Harlequin Mills & Boon Medical Romance Novels, Holiday Celebrations

Happy Christmas!

I pondered long and hard about what to say for this blog.  Perhaps I’d write about Christmas stories, about what Christmas means to all of us, or Christmas trivia….  there’s plenty of choice.  But somehow, on the day before Christmas Eve I have a feeling that it’s all already been said.

The shopping’s been done (um…most of it), the tree is up and decorated, the presents are wrapped. (Well, some of them.  A few tricky shapes to go here, still.)  Any cards that haven’t been posted yet aren’t going to get there in time, and if something’s been forgotten – well I guess I’ll have to manage without it. The pre-Christmas deadline has been met and what’s not written now is going to stay unwritten until after Boxing Day.  One of the nice things about this time of the year is that almost everyone else is taking time off as well – giving us all a chance to break our routine and think about the things which really matter to us.

fairySo what’s left to do?  The pre-Christmas parties have all been gone to and enjoyed, and the first of many mince pies are in the oven.  The leaning fairy – a bit of a tradition in our family – is regarding me from a jaunty angle from the top of the tree.  (The leaning fairy has been on the top of various family trees for years.  She has a new dress and new wings from when I remember her as a child, but in one respect she’s always been the same.  However firm and straight she’s fixed when the tree is decorated, she gently leans to one side over time.  And now she’s leaning, as if she’s just about to take off and fly around the ceiling, her china smile telling me that Christmas is almost here.)

And this is one of the times I love about Christmas.  There’s still lots to do, but it’s all planned out, I know exactly where I’m going to be, and what I’m going to be doing over the next few days.  Keeping the old traditions and making some new ones.  Some things will go marvellously, and there will be the disasters too, which over the course of next year will turn into something to laugh about next Christmas.  Long awaited, and much anticipated, Christmas is almost here now, and it’s time to let it all happen.

But there is one thing I haven’t done yet, and I’m going to rectify that omission right now.  As this year draws to a close, and the next one is yet to start, I wish you peace and joy, good health and prosperity.  And most of all…

Happy Christmas everyone!

Annie x

16 thoughts on “Happy Christmas!”

  1. Hi Annie

    Glad you are relaxing! I’m not quite there yet but almost. I’d like to join you in wishing everyone a lovely Christmas (or if not Christian a most enjoyable break) and a wonderful 2014.

    Now do I need to rush off to the shops for anything?

    Anne F xx

  2. Ann, I think I spoke too soon – I’m about to pop out for some things I’ve forgotten 🙂 Wishing you and yours a very happy Christmas, and I hope you get to sit down and relax very soon!

    Annie xx

  3. Annie, I feel exactly the same! What isn’t done isn’t going to get done and I am ready to enjoy myself. Have a wonderful Christmas and join that tree fairy in a celebratory glass of sherry (there has to be a reason why she keeps listing sideways :>)
    Happy Christmas everyone!
    love,
    Jennifer.

  4. Merry Christmas, Annie! Like you, I love how we do all the hard work in advance, then settle in last minute to let the true Christmas miracles being.
    May there be many for you and your family, and for all of our Love Is The Best Medicine blog readers!

  5. Hi Annie, this is a lovely pre-Christmas post and I’m sorry I didn’t get here to read it until after the day was over! Lovely to hear you had a wonderful time. So did we! And so many lovely leftovers! Roast chicken in my lunch box today! Yum!

  6. I love your leaning fairy! We had an entirely leaning tree this year, which isn’t nearly as charming 🙂 With a few tacky ties of string to the window crank, we managed to avert disaster, though. Glad you are managing some relaxing family time after all the work.

    1. Hugs on the leaning tree, Robin! I have a special place in my heart for leaning trees – my very first tree (bought when cash was pretty tight, and should have been spent on more practical household things) had a distinct lean, and had to be shored up in the corner of the room. I decorated it with every pretty thing I could find, most of them never designed to be hung on a Christmas tree, and it was pure magic!

      And speaking of magical firsts – congratulations on your first book! It’s on my reading list for the New Year.

      Annie xx

Leave a Reply

