Harlequin Mills & Boon Medical Romance Novels

The best resolution I ever kept by Kate Hardy

kate hardy author pic 5 x 4 jan 2014As my next release just happens to involve sports medicine, I thought I’d talk today about something my heroine does… a daily session in the gym before her shift.

It’s something I do, too.

And it wasn’t actually a new year’s resolution – it all started nearly three years ago when I wrote The Brooding Doc’s Redemption, about a GP who gets some of her patients to adopt a healthier lifestyle. I’m a bit of a hands-on research person, so I thought the best thing I could do was to try out some of the things she encourages her patients to do… and that included going to the gym.

So picture me – middle-aged and flabby, having not done any real regular exercise since before I had my teenagers – plucking up the nerve to go to a gym.

The deputy manager was utterly lovely – she didn’t make me feel out of place in the slightest, was totally encouraging as she showed me round, and that gave me the confidence to sign up. Especially as the gym was right next door to school, I could fit it into my life and I had no excuses to drop out. Better still, my gym membership gave me two personal training sessions a week, so I had someone to motivate me and make sure my form was right while I did the exercises.

And I discovered that the gym wasn’t just about the physical side. It’s done wonders for my mental health, too. After I drop the teens at school/sixth form, I go straight to the gym, do my workout, and then when I get home it’s laundry, coffee, breakfast and my head is in the right place to work.

My trainer has done me an awesome programme, too. I’m still not thin (which is really annoying – even though I eat sensibly and exercise hard, I have insulin resistance so every few ounces off is a struggle, and it only takes one weekend to do about a month’s worth of damage) but I’m definitely a lot fitter. I have an intense cardio programme which I do twice a week with a trainer – it’s an ‘accumulator’ programme, with each exercise lasting 45 seconds, so it’s handy to have someone to wield a stopwatch and tell me which exercise comes next. I also have an upper-body weights session, a lower body and kettlebells session, and a cardio-and-weights session which involves 20 reps of a weights exercise followed by 2 minutes of cardio (and there are four of those within each set).

And, just to prove I’m not just all talk – this is what my little corner in the back room looks like on the cardio-and-weights day – barbells, a step, a skipping rope and kettlebells (and yes, that is indeed Kate Lardy in the mirror…).

jan weights 1Joining the gym has been the best decision I’ve ever made. It’s given me back my confidence, it’s improved my energy levels, I’m strong… and my shape has changed enough for my youngest teen to say that I look way thinner than I do in the video from her toddler years (and she was shocked to discover that currently I still weigh a good 14 lbs more than I did back then!). And I’ve stuck to my resolution to keep up the good work and improve my fitness week by week.

What’s the best resolution you’ve ever kept?

baby to heal their heartsKate’s latest release is A Baby to Heal their Hearts, the follow-up to It Started With No Strings (so if you liked Joni’s best friend Bailey, this is her story!). You can find out more about the book, and Kate, on her website (http://www.katehardy.com/) and her blog (http://katehardy.blogspot.com/) – or find her on Facebook 

18 thoughts on “The best resolution I ever kept by Kate Hardy”

  1. I am soooo proud of you Kate. You’re looking amazing.From someone who knows how hard it is to lose and so easy to put on I am in total awe of your commitment!
    You rock!
    Sadly fitness rsolutions never last long with me. I’ve learned not to make them…..

  2. Wow, Kate, you’ve done brilliantly! What a great decision! Unfortunately I’m like Amy- I never keep to resolutions! I’d love to. I made 3 this year and already one is falling by the way side. In my defence it’s summer school holidays here so routine goes out of the window. If my new year started in February I’m sure I’d do a lot better! (Yeah, yeah…excuses, excuses ;-))

  3. I’ve said it before and I’ll say it again – you’re an inspiration, Kate Hardy! Go you, and A Baby to Heal their Hearts looks awesome.
    The best thing I’ve done in a long time is join Weight Watchers (November 2013) BEFORE the holidays. I lost the weight I’d slowly gained over 9 years in five months, and I am still within my goal weight (give or take 2 pounds). I’m glad I stuck with it.

