Harlequin Mills & Boon Medical Romance Novels

Happy.

imageConfession time! I’ve always suffered with anxiety and depression. Always. Even when I was little and meant to be a bundle of joy, I was always worrying and fretting and never enjoying myself because I was too afraid of all the bad things that ‘might’ happen.

Now, of course, I have some tablets that keep me on an even keel and I’ve not suffered depression for years (I did try coming off them once, but soared straight back down into a deep depression, so I’m back on them) and life is dandy, but I’ve recently started doing something that I find really beneficial.

It’s always too easy to look for something to worry about, to find the bad things that happen, so I decided to join up on http://www.100happydays.com

All you have to do, is find something every day, for 100 days that makes you happy. It can be a photo, something on Pinterest, something someone says, or maybe a video on YouTube. It could be a favourite book, or just the tiniest thing in your day that makes you smile. Makes you happy. And then you post it on Facebook or Twitter with the hashtag #100daysofhappiness Day ? (Whatever the number is!)

image

It’s brilliant. I didn’t think I’d last. I didn’t think I’d remember to do it, or have the time, but you know what this thing does? It makes you find the time to look for happiness. And by doing that, you spend your day, looking for the positives, so you’ve got something to post for the next day. And for someone who suffers from depression and anxiety, finding the positives every day, instead of focusing on the negatives every day, is a huge deal.

image

It reminded me of Oprah’s thankful Journal, I once saw. That you wrote down in a journal every day, five things that you were thankful for. I never completed that. I wasn’t in the right place at the time, but I appreciated the idea.

image

So what makes you happy? What causes a smile in your heart? Find something today, look for the positive and comment below what’s made you happy today. For me? I got told the title of my first ever book with Medicals, ‘The Baby That Changed Her Life’. My first title! (Squees happily and does a merry dance!) I’d love to hear yours x

17 thoughts on “Happy.”

  1. Hi Louisa!
    I’m so glad that you are coping with your depression. It’s a particularly cruel illness so well done for living life to the full.
    As for finding things that make you happy, well, it’s something I’ve been doing for the past six years ever since I was diagnosed with multiple myeloma. Every day I find something to be happy about. Today it was a walk in the Water Park with my dog. The sight of the ducks with their gorgeous little ducklings brought a smile to my face.
    Good luck with the launch of your first book. Definitely a reason to celebrate and feel happy about!
    love,
    Jennifer.

  2. Thanks Jennifer, sounds like you enjoy finding small things to be happy about every day too! I think too many people just remember the bad things that happen. It’s important to find joy in the small things too. And ducklings! How cute! Those little brown and yellow furry bodies look just so snugly and soft. Enjoy your day x

  3. Hi Louisa,

    I don’t know why depression isn’t discussed more. We all will either suffer from it at some time in our lives or be close to someone who does. It is as incapacitating as any physical illness (which many believe it is.) What you and Jennifer say is so true, finding and actually noting small joys in every day life is so important. A lot of things give me pleasure – a sunny day (well I do live in Scotland) but conversely the sound of wind and rain on the windows when I am tucked up and warm inside, a good book, spending time with my family, a plant that has flowered in the garden, going for a long walk followed by coffee and cake, my friends, someone or something that makes me laugh. I’m lucky in that I usually manage to experience at least one of these things every day. And Jennifer, you have been an inspiration to us all with your attitude towards your horrible illness. I take my hat off to both of you and to all women who face adversity and still come up smiling.

    Anne x

  4. Anne, thank you so much. Yes, nothing beats lying in bed all warm and cosy when the weather outside is awful. We all take so many things for granted and don’t notice the good things until they’re gone. Well, now I do notice the good things and I’m surprised every day at how many good things there actually are!

    I wish people would discuss depression and especially anxiety more. Anxiety can be a real life-changer. My eldest son suffers with it terribly and as he’s only 14, I really feel for him as I hope it doesn’t control his life as much as it once controlled mine.

  5. Louise,
    A smile from one of my grandchildren, a good book, rain, learning something new and all my kids doing well at the same time make me happy. Some days it does take work to think happily and not focus on the negative. Thanks for reminding me how to find the happiness.

  6. Susan, I love learning new things. When I say to my kids I could happily go back to school, they raise their eyebrows at me in utter disbelief! One day they’ll understand….lol x thanks for sharing your happy things. I’m not old enough to have grandchildren yet, but one day, I’LL understand!

  7. Hi Louisa – I’m smiling just reading your blog. I think you new quest is fantastic and predict it will reap great benefit. We humans are creatures of habit, so this positive behavior modification should really be great for you outlook. I try to remember to say thanks for my life and all the wonderful things that happen (along with the bad) throughout the day. Capturing those good moments helps us through the tough times. Happiness is fleeting, but being grateful and content is the key.
    Good luck – and I love the title of your first book. Looking forward to reading it.

  8. Hi Lynne! Aww, thanks. I agree, I’ve only been doing the 100 days of happiness for 41 days, but have already reaped so many benefits. I’m sure, when I’ve done my 100 days, I will continue to look for the positive. Yes, we all have bad things that happen to us, but we can’t let those parts be the ones to define us. I know what a life is like when the negative is focused on. It’s not good and can be a dark place. From now on, the world is a bright and cheery place for me and hopefully I’ve spread a little joy on here, too!

  9. Hi Louisa! Best of luck with your debut book- it’s such a wonderful feeling, enjoy every second. It sounds as though you’re already doing that anyway! I love the idea of finding happiness in the small things and looking for something that makes you smile everyday. I have signed up for the #100HappyDays so we shall see how that pans out- I’m already smiling just thinking about it. Thanks for reminding us that life is short and that we should make the most of every second.

  10. Love this blog Louisa! I felt happy just reading it and given I’ve just been told my pay office has lost my leave application that was approved 1 YEAR AGO!!!!! and would I mind resubmitting it….
    I really needed to smile!
    Today I am happy that I have one night shift left and I’m off for 5 months and don’t have to deal with payroll for a long time 🙂

  11. I love the idea of the #100days of happiness! Will begin it today! I so agree that remembering to be grateful and looking for even tiny things that make us happy goes a long way toward counteracting the annoyances of everyday life, not to mention the truly difficult challenges we all have at times. My elderly mother has been slowly dwindling the past few years, and had a small stroke in May. Spending the day with her yesterday brought a lump to my throat more than once, and it helped greatly to remember the vibrant person she used to be, and to steer conversation to good times in the past rather than her confusion with the present.

    Here’s an idea to go along with the ‘Finding the Happy’ theme – At the dinner table, my family and I often get chatting by asking “So, what was the best thing about being James (or whoever) today? What was the most challenging thing?” Sometimes great nuggets come out that might never get talked about – a good thing when your kids are teenagers and young adults! It’s also good for nudging us to think about something positive that happened that we might not otherwise note.

    Thanks for the post, Louisa, and big congratulations on your first medical!

  12. Thanks, Robin! What a wonderful idea! We used to have quite disjointed mealtimes. Either some of us were missing, out at activities, or friends houses, or someone wants to study whilst they eat. We’ve stopped all that now, we all have to eat our evening meal together and asking those questions is a truly ingenious idea. Thanks for sharing and for signing up!

Leave a Reply

