Harlequin Mills & Boon Medical Romance Novels

Sports Fan Fun, or Sports Fan-atic?

It’s the start of football season in the U.S., and enthusiasm for the sport will dominate much talk among friends and family. Dare I suggest it sometimes can become over-enthusiasm?  🙂

We live in a city with a large university and, until recently, no professional sports teams. People who aren’t from here shake their heads a bit at the non-stop media coverage of college football, and our team in particular. On Saturday game days, stores are half empty as people stay glued to their TVs, and everywhere people are wearing team colors and jerseys.

OSU football

I enjoy watching, but my day isn’t ruined if I have to miss a game.  My husband and three children are all big fans, known to leap up and shout at the television, possibly clutching their hair and stomping around at the same time. Thankfully, though, none of them carry a loss around too long like a few people we know who sulk for days.  Social media lit up with nasty comments when we lost last week, and some of the letters to the newspaper sports editor seem to me to take it all waaay too seriously.  A few years ago, one friend got  so upset he kicked a footstool and broke his foot!

article-2221462-15A0BC9D000005DC-253_634x423
Photo courtesy of Daily Mail Reporter

Of course, Americans love other sports besides football.  I was astonished to recently discover that Denver, Colorado has no fewer than seven professional sports teams playing football, basketball, baseball, soccer, hockey, rugby and lacrosse. Talk about never-ending excitement for fans!

This was the first year my kids and all their friends regularly got together to watch World-Cup Soccer played in Brazil.  Those of you in other countries who’ve loved soccer for years probably can’t imagine that, but it’s been slow to catch on as a spectator sport here.  It’ll be interesting to see how it continues to grow in popularity.

2405917_big-lnd
photo courtesy of FIFA.com

How about you?  Are you a sports fan, and if so, what do you enjoy watching and/or playing?  Do you by chance have a significant other who just might take the fun of fandom a little far and becomes a bit fanatical?  I’d love to hear your stories 🙂

By the way, my next book is titled Flirting with Dr. Off-Sides  (Just kidding! A little sports humor there)  🙂  It’s really titled Flirting With Dr. Off-Limits and it will be coming out on Oct 1st!

Flirting cover

13 thoughts on “Sports Fan Fun, or Sports Fan-atic?”

  1. My dad and I love watching Cardinals baseball. As a matter of fact, when he calls me, he starts every conversation by shouting, “World Series Champions, St. Louis Cardinals!” 🙂

    1. Aw, that’s so cute, Mel! Do you two go to games together? If you did, I bet you miss being able to easily do that since you’re not quite as close to home anymore. Has your hubby embraced Cardinal baseball, too?

  2. Oh, Robin, my family are absolute sports nuts. My hubby is a sports doctor who works with professional teams- rugby, football and basketball (and often tours with them), he also referees college rugby and plays soccer weekly. My two boys play rugby and soccer and cricket and watch all three obsessively (the Brazil world cup this year was wall-to-wall football obsession including trying to find a sports bar on the first day of our recent holiday so we could watch the final; also our country hosted the Rugby world cup three years ago and we went to 8 of the games including the opening and closing ceremonies). Often their conversations go completely over my head…and believe me, there are a lot of conversations. Currently I’m in UK visiting my mum and my boys’ only request was that I bring back a football shirt from their favourite team for each of them.

    Me? Not interested in sport at all 😉

    1. Well, Louisa, it sounds like you have plenty of sports nuts in your house without you having to be one, too! 🙂 You’ve got us waaay beat in the serious sports fanatic department! Sounds like an awful lot of fun to get to be a part of all that. I’m trying to remember if you’ve written about a doctor hero who travels with a professional team….I’d love to read that!

  3. Hi Robin! Cute blog. My husband is a huge baseball and hockey fan. He likes football, too. He loves watching these sports on TV, but if I’m going to watch a game, for instance baseball, I like to see it in person. My husband hails from Massachusetts and is loyal to the Red Sox and Patriots until this day. BUT he loves the Angels, too. It’s pretty funny when the Red Sox and Angel’s play each other. His allegiance reverts back to the home team.
    My father was a crazy sports fan – that’s all he did on weekends was watch (and coach) football games. That’s probably why I turn a deaf ear to football games. I do like an occasional good football movie, though. When the Game Stands Tall was a great one, in my opinion. 🙂
    Love your book cover, and hope it is a huge success!

    1. Sounds like you’re surrounded by sports, too, Lynne! I’m the opposite of you, though. While I enjoy going to the occasional game, I’m definitely a fair-weather fan, and if it’s freezing cold or raining, I’ll watch it on TV, thanks! Though you don’t have that issue much in sunny California, do you? 🙂

      I enjoy sports movies, too. Loved Field of Dreams, Blind Side, and many others but I haven’t seen When the Game Stands Tall – will have to make that happen. Thanks for your well-wishes on my next release!

    1. I’ve watched Aussie Rules Football on the internet, Fiona, and that is one insane sport! How do they not have a player out with an injury in every game? Maybe you Aussie’s are just tougher than most 🙂

  4. Lol Robin. I would rather stick a red hot poker in my eye than watch sport 🙂 The footy season is nearly over here and I can’t freaking wait! thankfully I married a man who can take it or leave it too!
    Although I’ve written 3 books recently that all have jock heroes. Go figure……

    1. Ha, Amy! Maybe you’re writing jock heroes because deep in your heart you’re a sports fan after all, and it beats blinding yourself with a poker…;-)

  5. I’m a soccer fan, Robin…I had to be to survive in Brazil, where that sport is serious business. We also enjoy going to the local high school football games (it’s where my hubby graduated). It’s fun. Sometimes it’s just an excuse to munch on hotdogs rather than having to fix an actual meal. 😉

Leave a Reply

