Harlequin Mills & Boon Medical Romance Novels

My name is Scarlet and I’m a bookaholic

It’s official.  I have a serious problem.  I can’t stop buying books.  At the beginning of every month I tell myself I can’t buy any books at all.  For this month?  I’ve bought another thirteen.  Here is the evidence.

I just can’t stop.  This photo doesn’t even include the series romance books which are under the bed.  At one point I had a few hundred.  I’m now down to around 25.

IMG_0976

I’ll put my hands up and say I am a very quick reader.  I can read a series romance book in around one and a half hours.  An ordinary fiction book in just under three.  I was on a train journey recently between London and Glasgow, it takes four and a half hours and I read three books on the way there and four books on the way back (two were novellas).

It also goes without saying that we are not going to discuss my kindle purchases.  What you can’t see – you can’t give me into trouble for.

I can also read anywhere and on anything.  I read on my phone in the car while I’m waiting to pick up my kids from a variety of venues.  I read on my kindle and my iPad whenever I find five minutes and I generally have more than one book on the go at once.

I’m a big reader of YA books and am absolutely loving what’s out there right now.  So forgive me if I give you some recommendations: The Girl with All the Gifts by MR Carey (this guy writes marvel comics, this is one of the most original books I’ve ever read and the writer wrote the screenplay for the film at the same time as the book), Waiting for April by Jaime Loren, a kind of timeslip YA and Pieces of You by Ella Harper, this one isn’t a YA but just won the contemporary romance at the RNA awards.  I wept for on the train when reading this one and think I terrified the man sitting next to me.

So, I’m scared to ask but does anyone have any book recommendations?

9 thoughts on “My name is Scarlet and I’m a bookaholic”

  1. I have the exact same problem – but without quite the speedy skill base. I can wholly recommend We Are All Completely Beside Ourselves – especially if you want to cry on the train again. Or The Lacuna (or anything by Barbara Kingsolver) LOVE her….am swan diving into a whole new sea of books this week and have a lingual flight ahead of me next week so will take recommendations as well! I think Pieces of You will go into the mix. Enjoy your addiction!

  2. Scarlet.
    I’m jealous that you can read so fast. I’m better than I used to be but not as good as I wish. I have to put my hand up and say I’m a bookaholic also. I have piles beside my bed that are waiting to be read.

  3. I read insanely fast too and am also an insomniac, so I get through a lot of books. One thing though – I am almost exclusively an e-reader. I just don’t have any more room for print books.

    1. I don’t have room either Avril, that’s why this is such a problem! Every few weeks I visit Barnardos with a large bag of books!

  4. You and me both, girlfriend. I have so many books I don’t know where to start…so I generally take something off the top and the poor books at the bottom of the pile never see the light of day. And as for the kindle…230 unread and counting…
    Somebody recommended We Are All Completely Beside Ourselves yesterday too- so now that’s two people saying it’s good…I need to buy!

    Just finished a glom of Liane Moriarty books – SO GOOD. Big Little Lies (although i think it’s called something else in UK- Big Lies? Big White Lies?), What Alice Forgot and The Husband’s Secret…all brilliant! I’m now mid-way through Sarah Morgan’s First Time In Forever…and she always delivers beautifully.

Leave a Reply

