Hot Docs!

Sexy Doctors and Hunky Cowboys! What’s not to love?

Untitled-5Here at Love Is The Best Medicine, we all love our romance with a medical chaser 🙂 We love television medical drama and we love our novels with medical themes. What’s not to love about the tough decisions our braod medical cast– from nurses and doctors to allied health professionals– have to make every day and how they balance it off with trying to have a personal life as well.

So many of the caring professions are so busy caring for others they’re not very good at caring for themselves. I think watching intelligent, talented people struggle to get that part of their life sorted out is a big part of the appeal of medical romance.

I’m super excited because Tuesday Jan 6th is the launch of my new Medicine River series, kicking off with Montana Actually and a fabulous hamper giveaway!  This book is a single-title novel (ie it’s big, 93,000 words) and it features Bear Paw, Montana; a small town nestled under the shadow of the Rocky Mountains. Filled with ranchers, cowboys and a cast of townsfolk, Bear Paw is like most small rural towns in the western world, it has trouble attracting doctors. When Dr. Josh Stanton arrives from Chicago to work and to write down his student-loan debt, he’s convinced he’d going to be welcomed with open arms and a ticker tape parade. It doesn’t quite work out that way!

I matched fish-out-of-water, Josh with Katrina McCade, an almost 30 year-old woman Bachelorbuttonswho has spent the last 8 years living out east. Like Josh, her life hasn’t gone according to her plan and now she’s back home in the heart of her family, struggling to be the independent woman she’s been for years. On top of family expectations, sliding back into her ordinal position with her siblings, and concern for her parents, the last thing she needs on her plate is a clueless, city doctor.

With 93,000 words, I have the luxury of being able to write two romances in the one book 🙂 Beau McCade, Katrina’s elder brother has more reason than most to be the strong, silent cowboy and over the years he’s retreated from the world, preferring to spend more time with the cows and the dogs on the ranch than people. When he meets Shannon, the new diner owner, he finds himself reluctantly needing to get more involved in life off the ranch.

Want to get a taste of the book? Read an excerpt here.

Montana Actually has garnered many positive reviews including a prestigious starred review from Publishers Weekly.
Montana Actually is out in mass market paperback and as an eBook. Where can you grab a copy?

Group of buttonsUSA: Walmart! Book stores and online at Amazon, Barnes and Noble, iBooks,Kobo, Google Play and other online book stores.

Everywhere else: The Book Depository (FREE POSTAGE) ask your local bookshop to order it in (Berkley Sensation an imprint of Penguin ISBN 9780425276952) or all online book stores AmazonBarnes and NobleiBooks,Kobo, Google Play and in Australia Booktopia.

Unknown-11To celebrate the launch of Montana Actually, I’m giving away a gift pack of Huckleberry products (USA & Canadian residents only, sorry!)

Huckleberries grow wild near Glacier National Park where the book is set. So if you’d like a chance to win some huckleberry lotion, pancake mix, syrup, Glacier County honey, Montana coffee and a great souvenir bag, along with a copy of Montana writing mate, Kari Lynn Dell’s debut novel, The Long Ride, then head on over to my Facebook page to enter!

Mountains feature a lot in this book. Do you have a favorite mountain?

The blurb for Montana Actually says… Passion burns under the bold Montana sky, but

9780425276952_Montana_Actually_CV_PROOFfalling in love doesn’t come easy…

City doctor Josh Stanton and his sports car don’t suit the country but with his medical school debt about the bury him, Josh has to make the best of a bad situation. Adjusting to his new job and life in the middle of nowhere isn’t easy, but at least the views of the mountains –and one distractingly attractive local–are stunning…

After eight years away, Katrina McCade is back in Bear Paw for a break from her life, bad choices–and men. But when a broad-shouldered stranger bursts into town, she finds herself unexpectedly saddled with the town’s sexy new doctor as a tenant. Katrina doesn’t need a man to make her happy, especially a disgruntled physician. But try telling her body that…

“A keeper. It made me laugh. I loved each character and wish I coud vist Bear Paw.” Catherine Anderson, New York Times bestselling author of Silver Thaw.