  4. Kate, you’re an inspiration, and meeting you at AMBA a year past September made me determined to get fit too. I live in the sticks, so I bought a Jillian Michaels DVD and became hooked. Several more DVDs and a huge amount of effort later, I look forward to working out, I’ve got abs and I’m determined to keep them. So thank you for helping me with the kick star.

  5. Katie,
    You are such an inspiration! I’m so bad at keeping resolutions that I don’t even make them. I do better when I get mad, grit my teeth and say ‘things have to change today.’ I love to swim so I go to the pool year round. I like to take classes. I always feel good after I’ve worked out.

  6. You are definitely an inspiration, Kate! I’ve been trying to figure out how to get back into a work-out routine, which completely fell off my radar last summer. You’ve reminded me that, long ago, when I used to drop my kids off at school I stopped at the gym for a class three days a week. I’m now driving my youngest to school a couple days a week (long story, but the other days he takes the bus) and I’ve realized that would be the perfect time to just head straight to the gym again. So thanks for that – I’m going to do it this week!

    As for the best resolution I ever made and stuck to, it came in 2012 when I decided I had to either quit messing around with writing, or work harder to produce and submit more work. I told myself that if I didn’t have a positive sign at the end of the year, I’d give it up. That summer I got representation from a literary agent, and sold to Harlequin Mills & Boon the following spring. Guess I need a big follow-up resolution for this year! 🙂

  7. Kate, you never fail to amaze me with your commitment to everything, but most particularly this which is my personal guaranteed-to-fail NY resolution! And yes, guess what it was this year, and guess what’s happened? Yup. Nothing! But this might have given me the kick I need to rejoin the gym and get my lardy behind off the sofa and into shape, so thank you, for that and for a million other ways in which you inspire me to be better. You’re a star!

  8. I do an hour long yin yoga class if I can fit it in, and half an hour walking or treadmill most days. I’m still no skinny Minnie and I have to work around a shift rotation which has me starting at six in the morning some weeks and eleven at night on other weeks. I took this weeks graveyards off to write! But I can run around ER (5 miles some nights

    1. Ok, I don’t know why it kicked me out and made me log in there but I’ll just say I’m much fitter and can do more because of my exercise. I’m thinking I should add in a couple of cardio though and I really would love to be skinnier.

  9. Kate, as others have said, you are truly an inspiration. The best resolution I’ve ever made was to start running again. I had to stop when I hurt my back last year, but I’m slowly working my way back up to it again. I always feel so good after I’ve worked out!

  10. Having tested your impressively honed muscles ( this was done during a session where some of us authors were having morning coffee in a “very” up-market London hotel!) I can vouch for the fact that your exercise routine is paying dividends. Well done, Kate, for sticking to it.
    Jennifer.

  11. Thanks, all – and it’s been nice being able to pay it forward and encourage a couple of my other friends (some local, some thousands of miles away!) to give it a go… and it’s been nice seeing the changes in them, too. (Jennifer, I’m still grinning about that one. I also lifted editor Jo off her feet and made her squeak – hilarious, as she’s so much taller than I am!)

  12. Kate – I feel like eating a huge slice of humble pie! Every day? AMAZING. I have just managed to do a three-day-in-a-row and woke up trying to talk myself out of day number four. I shall do the Kate-Hardy-Hallelujah every day I make it to the gym. My best resolution was making three new recipes a week. I have a wall (a WALL!) of cookbooks I was barely cracking open and that seemed stupid. So – each week – I challenged myself to making three new recipes. Not too daunting in that sometimes the recipe could be a new bolognese or learning how to make mayonnaise (something my neighbour can do but eludes me to this day) or using a vegetable in a new way. You’re a champ. Truly. Bodies are very rude in not losing the weight asked of them immediately – but I have a feeling you will soon think of yourself as Kate Hardly-there and banish Kate Lardy to the land of Nevermore. xx Annie O’

Leave a Reply

