Harlequin Mills & Boon Medical Romance Novels

Just back!!

I’m just back from New York with my other half and our two kids. This is the second year in the row we’ve gone to New York in February. Snow storms and biting temperatures abound!
This year we did a few different things. We went to the Intrepid Air, Sea and Space museum. I can now say that I’ve been on a submarine and have no wish to ever go on one again!
The aircraft carrier and space shuttle were much better!
IMG_0441
We also eventually managed to find Belvedere Castle in Central Park. I was disappointed to miss it last year and made a point of trying to find it this year.
IMG_0465

After visiting the Empire State building, Madame Tussauds and Top of the Rock again, and maybe doing a little shopping we finally had to head home. One of my favourite actors was starring in a play in New York with his best friend Ian McKellen, but my kids were just a bit young to go and see it, so I had to settle for this!
IMG_0566
Finally I’m still admiring my latest book cover for the Harley Street series!
scarletsbook2
The series starts 1 April so watch out for it!

In the meantime, I’m working on my beloved. The RWA conference is being held in New York next summer at the Marriott Marquis which is the hotel we were staying in. The revolving lounge is spectacular, as was the strawberry daiquiris! I’m doing my best to try and get back there next year – wish me luck!

14 thoughts on “Just back!!”

  1. Scarlet,
    It sounds like your family had fun. I would never dream of visiting NY in Feburary because of the cold but I bet you didn’t have to deal with a lot of tourist crowds. I do hope you make it back next year for the conference. I look forward to meeting you in person.

  2. Welcome back Scarlet. It was cold and wet when I was in New York – a few years ago now- but it didn’t spoil our enjoyment. (Mind you, as Scots we are pretty used to being cold and wet!) I think it’s an amazing city. Wish I could have spent a year there when i was younger- and single.
    I love your book cover btw.

    Anne Fraser x

    1. I like the way you added in that last bit – single!
      I had a great time, both of our birthdays are in Feb and as Scots we’re pretty immune to the cold. Had a few nerves over whether our planes could actually take off and land though!

  3. Sounds like a great trip. My sister in law was there at the same time, and we spoke to her one day before the next snowstorm moved in. She said it wasn’t too bad before then. I love your book cover, too. I was thinking of skipping next year’s RWA conference, but if enough overseas writers come, I may have to go just to meet everyone I know online!

    1. Granny Lynne! Congratulations xx
      The flight to New York is one of the shortest for me, that’s a big plus. The RWA flight this year would gave worked out at 14 hrs!

  4. Love your pics, Scarlet! I love love love NYC! And that’s despite the 20 hour flight! 🙂
    I was at the last NYC conference and the hotel *is* fabulous! Said I would be going to the next one but its probably not going to happen as my DD is in her final year of school next year which pretty much grounds us! 😦

  5. So jealous- I’ve never been and would LOVE to go. Next year is a *special* birthday for me so I’ve already pencilled in the NY conference as a birthday treat!! Just depends on timing and whether it works with school hols here as my family want to come too (thought I could do a bit of touring with them first then send them home when I’m at conference)!

  6. Hi Scarlet, love your cover! And you visited the space shuttle! That would be pretty high on my list for a visit to New York. (Along with about a million other things 🙂 ) Good luck with the negotiations for next year.

  7. Love that cover, Scarlet!

    I have to say I saw the word submarine and went cold inside. I’m claustrophobic and have this fear of being far beneath the ocean, so go you for being brave enough to go on one. My hubby is an avid scuba diver. I wish I could accompany him when he goes out, but I have to hang around on the surface of the water with my lame snorkel gear, because the thought of relying on an air regulator to breathe? Not me. I’d rather have access to the real thing, lol!

    But your trip sounds wonderful! Those happy faces say it all. 😀

Leave a Reply