18 thoughts on “Sexy Doctors and Hunky Cowboys! What’s not to love?”

  1. Yay Fiona! The book is finally out, and just this morning I received an e-mail from Amazon that my print copy is in the mail.
    I have yet to visit Montana – but have been to Wyoming and it was a gorgeous state. I love the Rockies, and have traveled all along the Canadian side of them. Of course here in California, my favorite mountains are in Yosemite – Half Dome and El Capitan. Our world is beautiful, and I’m sure you’re feeling that way with your new book releasing with great reviews. Can’t wait to read it.
    Congratulations!

    1. Thanks so much, Lynne! The Canadian Rockies are truly specatacular and of course Glacier Nat Park in Montana borders Canadian National Park of Waterton. I also LOVE the Grand Tetons! There is something about mountains that call to me.

  2. Fiona,
    I love the cover and the story. I’ve been to Montana and it is a beautiful place. I look forward to reading Montana Actually and remembering my visit there. Cowboys, doctors and amazing scenery, what’s not to love?

  3. I was born in the Canadian Rockies and my favorite mountain is Turtle Mountain and the Frank Slide. I’ve climbed to the top of it a couple of times. I love Waterton-Glacier International Peace Park but I don’t get to the Montana side anymore as I don’t have a passport. I think one of my favorite drives is Going to the Sun Highway. I can name a least a dozen highways through or by mountains that are awesome trips.

    I’ll have to keep an eye out for this book. It sounds like a great story or two.

    1. Kaelee, the Going to the Sun Road features in Montana Actually! The whole area is divine and if you have Waterton Park you don’t need to cross the border! You should be able to find Montana Actually in Chapters in Canada and Canadian Walmart.

  4. Congratuations, Fiona! I have an uncle who lives in Butte, but I’ve never gotten to go see him there. My dad used to travel up there every year to visit. He said it’s gorgeous and would move there in a heartbeat, if not for the winters (although he’s originally from Idaho, which gets pretty chilly too).

    Can’t wait to read your book! And as soon as I turn in my revisions, that’s what I’ll be doing.

  5. The book looks fab Fiona – loved the excerpt! Made me wish for more. NOW! So I’ll be a happy camper when it lands on my iPad.

    I love to look at moutains but never feel the urge to climb/conquer them. I have a very nice moutain veiw out my office window but it is Australia so this mountain would probably only be calssed as a hill by internatonal standards. I loved the craggy mountains of the Amalfi coast in Italy. It probably had more to do with being able to look up at them from my sun-drenched, flower-edged balcony than anything else but they are towering and quite jagged looking along the ridges. We did go up to Ravello in the mountains for a look around – spectacular.

  6. Congratulations on your release, Fiona! I’ve ordered it, and can’t wait to read it!

    This conversation is making me crave a trip to the mountains. I’m like you – mountains call to me also, and my husband and I are planning to retire to a mountain area – but deciding on which one is a serious dilemma! My son is going to school in Boulder, Colorado, which is beautiful and a good excuse to visit that area. 🙂 I absolutely love Yosemite, and my family intends to climb Half Dome next time we go (leaving me at the base, I think!). The Tetons are spectacular, and there are so many amazing mountains I haven’t seen just here in North America, let alone elsewhere in the world. *sigh* Not enough time to do it all, but I’m excited to visit Montana through your book!

  7. Congratulations, Fiona, I know you love this book and after reading your blog I know we all will love it too. Living in South Australia I don’t have a favourite local mountain (only hills 🙂 which are on fire at the moment 😦 ) but my South African heritage means Table Mountain in Cape Town is special to me, closely followed by the Drakensberg Mountains.

Leave a Reply

