Harlequin Mills & Boon Medical Romance Novels

Looking back and forward…

FIRST OFF- HAPPY NEW YEAR to everyone! I hope 2014 brings you much love and happiness.

Apparently today is officially the most depressing day of the year as people return to work after a few weeks off. So, to counter this I wanted to look back and think about the BEST things that happened to us all in 2013… and the things we’re looking forward to in this fresh, shiny new start.

They say the best things in life aren’t things… and I have to agree, I may have enjoyed buying yet another black dress (what can I say? I’m a dress-aholic…) and I’ve had to have my new christmas kindle prised out of my sticky hands a couple of times, but all my favorite memories of last year are not shopping-based, but are the times I spent with my family and friends. Priceless. I haven’t many resolutions this year, but one of them is to connect with people more and spend good, fun times with them.

Highlights for last year include;

1. Spending four days away with my husband (the first time we’d been away on our own for longer than one night in 17 years!) and thankfully finding things we wanted to talk and laugh about

dirty walking2. Getting filthy dirty and laughing so hard at getting stuck in quicksand with friends!

3. Cheering my sons and husband over the line as they completed the Auckland half marathon

 

 

4. Dancing at a ceilidh with my husband’s work mates, tripping over our feet and stomping to great music

Susan Carlisle, ex Medical author Wendy S Marcus and me at the Harlequin party!
Susan Carlisle, ex Medical author Wendy S Marcus and me at the Harlequin party!

5. Catching up with writing friends and editors, and making new friends at conferences in Atlanta and Wellington

6. Spending this last Christmas with my sister, her husband and four year old son, which was absolute pure joy

Oh- and seeing in this new year at a hat party (if you’re ever thinking of a fun cheap fancy dress theme, this is a great one! I’m at the front in the witch’s hat!)

hat party

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

Things I have to look forward to: the rest of the school summer break with my kids (4 more weeks-a blessing and a curse!). A camping holiday with mates. Hopefully, a trip to England to see my Mum, my family and my UK-based writing pals! I can’t wait.

So tell me- what made you smile last year and what are you looking forward to most in the next 365 days?

 

 

14 thoughts on “Looking back and forward…”

  1. Love you blog. That’s a slam-dunk easy answer for me on both counts. 1. My daughter announced she was pregnat this year. I FINALLY get to be a grandma. and 2. She is due 2014 – Mid February. So much to look forward to.

    Happy New Year, Louisa!

  2. Love your post, Louisa! First, I must just say you look gorgeous in your black dresses! 🙂

    Thanks for the reminder that we need to step back and think about the many uplifting things we did in the past year, and how important it is to appreciate time spent with family and friends.
    I won’t go into all of 2013, because it was a big year for me! I sold to Harlequin Mills & Boon Medical line, which is beyond exciting! I got to travel an unusual amount because my college-senior daughter had an internship in New York City, and I went there three times – when she interviewed, when she moved there for the summer, and when I took my youngest son to visit. So fun! And my other son (who just graduated high school) decided to go to the University of Colorado Boulder, so I got to enjoy two trips to the mountains! So special to get to not only travel, but travel with my children, sometimes one-on-one, which has never happened before. Different than a lovely trip alone with your husband, but special none-the-less 🙂

    I look forward to getting more books written this year (as it’s now a real job!) and doing a bit more traveling. I also hope to look forward to actually accomplishing some of my New Year’s resolutions, which definitely need attention 😉

    Happy New Year to you, too, Louisa!

  3. Hi Lousia

    I like this time of year because it’s about looking forward. In the UK the days are getting longer, we have spring to look forward to and the New Year always seems full of possibilities. But I think it’s good to look back and remind ourselves of the positive, fun things that happened in the last year.
    It was a great year for me. I had my first single title historical published and my agent sold it to a French publisher who is very excited about it! So that was really good.
    I’ve spent some lovely time with my daughters- the eldest passed her finals and her driving test last year- the youngest is in her final year of uni too. I’ve been to Poland, Italy, England as well as having mini breaks in Scotland.
    But perhaps best of all, everyone in my close family has been in good health- no ‘alarms and excursions’ as I think Dickens said in Great Expectations? Or was it one of his others- if anyone knows please share- and to me that is the best thing about 2013. Loved ones safe, well and happy- I ask for little more.

    Hope 2014 brings more of the same for us all
    Anne Fraser xx

    1. Hi Anne! You are so right- just wishing everyone a healthy new year is enough really! So glad your family are well and achieving so much- it’s a very exciting time for you all (and I’m so jealous of your traveling). Fab news, too on your historical et vive la francais (or something! Pardon my terrible french!).
      Wishing you and yours a very healthy and happy new year! xx

  4. I’m smiling at your excellent list and the photos you’ve put with the post, Louisa!

    I think I’d classify our 2014 as The Year of Getting Organised! And we’ve started, which is pretty huge! We have a large sprawling house, a bungalow, six stables and a machinery shed on our 5 acres and somehow we’ve managed to accumulate “stuff” over the years we’ve been there. It’s not all ours – I’ve discovered that when you have extra room like this, friends and family tend to want to help you fill it up, too!

  5. Hi Louisa! Loved those pictures of you smiling–they made me smile as well.

    One big thing that made me smile this year was celebrating Thanksgiving and Christmas with all my children for the first time in four years! We were all in the United States at the same place at the same time. It was special beyond belief! 😀

  6. Louisa,
    Watching my grandkids grow was at the top of the list. I forgot how fun babies are. Seeing you, the other med writers and my authors in Atlanta, taking a trip to Iwo Jima with my husband, It is nice to know we still enjoy each other’s company. Being in good health. We had a couple of rocky times this past year.
    The hat party idea sounds like great fun.

Leave a Reply

