Harlequin Mills & Boon Medical Romance Novels

One song can spark a thousand memories…

Last night I went to a Bruce Springsteen concert. It was the first Boss concert I’ve ever been to and it was great (being in New Zealand he opened the show with a cover version of Lorde’s ‘Royals’ which went down a treat!).

By Craig ONeal (The Boss~Live!) [CC-BY-SA-2.0 (http://creativecommons.org/licenses/by-sa/2.0)], via Wikimedia Commons
By Craig ONeal (The Boss~Live!) [CC-BY-SA-2.0 (http://creativecommons.org/licenses/by-sa/2.0)%5D, via Wikimedia Commons
But-before I went I asked my husband why Bruce seemed to have so many almost evangelical followers. Sure, I’ve always heard him on the radio and quite liked him,  but I have noticed that some of his fans are the most ardent ones I’ve ever come across. Hubby says it’s about the lyrics, about the feelings his music instills in you- and the memories. ‘Bruce was there through it all,’ he said. ‘He got me through the good times and the bad times.’

http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=lrpXArn3hII

Bruce was very energetic, and at 64 had a physique a 30 yr old would be envious of. He was involving and encompassing and the music was great. My husband thought the concert was brilliant, one of the best- whereas, with no real memories to associate with The Boss I enjoyed his most popular songs and the rest was lost on me! (To my hubby’s shame)

There’s some new research (here if you’re interested) that tells us that playing music to brain-injury patients can help help them regain autobiographical memories much more effectively than verbal prompting. How amazing is that? Play someone some music and the tune brings back an associated memory.That got me thinking. What would be the soundtrack to my life? What music should my people play to me to evoke my strongest memories? What is my go-to music?

This always always reminds me of my dearly departed dad, whenever I hear it I have to stop what I’m doing and think about him:

http://youtu.be/2i43aAn2rq8

This brings back very strong memories of driving up a mountain to get to a ski-field with my husband and kids and us all screaming the song at the top of our voices- happy days!

http://youtu.be/C4MFxcFofkY

On a slightly tangential note I have a new release! Not a medical book, but still a Mills and Boon/Harlequin one. I now write for the Modern Tempted/Kiss line too. For anyone not familiar with this great line, these are  ‘fresh, flirty and stylish- sexy stories for the modern girl who loves to live life to the full!’ Her Client From Hell is my second Modern Tempted book an is available from both www.millsandboon.co.uk and www.harlequin.com

Her Client Kiss coverTangential? Because hero, Jack is an award winning rockumentary maker…he makes documentaries about rock stars…. (tenuous link to my blog post, yeah). Here’s the blurb:

Her customer satisfaction guarantee…!

Cassie Sweet has a new mantra in her life—failure is not an option! Her good-for-nothing ex might have run off with all her money, but she’s determined to make her new catering business a success. So no distractions. Nothing. Nada.Zero. Which means her infuriatingly rude—and exasperatingly handsome!—new client, filmmaker Jack Brennan, is definitely off the menu…

After all, while the customer might always be right, Jack’s clearly every shade of wrong! So when his clothes end up on her bedroom floor why do they look so right? And the biggest question of all: is this a recipe for disaster—or the best mistake of her life…?

What would be the soundtrack to your life? Is there one song that triggers strong memories for you?

14 thoughts on “One song can spark a thousand memories…”

  1. This is kind of funny because I don’t consider myself much of a “music person.” Left to my own devices I tend to listen to news, or an audio book, or classical music (just as background noise).
    But the song “Suite Judy Blue Eyes” by Crosby, Stills and Nash always makes me think of being in college and my dad driving me to the airport on the first sunny day after an ice storm. The sky was so blue and everything looked like something out of a fairytale. My dad isn’t much of a music person either, but he loves that song.

    And “Fernando” by Abba might be my first memory ever. My mom played it over and over again and when I was a toddler. Every time I hear it, I get this vague sensation of being very small and feeling shag carpet on my bare feet 🙂

    1. Hi Jill- what a lovely memory you have of that CS&N song! (I just googled it and the lyrics are very poignant!). And I had to smile at Fernando- as soon as I thought about it, I was back in my old living room dancing along! Thanks for sharing!

  2. Hi Louisa, though music has always had a large impact on my life, I draw a blank when asked to identify the theme songs in my life. I have been deeply moved by music all my life, and though of the generation for Springsteen, he never “spoke” to me. I think he was a more blue collar guy phenomenon. I can definitely recall the kind of music that impacted me decade by decade – rock in the teens, jazz in the 20s, eclectic in the 30s and country music in my 40s. I won’t continue as I don’t want the world to know how old I am. LOL.
    I love the premise of your new book and the cover is adorable.

    1. Hi Lynne! Isn’t it interesting how music taste changes as we grow older! My kids often ask me what’s my favorite song/movie ever and I always struggle to choose just one too! (So it was a bit mean of me really to ask y’all!)

  3. HI, Louisa,
    I am totally hopeless and music isn’t a big part of my life. Ironic really given how much music is so important to the other members of my family. I tend to relate times of my life to the books I was reading. Love your cover!

  4. I love music but sing badly but I play the radio with gusto!. Music does bring back memories of where you were and what you were doing. My mother doesn’t listen to music because it makes her sad. Country Western is the worst. I would love to see The Boss in action. I’m sure you had a great time.
    Your book cover is wonderful. Sound like a fun read.

    1. Aw, Susan bless your mum’s heart for not listening to music because it makes her sad. Some songs make me cry too- but some make me feel just joyful. We did zumba today to ‘Happy’ by Pharrell Williams and I couldn’t stop smiling! The boss was great, thanks.
      And yeah, I love my super-duper cover too 🙂

  5. Hi Louisa, how odd to note that several of us aren’t true music buffs but relate more to the books we were reading… or maybe not odd, bearing in mind what we do!
    I am not a huge music person but the Beatles always trigger a lot of happy memories (I’m from Liverpool – need I say more?) I also love Bryan Adams’ Summer of 69 (or 65 I always get that wrong) just for the sheer joy of the music, and also his lovely Everything I do…I do it for you which I asked to be played at my husband’s funeral.
    There are bound to be other songs but for the life of me I can’t remember them!
    Jennifer

  6. Great topic, Louisa! I was raised on country music, so I think that genre really resonates with me for some reason (I know, I know…you either love it or you hate it). Garth Brooks’ Unanswered Prayers is one I really love and reminds me of a specific time in my life. Keith Urban is also a favorite–love it when that man plays the banjo.

  7. Hi Louisa, I’ve been trying to think of one song, and I just can’t – there are just too many. Music has played such a big part in my life, and there are a lot of songs that have stayed with me over the years – I love it when one of them sneaks up on me in a film or on TV, and I find that I still know all the words 🙂
    I can understand how valuable music is in accessing memory. My mother and I used to sing together a lot in the last years of her life – as her memory began to recede, music became very important to her. We didn’t always hit the right notes (we worked on the principle of practise makes perfect) but singing always used to make us both smile 🙂

Leave a Reply

