Harlequin Mills & Boon Medical Romance Novels

Milestones by Kate Hardy

We’ve have some big milestones in our house, this month (technically, we’re in between them, but parties are easier at weekends). Our son turned 18 a few days ago, and my husband turns 50 this week.

So naturally we needed some celebration cakes. The first was a joint one to go with a posh dinner party at a local hotel – and because they do archery together every other weekend, I thought it’d be a nice idea to do an archery cake for them. 1850 02 cake 02

The second was son’s party with his sixth-form friends. He wants to do a chemistry degree, so it was obvious what the theme of his cake would be. (The bits around the cake said ‘Happy Eighteenth Birthday’ – all done using symbols from the periodic table!)

1850 01

And finally, because my husband loves going to watch the motorcycle racing… his was an obvious one, too 🙂

P1130607

Whenever I throw a party, I tend to do the catering – and the two things people always ask me to make (and in fact ask me to make extra so they can take a doggy bag home) are cheese stars and choc chip cookies. (So – 120 cheese stars and 70 cookies, made at 6am Sunday morning…)

P1130613

That’s before the hordes got to them. (I’ve given up trying to hide them until all the food’s ready. They vanish regardless!) Even my daughter, who hates cheese, loves the stars. So I thought I’d share the recipe.

  • 8 oz (225g) butter
  • 8 oz (225g) Gouda cheese (grated)
  • 2 egg yolks
  • Salt
  • Paprika
  • 8 oz (225g) plain flour

Beat the butter until creamy.

Gradually add the cheese, the egg yolks, salt and paprika to taste, then work in the flour (it’s easiest to do this with your hands!).

When the mixture is well blended, wrap in foil and put in the fridge for an hour. (Don’t leave it any longer or it’ll be too hard to work with.)

Knead lightly and roll out on a floured surface until 0.5cm thick. Cut out stars (or other shapes) and place on a baking sheet lined with foil, 3cm apart.

Bake in a hot oven (200 degrees C/gas mark 6) for 10 minutes or until beginning to colour. Cool on a rack.

Enjoy!

Do you have a favourite recipe for your celebrations?

13 thoughts on “Milestones by Kate Hardy”

  1. Hi Kate! Huge congratulations to the two important men in your life on reaching their milestones. And congratulations to you too for making them those gorgeous cakes. Such talent! I wish I had a recipe to share but I really don’t enjoy coking that much. I’m a wonderful eater/taster of new recipes, though, so do bear that in mind!

    1. I can’t take the credit for making the cakes! I have a friend who’s incredibly talented (her wedding cakes are amazing) and she does all my ‘special’ cakes 🙂

      And I’m always looking for taste testers…

  2. Two cake fountains?! Although I shouldn’t be surprised, as this is someone who would wear a tiara on the train (don’t ask!). Sounds like a fabulous celebration, and I know you bust a gut to do it, so well done to you. Now put your feet up!
    Fav recipe? Summer Strawberry Cake. Make 2 fatless sponges, slice them through the middle, sandwich them together with whipped double cream combined with pureed strawbs, more of the cream over the outside, decorate with strawberry slices or fans. Yum. Quantities depend on how big you want it and how piggy you are. It’s good cake! And of course it needs eating up because the cream will go off, so there’s a good reason to dive in head-first!

    1. I got talked down from four 😉 (And I’m not going to live that tiara down, am I?) Cke sounds fantastic – I’d never thought of mixing pureed strawberries with cream. Hmmmm. (We had marshmallow and strawberry kebabs as one of the puddings yesterday.) As for how piggy I can be – you’ve eaten enough cake with me over the years to know that! 🙂

  3. YUM! I make doughnuts (krispy kreme style) on New Year’s Day. For brunch. We have bacon sandwiches, buck’s fizz (natch) and doughnuts. That’s my big party trick. Strawberry cake sounds relish! OH! And how could I forget – after I ruined the Christmas Strawberry Cheesecake (my springform sprung a bit too early) – we have chocolate chip cookie ice cream sandwiches. New tradition. And highly recommended. (NY Times chocolate chip cookie recipe with ice cream flavour of your choice. If you must – also steal a few spoonfuls of your father-in-law’s specially bought in from Waitrose Christmas Pudding).

  4. Katie,
    You have been busy. But fun times. Each of my children (4) have special dishes they expect on their birthdays. Red Velvet Cake for one, Strawberry pie for another and two like blueberry delight. Thanks for the recipe. I will be trying it.

  5. Yum! I’ll be trying out your cheese stars recipe, Katie. TY & congrats on your gents’ birthdays. 🙂 I have a few recipes posted on my blog for apple crisp and flank steak, both are family favorites and easy peasy.

  6. Have to say I used to be partial to a scrummy lemon meringue pie. Now I tend to always do fresh strawberries, mixed with broken meringues and clotted cream. But it’s healthy because it’s got fruit in it!

  7. Love those cakes, Kate. Our daughter turned 30 ten days ago and as she’s pregnant celebrating was low key BUT I had to make the chocolate brownie. It’s not an event without that.

  8. What spectacular cakes! Looks like one fun celebration 🙂 The cheese star recipe looks yummy – definitely am going to try it, so thanks for sharing! 🙂

Leave a Reply

