Harlequin Mills & Boon Medical Romance Novels

Moving on…

ID-100185939 I have finally done it. After a lot of thought and a great deal of soul searching I have put my home of forty years on the market and am hoping to move house some time this year. It’s been a big decision as I have been very happy living here. It’s where my husband and I raised our family so this house holds a lot of wonderful memories for me. However, now that I am living here on my own, it’s just too big. The dog and I don’t need all these bedrooms or this massive garden so I shall be downsizing and moving into a lovely, bright and modern apartment. It’s going to be a great place to live and I am looking forward to it but it’s still a daunting prospect. I mean, how do you whittle down a whole house full of furniture etc to fit into a two bedroom apartment.

I keep doing tours of the house, wondering if I should take this with me or that. I know that my lovely Spanish style dining suite won’t fit but if I can’t take it then what will I do with all my glass and china? Should I take the antique Willow pattern dinner and tea service I have been collecting for so many years, or forfeit it so I can take the far-more-practical, dish-washer safe one? Decisions, decisions! And this is before any prospective buyers walk through my front door!

OK, I know I shall get there in the end, but for someone like me – a real stick-in-the-mud – it is definitely taxing to have to pick and choose, and then work out what to do with the leftover items. I must keep focusing on where I hope to be living very soon, in that bright and airy apartment with its views over the canal and the countryside beyond, and not start panicking. However, it any of you have any tips to make the move less stressful then do share them with me. I mean, I haven’t even thought what I’m going to do with all my books!
Jennifer

image courtesy of ddpavumba/FreeDigitalPhotos.net

25 thoughts on “Moving on…”

  1. Jennifer,
    I don’t envy you the job. Do keep that which holds special memories because you will regret it if you just get rid of it. Also you can always believe that who buys you belongs will love and need them as much as you diid. Just think of another family growing up around your table and chairs.

  2. Ah, Jennifer! This is one of those stages in life that drives us crazy. Everything has a memory attached to it, yet there just isn’t the space to store it. If you’re using the items daily, obviously keep them, but maybe there is some storage area in the new, bright and airy apartment? However, is something is only going to go into storage, why keep it? Do your kids want any of your things? It might be nice to pass on some heirlooms to your daughter.
    They old saying goes we can’t take it with us, and that’s so true. What matters is not the memories, but the objects. Good luck. Can’t wait for you to share this big adventure in the next stage of your life.
    hugs,

    1. Lynne, I did think about renting a self-storage unit and putting a lot of stuff in there but my daughter has talked me out of it (well, maybe she has!) It is hard to let go isn’t it? But I will still have lots of wonderful memories and they will help enormously when I make the move.

  3. Hi Jennifer
    This must be a tough time for you- to decide what to take and what to leave. You clearly have so many memories tied up with your house. But like susan says, another family is going to build their own memories there and perhaps they’ll feel the love you gave your home? I’m sure they will.
    I applaud your bravery in taking a new fearless step into the future. I wish you all the best for this new phase in your life. Like Lynne I really want to hear about it as it unfolds and i hope you know we’ll all be cheering you on!

    Anne x

    1. Thanks, Anne. It’s ben tough making the decision but it’s crazy to stay in such a big house. I am looking forward to living in the apartment too, the biggest draw being the fact that I can simply lock up and take off to warmer climes without having to worry what’s happening to the roof, the fence etc. You could be receiving a lot of posts from the Canaries next winter if my plans work out!

  4. Good luck with the move, Jennifer! My best friend’s parents have recently downsized and although it was a struggle to get rid of things, they’re glad they moved now. Wishing you all the best in your new home! xxx

    1. Thanks, Kate. I’m so glad that it worked out well for your friend’s parents. Bill and I always planned on downsizing when we were older than this but it seems like the right time to do it now I’m on my own. And I shall be even closer to my daughter, sil and grandchildren. That’s even better!

  5. Best of luck with the move, Jennifer. We just made a big move, and it was so hard deciding what could come and what couldn’t. In the end, I had to leave a few things I love behind (no space left in our crate to ship them). I agree with what others have said. Take those things that are very special or personal to you. I look forward to seeing pictures of your bright new view over the canal! Enjoy! 🙂

    1. Thanks Tina. I shall gee up my ruthless gene and part company with the less important items like you did. And I am only moving some five miles away from where I currently live so it isn’t a major undertaking, really. Photos of my new home will definitely follow once I am settled there!

  6. Wow, 40 years in the one house! I moved so much I can’t wrap my head around that, although I have just clicked over 14 years in one house which is the longest i have ever stayed anywhere and I feel the need to clean out cupboards that moving always forced me to do. Why not use the willow and put it in the dishwasher at the same time? I have too many things I have ‘saved’ and not used so unless it is heritage and passing on to generations special, like my moustache cup, then use it and enjoy.
    All the best with the move.
    Fiona xx

    1. Fiona, oddly it doesn’t feel that long since I moved here to live. It’s only when I tot up the years that I realise it’s half a lifetime! I wouldn’t dare put the willow pattern china in a dishwasher – it would disintegrate. The oldest pieces, the diner plates, are 90+ years old, made when the only form of dishwasher came in the form of a scullery maid! Still, I may be able to find a space for it somewhere…

  7. Very best of luck, Jennifer. When we emigrated 12 years ago we did a lot of downsizing, so I feel your pain! (Trouble is, we’ve only gone and amassed a new lot of stuff here too!!). Looking forward to seeing pictures of your new place- and that view sounds amazing!

    1. Hi Louisa, good to know that you survived downsizing. And I shall be ruthless about acquiring any more clutter (that’s what I am claiming now, anyhow!) Photos to follow asap.

  8. I can’t imagine that much time in one place either. I’ve been rather nomadic my whole life. I still manage to accumulate copious amounts of crap… but I don’t collect awesome things I couldn’t bear to part with. You know, besides books.

    On the plus size, it’s a wonderful opportunity to simplify. I’ve been drooling over micro houses lately… and I SO want one. I think I’m going to have to have a heroine with a micro-house in the future. One of those ones on a trailer so she can be a nomad with a permanent dwelling 😀

    1. Amalie, the years just sort of crept up on me. I mean we never intended to stay here so long it just sort of…well, happened. Those micro houses sound great. I must google them to see what they look like. And definitely out one into a book. It would be a fascinating addition to the story.

  9. Sue, my thoughts are with you as you make the big move. It’s hard to say goodbye to something that means so much. So many memories. I don’t really have any tips but if it were me, I’d keep the willow pattern but then, I’m a china nut!

    1. Thanks, Amy. Of course I won’t be able to move unless someone buys my house. So fingers crossed that some family loves it as much as we did. And I am already thinking of ways (and places) to keep my willow pattern china. I’m like you. I adore china!

  10. Hi Jennifer, I adore china too – and can’t help hoping that you keep your Willow pattern china. Perhaps all the pleasure you get from using it will make up for one or two breakages? My approach to house clearing was to start with the practical, then earmark a few extra boxes for things that there was no reason to keep, other than wanting to.

    Good luck with your move, it’s a difficult decision, but your new place sounds lovely. How nice to be able to relax with a cup of tea, and watch the comings and goings along the canal.

  11. Annie, thanks for that tip. I shall definitely add a few boxes for non-essentials. And somehow I am going to hang onto that lovely Willow pattern after the time I have spent collecting it!

Leave a Reply

