Harlequin Mills & Boon Medical Romance Novels

I Am In the Depths of Despair by Amy Andrews (via L M Montgomery)

Yesterday the world learned the news that Jonathan Crombie, the man who was Gilbert Blythe to so many of us died a few days ago aged 48! from a brain haemorrhage.

The news saddened me. So young to die. Just a few years older than me. His family must be reeling. So terribly, terribly tragic. I don’t even have words for that….

annegilbert

I do want to say though that he leaves behind a wonderful legacy.

Gilbert Blythe was my first literary crush and IMHO the original beta hero and Jonathan Crombie seemed to personify the very spirit of the boy Lucy Maud Montgomery wrote all those years ago. When she gave us Gilbert, she ruined many of us for all other men and Jonathan brought him to life so perfectly.

Today I feel like I’ve lost a friend. A little piece of my childhood.

Jonathan Crombie was a talented actor who went on to do many things but it is for Gilbert Blythe that he will be remembered most.

He will always be Gilbert to me.

RIP.

13 thoughts on “I Am In the Depths of Despair by Amy Andrews (via L M Montgomery)”

  1. Oh, AA I’m so sorry you’re hurting. Sending hugs. (I have to confess to never having seen any of Anne of GG…and didn’t know who Gilbert Blythe was until your post- but 48 is very young to die and it is very tragic). xxxx

    1. Thanks Louisa. I can’t believe you don’t know Gilbert Blythe! The ultimate hero – not a tat, a man bun or a motorcycle in sight 😉 He loved Anne because she was *smart* and never felt intimidated or emasculated by it. Gave smart little girls everywhere hope that there were guys who looked beyond a pretty face 🙂

      If you want to know the love for him and the GG books/TV take a peek at the #gilbertblythe hashtag on twitter – the outpouring has been so heartfelt.

  2. It always amazes me how an actor can make a character come alive and become that character. He did leave a wonderful legacy. His family can be proud.

  3. Agree that Gilbert Blythe was a big part of my growing up (my grandmother bought the books for me) and he so embodied the role. My friend and I watched that version over and over again as teenagers. Probably my first “romance” along with Pride and Prejudice.

  4. Okay, now that Louisa has admitted to not knowing Gilbert Blythe I will put my hand up and same “Same”. Now I’ll have to go find a copy of that version A of GG and watch it.

    1. lol – must be an NZ thing Sue 😉 The TV was wonderful. Happy sigh…. and the books. Read A of GG 3 times when I was a kid!

Leave a Reply

