Harlequin Mills & Boon Medical Romance Novels

Heart-melting moments. . .

Have you experienced them? Those moments when your heart seems to melt? Well, I certainly have!

I am not a sentimental person normally but a couple of weeks ago one of those moments in life that you just want to remember forever occurred. I was looking after my grandchildren while my daughter and s-i-l went out for dinner. I gave three year-old Max a bath and popped him into bed. We went through the usual ritual of night, night, sleep tight etc and I started to leave when a little voice said, ‘Love you more than jelly tots, Nanna.’ And my heart just melted.

Max.
Max.

It started me thinking about other moments when my heart has melted and it was surprising how many there are. I only have to think about my late husband walking our daughter to the alter and I get all choked up. Bill had been seriously ill and we’d only been given the go ahead for him to travel the day before we were due to fly to Thailand for the wedding. Watching him walking Vicky up the aisle definitely made my heart melt.
Bill & Vicky & Kathy

Then there’s the books I have read which have really touched me. Whose heart didn’t melt when they came to that line in Jane Eyre, ‘Reader, I married him.’ There’s all the films I have seen as well, the most recent being a new version of The 39 Steps staring Rupert Penry-Jones as Richard Hannay. My heart certainly melted at the end when Hannay sees the woman he loves and believed to have died, standing on the station platform!

So can you recall moments when your heart has melted? I’d love to hear about them!
love to you all,
Jennifer.

12 thoughts on “Heart-melting moments. . .”

  1. Aww, what sweet moments to remember. My older son is autistic and he has very limited verbal ability (although it’s getting better all the time) , so I treasure almost any time he strings more than two words together :-), but a few stick out in my mind.

    I remember once when he was about 3, he had a bad cold. We were snuggling on the couch in the middle of the night, trying to get to sleep. And he said very clearly “No go, mama.” At that point, it was the longest phrase he’d ever said. And for many years, it stayed that way. I think a lot of people thought I’d hallucinated it 🙂 Now he’s talking more, but I still treasure that moment.

    1. What a wonderful memory! No wonder you cherish it, Jill. It’s special moments like that which mean such a lot. Thank you for sharing it.
      love,
      Jennifer.

  2. Jennifer, my head goes BLANK when I am asked questions like this so but I do have a book where I wrote down the funny and heartfelt things the boys said. They love to get it out and read it. Oh, I just remembered something! THe night I got the call from Mills and Boon London saying they were buying my first book my youngest son was asleep and my husband was interstate. I went in to say goodnight to my eldest son who was 9 at the time and I told him the news…he knew the significance, having lived through me dealing with the previous rejections!. As I turned out his light he said, “Goodnight published mother.” That was pretty special 🙂

    1. Fiona, that is so lovely. Definitely one to put in your book of special memories. I only wish I had written down al the things my two said when they were little. It’s so easy to forget, isn’t it?
      love,
      Jennifer

  3. Jennifer, I’m the biggest sook out there- I cry at anything! I think my best moments are when my sons say things like, ‘do you remember when we…?’ then they go on to talk about a happy memory that they have from when they were young. That always make me think that, whatever else happens, I have given them some memories that make them smile. That’s pretty special.

    Yesterday I went to see a friend who had been away overseas. Her puppy (who I usually take for walks a couple of times a week but hadn’t recently because I’d been away too) came bounding up, all excited and happy to see me. My friend said, laughing, ‘Well, he wasn’t any where near as excited to see me.’ Made me smile.

    1. Louisa, it’s great to know that you have given your kids wonderful memories to look back on, isn’t it? I only have to remember my own childhood and how much fun my sister and I had, to know what wonderful parents we had. Your boys will look back on their childhood and feel so blessed because of all that you gave them.
      love,
      Jennifer

  4. Ah, so many came to mind when I read your post! Some heart-melting moments can be dangerous 😉 I vividly remember watching my at-the-time five-year-old daughter and three-year-old son walking in our yard wearing little yellow ponchos and rain boots, holding hands and splashing in puddles in the rain. I’d figured I was blessed to have two children of both genders, and that was enough. But the vision of them at that moment, growing up so fast and being so adorable, made me decide at that moment I had to have one more! About 11 months later, my youngest son was born. And watching his siblings hold him in amazement is another heart-melting memory.

    1. Oh, Robin, what a lovely story! I hope you tell your youngest son just how he came into the world. It will make him squirm . . . until he is old enough to appreciate how wonderful it is.
      love,
      Jennifer

  5. Like Louisa, I’m such a sook I find the heart-melting in almost anything! Of course, now I can’t think of a single one but Robin’s comment made me remember the morning my niece saw her baby brother for the first time. She was so overcome she was fluttering her hands in the air like she just didn’t know what she wanted to do with him first. It was very sweet!

Leave a Reply

