Travels Around the World

I don’t want to think about winter.

I’m SO tired of winter.

I’m not a winter fan. Which is funny as I’m a native born and bred Canadian, but I don’t like winter. I never have. I hate the way the cold bites at your cheeks, how your fingers and toes go numb and feel like bricks when you pull them out of your heavy boot.

When I go for a walk, which I’ve been trying to do every day since I got my Fitbit, I don’t want to have to concentrate on the ground beneath my feet, looking for ice to make sure I don’t slip and fall.

Much like Olaf in Disney’s Frozen. I want to think about Summer.

When I think about a fantastic summer it makes me think of the summer I went to San Fancisco for RWA in 2008. So bear with me as I distract myself from winter.

I was with a group of Canadians, a couple of Americans and an author from New Zealand. Now, it was our Summer and the author from New Zealand was escaping their winter. We all went out at night, the Canadians were quite comfortable without a jacket (as I was told by a native San Franciscan that the city was actually warmer in October as opposed to July), the Americans were wearing their light jacket and our poor New Zealander was FREEZING cold. She had my jacket and few others. 😉

I guess it’s all about what you’re used to and the fact I’m “used to” winter sucks. LOL

I think San Francisco, to date, has been my favorite climate. I was comfortable. Not too hot, not too cold, just right the entire time.

That’s why when I was asked to base my next medical in a city I chose San Francisco.

Melting the Ice Queen’s Heart was set in one of my favorite cities in the world.MeltingGood

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

Digimax A50 / KENOX Q2The first thing I did when I landed in San Francisco was take a sight seeing bus trip and the thing which freaked me out was when the bus was driving up a hill and stopped at a light in the middle of the hill. I thought we were going to die. I was positive the bus was going to go backwards.

 

 

This is the lookout on the twin peaks. Where my hero and heroine kissed before the benefit party. On a clear day (they do have a lot of fog there) you can see the entire city. Digimax A50 / KENOX Q2

 

 

 

 

 

 

And one last shot of me, on Alcatraz, overlooking the city. The headphones were part of the guided night tour of Alcatraz, which was advertised as “spooky”, but it’s not. Not at all, or at least I wasn’t nervous.Digimax A50 / KENOX Q2

 

 

 

 

 

I hope to get back one day and take my kids there.

And this post thoroughly distracted me from winter. Thanks for letting me ramble.

So, are there any cities you’ve visited you totally love? Any you’d like to visit? I know New Orleans is on my bucket list of cities, as is Nashville and this May I’m hitting both for Romantic Times.

 

 

18 thoughts on “I don’t want to think about winter.”

  1. I want to go out west. I haven’t been further west than Dallas, but I will get there. Nashville, otoh, I can talk about Nashville for ages. I lived there 7 years, and absolutely adored it. They really aren’t good in the snow though.

    I swear on a stack of Joe Manganiello pictures this is true… I drove back down to Nashville from a visit to Ohio. It was snowing a lot when I started my journey, and my car got covered in a layer of salt… like usual. I got to Tennessee, went to get something terrible to eat because I was zonked, and a dude at the restaurant asked what was all over my car. I said… “It’s salt. I just came in from Ohio and it was snowing.”

    He said: “HUH. We’d never think to salt our cars in Tennessee…” (Such a precious little goober-head, and so unused to snow) 😀

  2. I had to laugh when I read this, Amy, because I woke up to an email from a naturalised Canadian friend of mine, originally from Slovakia and she said, “Canadians love to talk about weather so here goes. Just as Australia had extreme heat (those poor tennis players!) we had and still have extreme winter. It’s snowing heavily right now and the airports and highways are shutting down. Why are we always surprised when we get snow and freezing temps in Canada?!”

    Guess that is like us saying during February, “It’s so hot.” It is ALWYS revoltingly hot in February!
    You keep warm and I’ll try and keep cool. And yes, San Fran is a great and lovely city. Reminds me of Vancouver and Melbourne, two great Canadian and Aussie cities!

    1. LOL! We do love to talk about weather here. I think though, in my thirty some odd years on this planet and mostly living in the southern Ontario area, this is the coldest winter by far and I don’t like it. I can deal with -5.

  3. Hi Amy – Being from the Souther California region, San Francisco is even too chilly for me. LOL. It is a beautiful city though. I happen to love one of your Canadian cities – Ottawa. I visited last October, and of all of the North Eastern cities of Canada that we visited on that trip (well of Ontario and Quebec anyway) it was my favorite. However, I doubt I’d enjoy it this time of year.
    I was at the RWA conference in 2008 in S.F. too. 🙂

  4. Amy, I’m with you. I hate winter too and am looking forward to summer even though it’s a very hit and miss affair in England!
    As for my favourite city, well, it has to be Florence. Magnificent is the only word I can think of to sum it up. The architecture, the light, the general ambience …I get goose-bumps just thinking about it. I can’t wait to go back one day and explore further but before I do I must see Venice first. I’m sure that will be another place that makes me tingle!
    love,
    Jennifer

  5. Amy,
    I like San Francisco also. Like Amy I love Venice, was surprised how much I liked Paris and I’d like to go back to Monaco. As for places I haven’t seen Banff, in your cold Canada is high on the want to list.

    1. Banff is beautiful as is Jasper. Banff and Jasper are connected by this highway known as the Icefields. I HIGHLY recommend driving the 5 hours between the two parks. Spectacular. I’ve done the drive. Everyone needs to do that drive once in their life, Susan. Beautifully stunning.

  6. Wow, Amy -30! Big warm hugs! I think I’d be seriously considering hibernation as an option. Loved the Frozen clip (and yes, I did click for the sing-along version 🙂 )

    New Orleans is on my bucket list too – as is Canada (I’ll be bringing my thermals 🙂 )

    1. Only thermals in the winter, Annie! In the summer, well where I am, it can get hot! I suggest coming in the summer and if you visit me I’ll take you swimming in a Great Lake. 😉

      I loved Frozen. I’m anxiously awaiting for it to be on DVD.

  7. Amy, I had a great uncle who owned a farm in Northern Alberta, and he came to Ohio to visit one winter. He kept complaining about how hot it was in my parent’s house – admittedly, they liked to keep it warm, but not awful. We realized he was wearing his thermal long johns every day – isn’t that what any normal Canadian would do in the winter? 🙂 We had to laugh, and encourage him to leave them in his suitcase until he went home.

    I actually love winter – particularly the snow – but Ohio winters are often terrible because they’re often full of just-above-freezing temps and gray drizzle. Depressing! This has been a beautiful winter, but I do admit the sub-zero temps have been a bit much!

    Thanks for the ‘trip’ to San Francisco – I was just there last fall, and it is a wonderful city!

  8. I’m late, Amy, but I wanted to say I was in San Francisco for that RWA conference. It was my very first one and so overwhelming (as well as inspirational). I loved it. I haven’t been able to go to all of them since then, but have made three or four of them.

    And your title is very apropos for this time of year. Are we ready for that ice to melt, or what? Love your cover, by the way! Very pretty!

Leave a Reply

