Harlequin Mills & Boon Medical Romance Novels

Springtime Flowers!

Most people enjoy the beauty of flowers all year long, and I’m certainly one of them! The flowers of springtime, though? They’re my favorite, and I’m guessing many of you feel the same way.  Probably because we’re more than ready for some color after the winter landscape, along with the promise of longer days and warmer temperatures.  And, hopefully, some relaxed and lazy summer fun ahead as well!

This is a picture of one of my Korean lilacs, currently in bloom here in the Midwest US. They stay shrub-like, in comparison to many other lilacs that get tall and woody. They’re so pretty and, like all lilacs, smell wonderful!  Any lilac lovers out there?  Do you have a favorite variety?

Lilacs

These, I believe, are Snowdrops. The flowers look a lot like Lily of the Valley but are quite a big larger, with pretty little dabs of green at the flutes, and the plants grow in sizable clumps. If I’m wrong about the name, please tell me!

Snowdrops

This spring is bittersweet for me.  I lost my mother, a master gardener, just a few weeks ago.  She had a long and good life but despite being at peace with her passing, I don’t need to tell you that I’m feeling a pretty big hole in my heart right now.

She loved springtime and was looking forward to its arrival. Here is a photo of her from a number of years ago with the first blooms of spring in her garden – Trilliums and Forget-Me-Nots. This section of her garden is a lot more fully grown and green these days, with more springtime plants – Jack-in-the-Pulpit and Solomon’s Seal – surrounding it.

MomWithTrilliums

And here’s a bouquet I just cut of the gorgeous tree peony she’s had for many years, and which was one of the few flowers my dad cared to notice, taking the massive blooms to his office for everyone to admire.  He didn’t have much interest in flowers or gardening, but was always willing to dig holes for her – he liked to joke that she’d buy a $10 plant but expected a $50 hole  🙂

tree peony

In my upcoming June release, HER GREEK DOCTOR’S PROPOSAL, I only briefly mention flowers because it’s set in hot, arid, Delphi, Greece! The story features an archaeologist heroine and a doctor hero newly returned to his hometown.  My family and I were blessed to enjoy a wonderful trip to Greece and Delphi last summer, and while there are flowers here and there that manage to thrive in the rocky soil and high temps, it’s the amazing mountains, dazzling gulf waters, and deep history there that are most impressive. I hope you enjoy the story. 🙂

GreekDocCover

So, is there a special spring flower you love to see or grow?  Or someone or something personally meaningful to you about springtime?  I’d love to hear about it!

8 thoughts on “Springtime Flowers!”

  1. So sorry to hear about your mother’s passing. I love lilacs too, but it’s too hot in DC to grow good ones.

    I love all the spring bulbs but especially tulips! They can be elegant or colorful, depending on the planting scheme.

    1. I love tulips too, Jill – unfortunately, so do the deer! We live in a wooded area, and we have quite a few of the animals. I’ve pretty much given up planting tulips, as well as a number of other things they particularly relish. Now I try to plant things they don’t prefer, so we can live peacefully together 🙂

      Thank you for your condolences – I appreciate your stopping by! xoxo

  2. So sorry to hear that you have lost your mother, Robin. I hope that the beautiful flowers she planted are a comfort to you.

    Like you, I love all the spring flowers – they seem to mean so much more after grey winter days. Snowdrops and bluebells are firm favourites for me, along with daffodils. It just doesn’t seem like springtime without a few daffs!

    1. I so agree! I adore daffodils, and have a lot of them. As I mentioned to Jill, tulips are wonderful flowers that really represent spring, too, but the deer gobble them down at my house, so I’m happy they don’t eat the daffs. 🙂

      You’re right that transplanting some of my mother’s flowers has been therapeutic for me, bringing a little of something she loved home with me. xoxo

  3. So sorry about your mum, Robin. I absolutely adore peonies, but my favourite spring flower is the daffodil. And irises for winter as my dad grew them commercially and there are lots of memories attached to them. It is great you’ve got these flowers as wonderful memories of your mum.

    1. Thank you, Sue. How interesting that your dad grew irises commercially! Did he work for a nursery company, or did he have his own business? And did he grow them to sell as flowers, or as plants for gardeners?
      I’ve always wanted to know more about how the commercial flower industry works – how tricky it would be to grow them, ship them at the exact right time, etc. Hmm….I think I see some research for a book on the subject in my future!

      1. He had his own business selling the flowers throughout NZ and overseas, Robin. and I grew up working in the gardens in school holidays. Absolutely loved it, picking, bundling and packing the flowers, planting bulbs after spending hours cleaning and separating them. I wanted to work with him when I left school but my mum wasn’t in favour of that, saying I needed to get out into the world. Probably not silly, but …

Leave a Reply

