Harlequin Mills & Boon Medical Romance Novels

Accents

The most recent Time Out Global Dating Survey questioned over 11,000 people in 24 cities around the world and asked them, ‘What is the most romantic accent?’ The resounding and overriding answer was the British accent.

Now, it wasn’t made clear as to which British accent they referred, but I’m assuming they meant the traditional RP (Received pronunciation) that you hear in movies, usually voiced by the British villain of the piece. Refined, classic, educated. Think Tom Hiddleston as Loki (Avengers Assemble). Alan Rickman as Snape (Harry Potter). Benedict Cumberbatch as Khan (Star Trek:Into Darkness). Look at this lovely advert, The Art of Villainy by Jaguar:

But, as we all know, there are many UK accents, as discussed in this clip below (QI) The discussion about the perception of accents begins about 4:15 but the whole thing is funny if you want to have a laugh. (Hosted by Stephen Fry, Guests Alan Davies, David Mitchell, Sandi Toksvig and Rob Brydon)

The poor Brummies (Birmingham) don’t come out of it very well! I like lots of different UK accents. And worldwide, too.

In our romance stories, we often have heroes with pronounced accents – sheikhs, Italians, Greeks always seem to be on the shelves. So what do you think? What is your favourite accent? UK or otherwise?

Louisa Heaton’s most recent release is His Perfect Bride? (Out now)

9780373070367

15 thoughts on “Accents”

  1. This isn’t really an answer about acccents per se, thinking about the question I realise it’s the voice I go for! Matthew McFadyen is my current favourite – he’s from Norfolk apparently 🙂 so i guess I mark that down as British 😉
    I enjoyed the Aussie humour in the clip too 🙂

  2. I have a very strong Northern Ireland accent myself so that one goes straight to the bottom of the pile. Give me a good Scottish lilt instead 🙂

    1. I guess my preference lies in Edinburgh since that’s where my current hero is from. 😀

      The Texan drawl is also known to make me weak at the knees…

  3. I love almost any accent. British and Australian catch my ear anytime. With a strong southern American accent the only thing I hate is that some people think that because I speak slow that I think slow. It’s nice to surprise them.

  4. I love all UK accents, although I have to confess I sometimes turn the subtitles on for shows like Life On Mars or Gavin and Stacey. 🙂 Once I start to stray away from “Received Pronunciation” the combination of accent and slang together can really trip me up!

    Of course sometimes I wish I could turn the subtitles in for my Southern (USA) relatives as well. 🙂

    1. I tend to always embarrass myself around people with accents. I start speaking with THEIR accent. I don’t do it on purpose, it just happens and I stand there, hoping they hadn’t noticed!

  5. I freaking LOVE a British accent of the Richard Armitage variety. Just twangs my ovaries. A spanish accent is quite sexy too.

    Also love QI – its on every night here and I try to catch it as often as I can.

  6. I love accents. Almost any kind of accents. I love the slow deep drawl from the south of the United States. Spanish (I always loved Antonio Banderas’s accent). Portuguese (thinking of Joaquim de Almeida). Too many to name, really!

Leave a Reply

