Harlequin Mills & Boon Medical Romance Novels

Crafty Crafts

tatted pendant

I have a few obsessions–reading, The Vampire Diaries, makin-stuff-with-my-hands…. But since I talk about TVD(and anything Joss Whedon) all the time, and the book I’m currently reading is from my RITA judging packet(So no matter how freaking much I WANT to talk about it–but dude, it’s good), that leaves Crafts!

Specifically: Needle Tatting

Most people are unfamiliar with tatting in any form, which is really not surprising since it kind of went out of fashion in the Victorian era, but there are a few wily weirdos still trying to keep the antiquated art alive. Many through modernization.

I’m utterly obsessed with needle tatting. And I don’t make doilies. I don’t often make trim for anything(I did t gthis Christmas for my mom’s scrubs–which are the standard ceil blue and dulldulldull), but I looooove to make tatted jewelry.Uncovering Her Secrets UK 2n1 Cover

So, in preparation for my March release(book2 YAY), Uncovering Her Secrets, which has nary a mention of tatting or any other handicrafts… I thought I’d have a little tatted jewelry giveaway! If you link two utterly unrelated things, then they have their unrelatedness in common. LINKED! OH, and March’s Medical has awesome jewelry on the cover(not tatted though). But that’s totally linked 🙂

Do you have any crafts, or–you know–obsessions? Leave comment, and I’ll pick at random Monday to send someone the pendant. No entry constraints (I do not discriminate based on anything, you know like vocation, favorite color…even if it is orange, or geographic location! AKA International shipping OK!)

(Also, the link above takes you to the US Amazon where you can see the same picture… but different. I think I like it with the warmer red and the model with the darker hair. Interesting that they are different.)

16 thoughts on “Crafty Crafts”

  1. I’m about as craft as a lump of wood, Amalie but I had heard to tatting because we’d visited Venice many years ago and one of the islands there is famous for its tatted lace so I even saw it being done. Man those old Italian women were speedy with a needle! 🙂
    And, oh my, Ive just read a RITA book that I simply ADORED too – I want to shout it from the rooftops!
    Love the necklace in the pic – you are clever!

    1. I really have to stop assuming everyone likes to make stuff! But wow I would love to have gone and see the little old ladies in Venice! I am the only person I know in the flesh who tats. My grandma’s mother did shuttle tatting–which is pretty much the way it was done for EONS(or decades), but needle tatting is so much easier. I’ve tried it with a shuttle, it’s hard. VERY HARD. Especially if you have tiny hobbit hands like I do. Those shuttles are big(for me).

      Have one more in the packet-o-books to finish, and I really have no idea how this usually goes, but the tally is 3 books I love, 3 books I want to shake someone. Two self-pubs that were… not ready for publication. Really not ready. 😮

  2. Amalie, your work is beautiful! You inspired me to have a go with tatting a few months ago, and I’m still at the uneven knots stage. But I’m persevering 🙂

    Love your cover – and who knows, if you write a tatting heroine in the future, perhaps the cover fairies will work a little magic…

  3. Thank you, Annie! If I can help with the tatting, any questions, my email is always open. 🙂

    I actually do have a tatting heroine in one of my unfinished books(a non-medical contemporary that I firmly put aside for 1st book revisions when they came), and I do plan on finishing her…

  4. Hey Amalie. I love your jewerly. I have tatted. I’m not very good at it but I have tried. My Mother tatted a piece to go behind my bridal bouquet 32 years ago. I still have it. It is frame and was taken out to use in my daugther bouquet. I hope my new daughter in lawto be will use it too.
    I love to cross-stitch and am currently smocking outfits for my grandchildren. I am very crafty and almost always have a project in progess. I even quilt. I have one waiting on me now.

    1. Thank you, Susan! I would love to see your heritage tatted lace! The only things I have are pillow cases that my great grandmother would remove the end and then put in an inset like… ribbon of tatted lace, and reattach the doubled-ends of pillow cases. She did that a lot, it was her go to thing: dress up linens. But it’s lovely to have these little reminders. She passed around… 1990? So she was in her 80s, and none of her 7 daughters learned the skill from her!

  5. what a talented author you are. I have zero craftiness, so I am in awe. I’ going to spread the word about your giveaway on FB.
    Oh, and hey, I agree about the warmer red and brown haired book cover. Very nice

    1. Thank you, Lynne. I did wonder why they ended up changing the hues, but I am now wondering if it’s something to do with the colors of the standard elements? I really don’t know… but the warmer one is surprisingly more appealing to me(I usually prefer blue-tinted reds)

  6. Amalie, I keep saying I’m going to try tatting, but I haven’t yet. It’s really beautiful! I love crafts, although I haven’t had as much time to do them as I used to. One of my favorites is making stained glass panels. Someday I’m going to get really ambitious and do one for a side window we have on the landing of our stairwell. I also quilt, crochet, knit (a little), cross stitch, sew. If it has a needle I’ve probably tried it (well, except for tatting, which is why I MUST learn how to do it).,

    The picture you have above is gorgeous! Another thing I’d like to try is making broomstick lace.

    1. You must try! Maybe I’ll bring needles when we the BuckeyeBrigade ever gets together 🙂

      I’d love to try broomstick lace too. And I would adore learning to work with stained glass. I had a friend who did it when I lived in Nashville, and she was just starting out but man… it looked like so much FUN.

    1. I have to have something to do with my hands when working through story issues. I used to make a lot of bread haha, because the mindlessness of kneading served that purpose.

      Tatting is easier on the carb intake 😀

  7. Hey Frenchie, email me! Would love to send you the pendant(and hey, want a french copy of my debut? It’s all FrenchyFrench!)

    amalie (at) amalieberlin (dot) com

  8. Amalie, I SO admire your beautiful and meticulous work! So impressive! Especially because I have zero talent when it comes to crafty things. This is actually something I’d been thinking about recently – what exactly makes some people more creative than others? My great-grandmother was amazing at knitting, crochet, and needlepoint, my grandmother a professional seamstress, and yet my mother (and I) aren’t proficient (okay, not even adequate) at any of them. My aunt was a talented visual artist, and my daughter is, too. Me? Nothing there.

    But just when I was feeling annoyed with myself that I’d never acquired any of those talents, I realized I have other ones (or maybe this is just me reassuring myself I’m not a total lame-o) 🙂
    I play piano well, only because I gravitated to every piano I came in contact with from the time I was little until a family friend insisted to my non-musical parents that I needed lessons. I love to cook, and that can be a pretty creative endeavor, too! Gardening is another thing I know a lot about, and I think creativity has a hand in a beautiful garden, though Mother Nature has a much more persuasive hand! And then there’s that writing thing…

    So! I’d love to give tatting a try at the BuckeyeBrigade! But honestly, I don’t have much hope that I’ll be any good at it. However, I’ve come to believe that, in addition to trying our hand at new things and stretching our creative selves, we all must embrace our strengths and work at making them better!

    Thanks for the lovely post!

Leave a Reply

