Harlequin Mills & Boon Medical Romance Novels

Not To Be Out Done

By Susan Carlisle

If you’re a regular follower of our blog you’ll know that a number of us have written about changes and updates we’ve made to our homes. I have to admit there has been a touch of jealousy on my part when I’ve read these especially since my house was in desperate need of repairs.

house2I have good excuses for this. I had three out of four children in college at the same time, a daughter got married (think royal wedding cost with less TV), I’ve been writing books at a mad pace and last but not least and probably the biggest reason the work didn’t happen sooner was that I like to travel more than I like to fix up my house. The money was spent on having fun.

That being said, things around my house had gotten so bad I wouldn’t even have company over. The carpet needed to be replaced, the outside need boards removed and replaced, and a good old fashion coat of paint was need in many places.

house1So when others on the blog started talking about updates I decided it was time. I now have a beautiful new living room floor that I could kick myself for not getting sooner. The outside in front and all the back of the house has been replaced including new gutters including a drain chain. We still need to paint but it is sound for the winter now. Instead of paying to have the stairs to my office finished with wooden steps I took on the job myself.

house

There are still have projects on the list but if someone says they’re planning to take a cruise around the world I’ll do that instead!

I also have one more thing new. Snowbound with Dr. Delectable my Christmas book is out this month. I’m as proud of it as I am my house.

snowbound with Dr. Delectable

Magic in Snow Mountain Resort

Dr. Baylie Walker loves her job.. As an emergency medical technician she gets to spend her days skiing thought the mountains and saving live. A secluded and quiet life is just what she needs… 

Until delectable Kyle Campbell makes a dramatic entrance! He may be gorgeous, with a tortured edge, but he’s exactly the kind of distraction she hopped to avoid this Christmas! Sparks fly when they are forced to work together. And as the first snow of the season begins to fall, they have no where to run… 

15 thoughts on “Not To Be Out Done”

  1. Beautiful wood floor! I know exactly what you mean about finally getting around to a remodeling project, then wishing you hadn’t waited so long. Enjoy it! And I’m looking forward to enjoying Snowbound With Dr. Delectable!

  2. Susan, your house looks lovely. I love the treads on those stairs too. Well done for tackling the job yourself.
    Jennifer

  3. Tina,
    I have one more coat of paint to put on the stairs then everything will be put away. I may sit and admire for a day or two. I look forward to walking up and down them like a normal person. The treads have been too narrow for 25 years.

  4. Susan it looks fantastic! I am like you! I spent the plenty of time in my twenties and thirties renovating and feel I’ve “Done” that and would rather go on vacation. BUT then you reach a point where the house is making you feel bad so you galvanize into action. You will so enjoy those floors. I love my non-cracked kitchen floor 🙂 Well done you.

  5. Fabulous job on the stairs, Susan! The finish on the wood just glows!
    Nice to get those renovations out of the way – they look great and now you’ll be able to concentrate on some travel plans without feeling like you should be thinking house repairs!

  6. I loved polished wood flooring and stairs and yours looks stupendous, Susan.
    Our house is in desperate need of an internal paint at the moment but yeh….it’ll probably be another five years until we get round to it :-/

  7. Fiona,
    You and your new tiled floor at part of the reason I got in gear. It looked so good in the pics I couldn’t stand not having mine done. I still have a few more big projects to go.

Leave a Reply

