Harlequin Mills & Boon Medical Romance Novels, Holiday Celebrations, Quirky Stories, The Writing Life

Books!

thCABIZWC7On vacation a few weeks ago, I heard someone saying that he hadn’t read a book in over twenty years. Not since he’d been forced to in high school. And, he sounded proud of it, like it was really something to brag about. The people with him laughed, started talking about the last time they’d read a book and I think collectively it was more than a hundred years. They excused it by saying they went to the movies instead.

OK, I like movies. My husband and I go to our fair share of them and as often as we go they’re still a treat. But I read. I never go anywhere without my Kindle of the off-chance I might find five or ten empty minutes. I always fill those minutes. And one of the things I most love doing is reading the book and seeing the movie. In prep for the movie I want to see at Christmas, I just went back and re-read Thurber’s short story The Secret Life of Walter Mitty, and was reminded just how much I enjoyed it the first time I read it maybe thirty years ago. So maybe the short story doesn’t count as a book, but the point is, I read it, unlike those people I overheard who haven’t cracked a spine since high school.

My question is, how do people not read? It’s a concept I really don’t get because there’s never been a time in my life that I haven’t read. My mother read to me when I was a baby. Then I started out reading those little Golden Books when I was four or five, and I’ve never stopped. Don’t want to. I’ll admit, I don’t have as much time to read now as I used to. It’s been a good long while since I’ve had time to sit down and read a whole book in a day. But my “to be read” pile amassed in my Kindle is long, and that’s not to mention all the books I have on my shelf, just waiting to be opened.

So why do I read? It’s simple. I love to escape into another world. Or be challenged. Or get involved in a situation outside my own. I read classics (still love Dickens) and I read modern novels. I read travel guides and dictionaries – I collect dictionaries. I’m fascinated by medical textbooks and lately, because my reading time is limited, I’ve been reading a lot of anthologies.

The guy who was bragging about not reading, though – I kind of feel sorry for him because he truly doesn’t know what he’d missing. And it’s not like he even has to pick up a book anymore. Audio books are great. Great Christmas gifts, actually. In fact, if I’d asked his name, I might have sent him an audio book just so he could see how wrong he is.

Tell me, how would your like be without book?  What does a good book mean to you?

Looking for a Christmas gift, by the way? My secretary wants a Kindle. I want a second Kindle so I can keep one in my house and have a spare in my car. And books…the best gift ever! So I’m wishing you a very Merry Christmas, a few new books for Christmas and a happy New Year with a year’s worth of new reading adventures.
By the way, check out my new website, and catch up with me on Facebook and Twitter. The links can be found at my new website at http://www.Dianne-Drake.com/

As always, wishing you health and happiness!

DD

7 thoughts on “Books!”

  1. How is everything in your life. I’m moving on but doing well.
    In the last four months I have read two by George Martin, and one by gary jennings (The Journeyer). My grandson, andrue has been reading a lot about world war II, and so I got him the rise and fall of the third reich for Christmas. Just some light reading for a 12 year old. Great article, thanks.

  2. Dianne, I couldn’t agree more about finding it hard to understand why people don’t read. I’ve always loved it and I count my blessing that my parents passed a love of reading on to me and my sister. Getting lost in a good book is a great way to spend time!

  3. I don’t find it as mystifying as I used to, Dianne. I married a man who didn’t read (something I DID NOT know before I married him!!). I told him there was NO WAY I was going to be married to a man who didn’t read so he’d better start. And he did 🙂 And now he reads voraciously!!

    But both my kids are non-readers and I read to them obsessively, every chance I got!!! My daughter *was* an avid reader until the iPod came along – big freaking mistake! And my son loved being read *to* but couldn’t be bothered when I tried to encourage him to start doing it for himself. Although saying that he does read non-fiction stuff so that’s probably being a bit unfair…

    Good point about audio books. I think they’re very Gen Y….might look into them for Xmas for the kids….

  4. Hi Dianne! I absolutely could not imagine life without books. I can still remember how I felt as a little girl the first time I read a book that was written for someone my age, that captivated me and made me want to read more and more. Just finished Gone Girl last night. What a whirlwind of a crazy story. The point is, fiction books open us up to things we could never, ever experience on our own. People we’d never know (thank God for that with Gone Girl!) and places we’d never see. Life without reading would be one gaping hole right smack in the middle of my brain.
    Merry Christmas to you! Glad you’re feeling better this month.

  5. I missed this post!

    I’ve been both a reader and a non-reader. My dyslexia made learning to read a real struggle, and for a long long time whenever I read anything, I got terrible headaches. So reading was like punishment for the first 12 years of my life.

    Once I got tricked into reading for pleasure(Yay Mom!), my tolerance level grew–like a marathon runner, I built reading endurance, lengthening the amount I can read before the headaches kick in. But I can still get utterly exhausted by reading. Even if I love to read, I have to take frequent breaks. And I’m so not a speed reader. Aaaaand if you make me read out loud, I will freak OUT(it’s painful for everyone to listen to me read too).

    But not being a reader was never something I’d *brag* about. That’s like saying you want to vote for the guy you’d drink beer with. I’d rather vote for the dude I know is smarter than me…

Leave a Reply

