Holiday Celebrations

New Year! It’s Nearly Here!

by Sharon Archer

Do you make New Year resolutions?  I confess that I haven’t for many years… but this year I’m making one.  Just one – and that is to walk everyday!  Even if it’s just a short walk…. just something to get the momentum going and keep it going!  And I’m not waiting until New year to do it – I’ve started… so I guess it was more of a Christmas Resolution!  So far, so good!

So do you make New year resolutions?  Or do you make a decision regardless of the time of year and get on with it from that date?  Tell me your secrets for keeping up your resolutions?

While you’re getting ready to share, I thought I’d share this fun, frivolous You-tube about resolutions with you….

Wishing you all the very best for a wonderful, happy and healthy 2014

XX

14 thoughts on “New Year! It’s Nearly Here!”

  1. Ah, Sharon, resolutions…I have four and I will post them on Thursday, plus a giveaway for our readers. Stay tuned!
    Thanks for the chuckle with the youtube video, and good for you for walking every day – sounds like a win-win resolution. Happy New Year, Sistah Medro authors.

  2. Sharon,
    I’m like Fiona, I don’t really do resoutions instead I have goals. Some get carried over from year to year, others are reached and new ones replace them. Happy New Year everyone!

  3. Hi Sharon, I like the idea of goals as well – and of being able to take time to review them every year and remind myself that I actually did manage to achieve some of them last year!

    I like the crazy resolutions as well – the ones that I make without any clear idea about how I’m going to keep, but just because it’s something I haven’t tried before and it rather catches my fancy. There’s a much lower success rate on these, and some of them fall into the category of being careful what I wish for, but it’s a fun way to start the year 🙂

    Happy New Year!

  4. The word ‘goals’ does have a more positive sound than ‘resolutions’ doesn’t it?

    I do like having a distinct time to make personal changes – the new year is the perfect time, but I also use other times to get my act together better, like when the kids go back to school. Summer is fun but chaotic and it’s easier to get my life in order and those goals accomplished when there’s a more normal schedule. A new year seems to give us permission to drop any guilt about things we wish we’d done differently in the prior year and start fresh. So here’s to 2014 and fresh starts!

    1. Oooo, and I like your philosophy about New Year, too, Robin! Good to be able to let go of the sense of guilt about the things we wished we’d done differently. Having a distinct date to mark the new beginning is helpful!

  5. Happy New Year. I wish all of you the best in 2014.

    I just got back from a walk in the park. It was packed with kids sledding down the hill so we didn’t walk to the top of the hill like we usually do. I must confess we go in fits and starts with the walking. If the weather is too cold we don’t go or we go to the mall. We started using something called TRAX so we can walk on ice without slipping. We can’t use the no traction excuse for not walking now.

    1. Kaelee, lovely to hear about your walk in the park and all the kids on sleds! Must be lots of snow! So very different from my walk at the moment where I need to go first thing in the morning or it’s too hot!

      Hey, those TRAX sound like a very good idea – slipping on ice can mean a very nasty fall!

Leave a Reply

