Harlequin Mills & Boon Medical Romance Novels, Hot Docs!, Quirky Stories, The Writing Life

Broken Backs and The Doctor

I have a new book out this month…yay! The heroine is an equine therapist…double yay. Why am I so happy about that? Because I love horses and ride them often. I sneak them into many of my books, but this is the first one where the horses have been center stage. BUT as a funny twist of irony, the book has come out just as I’m recovering from a fractured vertebra as a result of…wait for it…a riding accident. Here’s a picture of my new and not-so-improved L-2 vertebra (if you’re squeamish, you might want to cover the image with your hand).

MRI of Tina's back
MRI of Tina’s back

Anyway, as you’ll see, the vertebrae all look like blocks stacked on top of one another. All except that one in the middle–that pesky L-2, which now looks like the tip of a spear (and kind of feels like one too).

So, I saw various doctors who poked and prodded and took lots of x-rays and pictures. But I have to tell you, I absolutely fell in love with one of the doctors. Yes, I stared at him for hours on end. Night after night. Sometimes I stared at him with my husband. Sometimes with my daughter (who just left for Japan). Sometimes my whole family would sit there and gaze lovingly at his image. That’s because it wasn’t just any doctor. It was The Doctor. Yes, I’d discovered Dr. Who. Since I couldn’t do much except lie on a couch and watch TV, my daughter talked me into watching an episode of Dr. Who that featured weeping angels. Uh oh. Scary. In more ways than one, because I was hooked. Hooked on a show that I’d heard about but had never seen. I devoured them. And I just finished the last episode of the last season three days ago and am squirming with anticipation of seeing what the newest iteration of The Doctor will do. And I do admit, I have a favorite. “Who” you might ask? 😉 Well, because I’m a shallow girl, I think David Tennant made a dreamy Doctor.

My advice to you is to not fracture anything. Because he (The Doctor) might just hook you too! Here’s the clip from the weeping angel episode that was my downfall. Whatever you do…Do. Not. Blink.: 

For those of you who already watch Dr. Who, inquiring minds want to know. Who is your favorite Doctor? (This post is filled with the word “who,” did you notice? It’s everywhere!)

Oh, and here’s my equine therapist. Isn’t she pretty?

His Girl from Nowhere
His Girl from Nowhere
18 thoughts on “Broken Backs and The Doctor”

  1. Tina, I winced when I saw your MRI scan. I have had several fractured vertebrae too so I feel your pain – literally!
    As for Dr Who then I have to say that David Tennant is my favourite too. There is just something about his soulful eyes . . . Nevertheless, I am looking forward to seeing the Doctor’s latest incarnation this Saturday. Peter Capaldi looks as though he will do the Time Lord justice.
    Hope you are on the mend and back on your horse very soon,
    love,
    Jennifer

    1. Yikes on your fractured vertebrae. I have two older ones up in the thoracic area, but I have to say, the lumbar one has been the worst as far as pain, etc. But then again, it was a more severe fracture than the other ones.

      I did sneak onto a horse just the other day, but it was a gaited one–no jarring trots for me yet. i had to use a stepstool to mount up and someone else had to saddle him for me, but I consider that a victory after these past couple of months. Hope neither one of us sees any more of those things!

      I’m looking forward to seeing the newest Doctor as well. Is it okay to admit, I cried at what David Tennant’s Doctor said as he was getting ready to regenerate? Heartbreaking! It’s a genius tool for the show to use, but sad when you get attached and then have to say goodbye.

  2. Hi Tina! Yes, David Tennant is my favourite! Dreamy, as you say. But growing up, my Dr was Tom Baker. Hope you’re not I too much discomfort with your back. Get well soon!

    1. That’s two for David Tennant! I’ve never watched the earlier Dr. Whos, but I’m hearing a lot about Tom Baker, so I may have to go back in time…to catch up on all of them. 🙂 I think David Tennant’s version of Dr. Who was just charming. I do like the way each of them brings something new to the character.

      My back is on the mend, Louisa, so thank you!

        1. Charming…conceited–they both start with the letter “c.” 😉 Okay, I will admit that he had a minuscule amount of conceit. Could that have been part of his charm? Or maybe I couldn’t see past the way he curled his tongue behind his front teeth when he was thinking. Wowsa! I bet that was it.

  3. Ouch, Tina, but at lest you had David Tennant. I’ve never really watched it. I recall as a kid it being on but the moment the music started my parents would change channels!

    1. My advice, Fiona, is don’t start. That show is like candy…I just want to eat and eat and eat until my belly aches. Maybe that’s why your parents were so quick to change the channel. They knew how dangerous it was. 😉

  4. I’m a bit of a Dr Who purist having been raised on the show and seen every one of the old ones about 10 times each. Of course, they’re pretty daggy by today’s standards but man – they were terrifying!

    Consequently I’m not that enamoured with the new ones. I’ve seen a couple and they haven’t done much for me. I think the disturbing thing for me is this whole Dr Who as a sex symbol thing. It was never about that back in the day and I’m fairly certain that’s not just because I was a kid and unaware of that kind of thing. It was about the science and the writing and the world. Dr Who was kind of “asexual” admired by fans for his cleverness.

    But to answer your question, I have to also go for Tom Baker although it is a close call with John Pertwee.

    1. I can see I’m going to have to go back and watch the old Dr. Who episodes, Amy. I’ve heard they’re all kinds of wonderful–but since I’ve only watched the new ones, I can only go by those. So I feel like I’ve missed out! I’ll have to remedy that.

      Tom Baker has two votes now as well, and I’m pretty sure I’ve seen his name on other charts where they were voting on the most popular Dr. Who. Off to explore some of the older seasons. 🙂

  5. Tina.
    I’m so sorry to hear about the back but glad you are recovering. I’m not familiar with Dr. Who but you sure make me want to check the show out. Love the book cover. She is pretty.

  6. Tina, I’ve been sooo worried about you and your back! So relieved that you seem to be mending nicely. Hope you’re 100% very soon!

    I haven’t watched Dr. Who. Not the old and not the new. (And now I’m feeling like Dr. Seuss -ooo!) 🙂 But, since I’m a Dr. Who newbie, which should I watch first?

    Love the eye-catching colors in your cover!

    1. Thanks so much, Robin. My back has been on quite the journey, but it is slowly healing.

      As far as Dr. Who, the first episode I watched was called Blink (it’s the one from the clip above). Once I saw it, I went back and started at the beginning (of the newer shows) and worked my way through to the present season. I really like the way the writers set things up a long time in advance–so two seasons later, you see why such and such groundwork was laid waaaay back when. Some of them are a little bit scary, but I love that kind of stuff.

Leave a Reply

