Harlequin Mills & Boon Medical Romance Novels

Bringing the fur-children home….

As the mother of a rescue fur-child, Mathilda, a Maltese Shih Tzu, I have a soft spot for all creatures small and needy.  So when our youngest adult daughter still living at home decided to adopt a black toy poodle, I could not say no. And so it was that Betty came to live with us. Mathilda has some residual issues from her previous home where she was abused and friends lovingly refer to her as Kujo, so on a good day she tolerates Betty and the non-furry family members.

IMG_0277

IMG_0296

In 2006 I was living in Los Angeles with my eldest daughter as she launched her musical career ( I wasn’t about to send her off overseas without family around).  After only a week there she decided to give a home to a Pomeranian. Her name was Pumba and she was a typical Pomeranian. Very intelligent, quite neurotic, hyperactive and we thought, perhaps lonely. So, in our infinite wisdom, we decided that a sister for Pumba might be the trick. Along came the most gentle fur bundle ever born, a Bichon-Frise and her name was to be Harriet. I returned to Adelaide in 2008 and Orianthi became the girls’ sole care-giver.

Now, with her time on the road touring greater than her time at home, Orianthi has decided the girls would be better living in Australia. So along with finishing my fourth book, that is due on my editor’s desk at the end of June, and promoting my second book, Back in Her Husband’s Arms, I am also wading through the miles of red tape involved in shipping two dogs to live in Adelaide. The tests, vaccinations, approvals, airline bookings and quarantine all needed to bring our fur-grandchildren to live with us, borders on overwhelming.

And as I ponder the chaos that will befall our household in about four months time with a house full of fur children, I wonder if the new arrivals will have an American accent to their woofs? If so, I am sure these Californian girls will be popular with the fur boys as we walk them along the foreshore on Sunday mornings!

Digital StillCamera

CAM00194

Have you been involved in the transport of a four legged family member over the high seas … or perhaps interstate?

Warm regards

Susanne Hampton

Unlocking the Doctor’s Heart – Mills & Boon Medical Romance March 2014

Back in Her Husband’s Arms – Mills & Boon Medical Romance June 2014

Falling for Dr December – Mills & Boon Medical Romance December 2014

 

20 thoughts on “Bringing the fur-children home….”

  1. Susanne, I know all about the red tape involved in bringing fur-babies from one country to another. We just brought our pug and our daughter’s chinchilla back to the States after living in Brazil. It took a lot of determination and going back to the same offices over and over for some ever-new “missing” paperwork, but it was worth it in the end. They’re both here safe and sound, and we’ve taken on a grand-kitty as well(our oldest daughter’s cat). So we’re a full house at the moment.

    Your fur-children are very lucky to have you! They’re all beautiful!! 🙂 Sending good luck vibes in getting all that paperwork done!

    And yes on the accents! In Brazil, dogs go “ow ow” rather than “woof woof.” At least that’s the Brazilian interpretation of a dog’s bark. Really interesting!

    1. Thanks Tina, Great to know that you have actually done it. We didn’t know anyone up till now, so pretty much unchartered waters. I know it will be worth it when their furry faces are here with us. 🙂

  2. Susanne, It sounds as though you are going to have your hands – and your house! – full to capacity when the new “grandkids” arrive. Love the idea of adopting all those dogs which needed loving homes. Well done! As “mum” to a rescue dog, I know how much pleasure they can bring.
    As for the language difficulties, well, be thankful that the US dogs should speak a similar version of English to your dogs :> A friend of mine adopted a West Highland White and was told he was very obedient. To her dismay, he didn’t respond to any of the usual commands but completely blanked her. She phoned the rescue centre and asked for help and after a couple of days they got back to her, laughing their heads off. It appeared the dog was from Wales and only spoke Welsh. My friend had to learn all the commands in the dog’s mother tongue!
    God luck to your fury family.
    love,
    Jennifer

    1. Hi Jennifer, I am not good at learning other languages … have tried quite a few with little success, so I’m very happy the fur-babies are coming from the US or we’d really be in trouble! 🙂

  3. Good luck, Sue! Getting PEOPLE from one country to the other is hard enough; I can’t imagine dealing with the bureaucracy required to naturalize a dog. But I do know all about taking on daughters’ animals….

    1. Hi Candy, I am so sorry about your fur baby – it is sad but he is in a better place now. They are are family so worth all the paperwork (there is sooooo much) to get them to Adelaide but I asked her not to adopt any more as we won’t have the room! 🙂

  4. Wow – all I can say is bless your heart (your big and open heart). I’ve never shipped a pet anywhere, so your experience is all new to me.. However, I have heard about the quarantine upon arrival, as my sister’s friend shipped her dogs to England where they lived for a couple of years.
    Good luck with book #4 deadline. You seem to be on a writing tear. Good for you!

    1. Thanks Lynne, it is so new to me too … and I learn something everyday. Quarantine is only 11 days in Australia but the process from the beginning to the flight in the US is six months…and it is not and inexpensive exercise. Thank goodness we love them! 🙂

  5. Susanne,
    I’ve not had any type of experience with moving an animal that far. My family did move a pet raccoon when I was a child and he tore up the inside of the trunk trying to get out. He was glad when we arrived at out new home.

    1. Hi Susan, I didn’t know you could have a pet raccoon, they’re so cute but I thought they were like our possums and only in the wild. I imagine that the dogs’ cages at the end of the long haul will be pretty mucky and hopefully they’ll be glad to be with us at the end. 🙂

  6. Susanne, the furthest I’ve ever moved an animal was when I brought my cat from Leicester to London (about a hundred miles). No border controls or paperwork involved 🙂 A friend of mine did swear that she had a Midlands accent, though.

    Good luck with your move!

    1. Hi Annie, my parents moved a cat once to a new home and were told to put butter on her paws as she would get used to the smell of the new home while cleaning herself. They didn’t know if it would work so they decided she would be an inside cat for ever and only let her out with supervision so she didn’t run away. 🙂

Leave a Reply

