Reading

Whatcha readin’?

DSCF3230-1HI, I’m just back from a lovely holiday/vacation in Papua New Guinea. (Photos are over at my blog http://www.fionalowe.wordpress.com) This trip featured checking out a different culture but there was also sailing, snorkelling, diving, eating, sleeping and reading!

I took my Kindle with a bevy of books and while I was there I got some reading done. Not quite as many books as when I was in Fiji….I blame the lack of a hammock at the Madang Resort for that 😉 …. but I did have a good shot at a few books.

On the flight over I listed to Elianne by Judy Nunn, a family saga set in Australia against the back drop of the sugar cane industry. It jumped between the turn of the 20th century and the turbulent times of the 1960s. The author had done a lot of research and I learned a few things. I LOVE the audio book app that my library offers. Do you listen to audio books? I love to in the car and when I’m gardening and cooking.

My next book was a Young Adult novel I had bought on sale ages ago when people were talking about it. My Life Next Door by Huntley Fitzpatrick was engaging and the dilemma in the book had me discussing it with the boys at dinner. Of course, in a YA novel the story pretty much demands that parents are absent, ineffectual or badly behaved so that the protagonists can grow. This book did all that and we got a good family discussion out of it!

 

Jill Shalvis‘ Rita-nominated novel, It had to be You was next on the list. I enjoyed returning to Lucky Harbour. Sometimes it can be tough for a reader to return to a town where the people you love are suddenly not behaving in quite the way you expect but this didn’t lessen my enjoyment. Plus the hero was gorgeous. Nuff said!

I then tackled my book group book, The Wondrous Life of Oscar Wao by Junot Diaz. Big departure from romance and I am glued to my Spanish-English dictionary on my Kindle as there is a lot of Spanish language in it. I am figuring that perhaps now in the USA, there must be a lot of known Spanish in the general community because there is no actual translation in the narrative or hints at what the words mean. Most are not important but I like to know!  It’s an interesting read!

Finally, I read the second book in Kristan Higgins Blue Heron series, The Perfect Match. I can always depend on Kristan Higgins to make me laugh and I wasn’t disappointed.

Of course, there are still heaps of books on my Kindle because my buying of books far outstrips my time to read them! So what are you reading at the moment? I’d love to know!

 

Book news…Harlequin are releasing a series of anthologies of my previous medical romances in the USA, UK and Australia at the moment so if you search Fiona Lowe in the eBook store of your choice, you will be able to track them down. For more information about my books head to my website.

17 thoughts on “Whatcha readin’?”

  1. I am currently making a point to read RWA chapter mate books (Los Angeles chapter) and have been delighted with a time travel – Time and Forever by Susan B. James, a cupcake mystery by Pamela Dumond, and a Sci-fi romance – Wreck of the Nebula Dream by Veronica Scott. I have also been reading YA and enjoyed The Maze Runner very much. As of today I downloaded The Fault in Our Stars and look forward to reading that. Too many books, so little time!

  2. Fiona, I am currently working my way through – and enjoying hugely – books by Peter Mayle. It all started when I watched one of my favourite films on TV, A Good Year, staring Russell Crowe. I decided to buy the DVD and then checked to see if the book was available and away I went. I have since read the most famous of Mayle’s books, A Year in Provence, and followed it up with several more. I am thoroughly enjoying them too. He has a wonderful way with words.
    Glad you enjoyed your holiday,
    love,
    Jennifer

    1. Jennifer, I read A Year In Provence and the follow up years ago and my kids read his ‘What’s Happening to Me?” puberty books! It sounds like you’re having a lovely reading time 🙂

  3. My summer reading is going very slowly, my grown up reading at least. (I have two boys under five :-)) but I love audio books and I get a lot in that way.
    Right now I’m listening to Bernard Cornwell’s The Last Kingdom. It’s a little “macho” for my taste, but he’s a good writer. I’m enjoying reading the Magic Tree House books to my five year old (more than he is, I suspect ) and I just started Kate Hardy’s “Champagne and a Celebrity” on my phone. I’m also reading Dorothy Dunnett’s Niccolo Rising and I’m enjoying it, but it’s going slowly!

    1. Jill, I totally understand! I remember when my youngest was 3 and I had a holiday and actually got one book read! It was a miracle based on the previous few years. I find with audio books I ‘read’ books I wouldn’t ordinarily pick up. My kids are too old for The Magic House series but they all loved Enid Blyton’s The Magic Faraway Tree as did I when I was a kid 🙂 Thanks for stopping by!

  4. Fiona,
    What a great reading vacation you had. All the books sound as if they kept you interested. I would have enjoyed being at the table with your guys and their discussion. I just finished reading Kim Law’s book Sugar Springs. I always like reading her books. I decided after judging the RITA that I was going to spend sometime reading only my author friends’ books. My next one is Cestus by Arley Vest. It will be a departure from romance but I need that right now. I look forward to your next reading list.

    1. Susan, your idea sounds fine! The Rita reading beomces a marathon and you end up feeling like you need a treat at the end. My readling glomming only happens on vacation. During school term time, I get my book group book read and that’s about it.

  5. Fiona, welcome back, glad to hear that you enjoyed your holiday. I came back from a summer fete on Saturday with a large pile of books – there was Pimms available and a bookstall, which made it a very well spent afternoon 🙂 I think I’ll be starting with ‘A Change of Climate’ by Hilary Mantel.

  6. I’m really trying to read this summer.

    I’m trying to finish The King by JR Ward and I want to start reading The Chatsfield, but I might wait until ALL the books are out because I know I’ll burn through them fast. 🙂

  7. Amy, we’ve talked before about how we like to read a series…as they come out or wait until all released and ‘burn’ through them. Think I know which side of the argument you fall 😉

  8. Fiona, your trip sounds wonderful, and your book selection, too!

    Having been crazy busy getting a book written and turned in, and living with the summer chaos of three kids and all their friends tearing around (we have a pool, so we’re the go-to house) there hasn’t been much time to read! But I did listen to a fascinating audio-book ‘The Power of Habit’ by Charles Duhigg, discussing the neurology of memory and habit, and how these affect personal and corporate habits in both good and bad ways. Really interesting! My most recent read was ‘The Last Victim’ by Karen Robards – just awesomely good and creepy and romantic, and since the hero is a ghost, very different! Can’t wait to read the next one in the series ‘The Last Kiss Goodbye.’

Leave a Reply

