Harlequin Mills & Boon Medical Romance Novels

What are you thankful for?

thanksgiving2by Susan Carlisle

It is Thanksgiving time in my part of the world. It’s a time of leaves turning and falling, there’s a fire in the fireplace, and most people are thinking about what to serve on Thanksgiving Day. For us it is an important day because we celebrate the survival of the first settlement in the new land that would become the USA. These brave forefathers are called pilgrims. Over 200 years ago these people had a lot to be thankful for and so do I.

Things I’m thankful for:

My family, mother, husband, children, grandchildren, and extended family

The country I live in

The fact I have a roof over my head and food on the tablethanksgiving

My health

My friends

The fact I can choose what I do

My heritage

That I can write stories

That I don’t have to walk to the store which is three miles away

These are just a few things I’m thankful for. What are you thankfully for?

13 thoughts on “What are you thankful for?”

  1. Susan, I am thankful I live in a country where I can go about my business in relative safety. That my children are not being hauled off in the night and forced to join an army. So many of the things I take for granted do not exist in other countries that are war torn or run by violent dictators. I hope you have a lovely Thanksgiving! We always enjoyed the holiday when we lived in WI. One year it even fell on my husband’s birthday:-)

  2. I am grateful for many of the things you mentioned Susan, but today Im particularly grateful I survived the hairiest road trip I have ever made! It was in India where our driver (no visitor to India in their right mind would ever rent a car and attempt to drive it themselves) appeared to think himself a racing driver – one in a car chase in a movie. This in a country where the free way has bullocks wandering across the road, carts pulled by camels with the owner apparently asleep in the back, mopeds carrying up to five passengers, and cars driving the wrong way down the free way. So today I am counting myself blessed to have survived to see another day.
    ps back home in the UK which appears deserted by comparison to India.

  3. Fiona,
    I am grateful for the same things. With three boys of my own I’m glad they are not being drug off to places unknown. Thanksgiving is a wonderful holiday. Easy, slow and a day to reflect.

  4. Annie,
    It does sound like you had a hair raising ride. Glad you had a good trip and are home safely. India must be an amazing place.

  5. I am thankful for all the things you and Fiona mentiioned too, Susan.
    And on our run of hot days I am thankful air-conditioning and a swimming pool!

  6. I’m am thankful for the things you mentioned as well. And the fact that we can fly and see parts of the world that we never dreamed of seeing (this by someone who is afraid of flying, but has done it anyway), and then arrive back in our own familiar little town. I’m happy to live in the modern world, despite its many faults!

    Happy Thanksgiving, Susan!

  7. So many things to be thankful for every single day, aren’t there? I’m thankful for all the things you mentioned, Sue – my family and their good health, living in a comparatively safe and free country, a warm, dry home, a car to get where I want to go. I’m thankful that I can turn on the faucet and have clean water to drink. A washer and dryer to make laundry easy. Eyes that can see and legs that can walk. The list could go on and on, and when I find myself complaining about something utterly unimportant, i try to remind myself of my innumerable blessings!

    And I’m going to be very thankful for the big turkey dinner and delicious food we’ll be sharing with about fifty family members this Thursday! Yum and fun!

  8. Tina,
    It is amazing how far we can go and then be home in no time. One Sunday my children and I were at the service at St. Paul’s in London. The next Sunday morning in our home church my daughter leaned over to me and said, “This is really different from where we were last week.”

  9. Susan, I am thankful for my family and friends, the country I live in and the choices I am free to make – and many other things.

Leave a Reply

