working in outback Australia… head to my website.

 

Fiona Lowe is a RITA® and R*BY award-winning, multi-published author with Harlequin and Carina Press. Whether her books are set in outback Australia or in the mid-west of the USA, they feature small towns with big hearts, and warm, likeable characters that make you fall in love. When she’s not writing stories, she’s a weekend wife, mother of two ‘ginger’ teenage boys, guardian of 80 rose bushes and often found collapsed on the couch with wine. You can find her at her websitefacebookTwitter and Goodreads

.

14 thoughts on “Bang! Crash! Renovating is not my Joy”

  1. Fiona,
    I feel your pain. My house is falling down around us because I’ve been writing and traveling instead of repairing. My husband and I have agreed to stay put until we get some repairs done. I’m currently painting and fixing what I can but it is about time to dig into the pockets for new flooring, countertop in the kitchen, and tile in the bath. I guess after 24 years everything needs a makeover. It may be me next. Worse re-dos: painting ceilings on the entire middle floor the
    house.

  2. And Susan what I am finding is they no longer make things so replacing the bathroom taps has become a nightmare as I just can’t go buy new external bits of the taps which are peeling. We are only 12 years post reno and we don’t need the entire new plumbing but we’re being forced there. I feel your pain!

  3. Having just gone through kitchen renovations that in turn led to a new carpet/blinds and painting in the lounge- I feel your pain. Absolutely.

    It is worth it in the end…it is worth it in the end….believe me. And you will be able to work through it, just maybe not as much as you want!!!!!

    Hugs – and do post pictures when finished.

    1. Well, end of day one and the tiles are all up and the plaster board is down. Tomorrow the nailing and hopefully some tiles go down!
      Yes, Louisa, I know about the pebble in the pond. 4 years ago we bought a new TV which resulted in the furniture in four rooms being moved, two new light fittings and three rooms painted!!!!

  4. I went through a renovation a few years ago and am still recovering! Mind you I lost weight because I couldn’t get into the kitchen without having to make a supreme effort. As they say- ‘Every cloud….’
    But I do have to get the painters in soon- if I can find one. In the meantime I’m trying to de-clutter and that’s not going to plan either. Perhaps when i finish this ms and the next I’ll take a couple of months off and get it all sorted. Good luck, Fiona. Let us know when it’s all done.

    Anne x

  5. Good luck with the rennovations. We are creatures of habit and like you said, the kitcehn is the true center of any home, so we really feel displaced when it gets torn up. Have a friend going through it now, and haven’t heard a peep from her in a month!

    We redid our kitchen probably fifteen years ago, but more recently we knocked down the wall between the kitchen and dining room to get a more open feeling. The men had to reinforce things as it was a weight bearing wall. They gave my kitchen a facelift at that time, too with new paint and popping backsplash along the ounters. Looked great, but now we realize our light wood cupboards looks very out of date. LOL.

    Two years ago we put in wood floors in kitchen, living room, family room and hallway (leaving bedrooms with carpet, and that was a mistake, should have done the whole bloody house at the same time) and we had to camp out in our back bedroom. It just isn’t right to wake up and not be able to make coffee in the kitchen. Felt like we were living in a hotel. The up side was we got lovely new wood floors and I didn’t have to cook for three days. Lots of eating out.

    Good luck and hugs. I know it will be worth it and look forward to your update photos.

  6. Our house is 12 years old now and it definitely needs an internal paint at the bare minimum…. but having done other renos before in the previous house, am not keen to do anything more. We put on a pool and deck two years ago but we really need to do something about our driveway….
    If only money grew on trees!
    Good luck with yours, Fiona and yes please – we need before/after pics when you next blog.

  7. Oh, Fiona, I definitely feel your pain! We bought a 100 year old house 9 years ago and stripped layers and layers of old faded wallpaper, ripped up all the carpets (having lived in countries where carpets were not the norm, I’ve grown to prefer living without them). The coolest thing we found, though, was when we got down to the last layer of wallpaper in our living room. The paper hanger had signed the plaster wall beneath the paper with his name and date (1914). In retrospect, we should have tried to preserve that signature, but I was just sick of it all and we painted right over over it.

    There’s always something new to work on, it seems. But just think how wonderful, clean and new everything will feel when it’s all over. May your renovations continue without any more hitches and may you get exactly what you were hoping for! 😉

  8. I’m at around the 12 year stage too, Fiona. I started to make a list of ‘little jobs’ that needed to be done a while ago and then the pebble hit the pond with the most almighty splash and I ended up with a spreadsheet! So I think I’ll be busy for a little while now.

    Good luck with your renovations. It sounds as if it’ll be great when they’re all done 🙂

  9. Fiona, I’m having sympathy pains with you! Especially that bathroom renovation pain – I think I might be going to have similar Great Bathroom Memories except mine will be 2013 ones! We’re still renovating our bathroom!

    Good luck with your kitchen! Stay sane!
    hugs!

    Hey, I can’t wait to hear what Pekoe thinks of the new floor! And you guys too of course! but Pekoe’s view will be so “up close and personal”! 😉

Leave a Reply

