Harlequin Mills & Boon Medical Romance Novels

Why I love winter …

There are many reasons why I love winter … the first is my wardrobe.  My biggest clothing investments are for the colder weather (yes clothes are an investment… in happiness for a shopaholic).  I can buy new winter boots, jackets and tops and then layer to my heart’s content.

Unknown-2

Hearty soups and lamb roasts are also another reason to love winter.  Pea and ham or roasted pumpkin soup have little or no appeal on a hot summer night. images

Would Naomi Watts have turned down a date with Tom Cruise for a tuna salad in summer? No it had to be Mum’s lamb roast on a winter night that tipped the scales.  (https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=Tt1YV9Bj72c)

images-1

And few could resist staying inside on a cold winter day all snuggly on the sofa with a blanket, a dog… and a hot chocolate (or a block of chocolate).

images-3

Not to mention that layered winter clothing helps to mask the results from staying on the sofa with said block of chocolate!   So for these reasons winter comes up trumps for me. In my December 2015 Medical Romance, A Mummy to Make Christmas, my heroine Phoebe leaves behind winter (and a cheating fiancé) to work in Australia and she is more than happy to leave the snow (and the cad) behind and bask under the hot summer sun. What is your favorite season?

8 thoughts on “Why I love winter …”

  1. I’d love winter too if I rocked a pair of books like you do Ms Hampton! 🙂

    I used to love summer because I hate being cold. But as I get older I dont mind it so much anymore 😉 I think I’d have to go for Spring or Autumn because of the more temperate weather. We dont get a real Autumm where I live so no trees changing colour but the Jacarands come out in Spring and I LOVE it.

  2. Thanks Amy, but I think you would totally rock boots! I do agree that Autumn and Spring temperatures are kinder …and the scenery is beautiful too. I’ve never been in winter cold enough for snow so our winter is quite mild… but still cold enough to encourage me to stay inside with chocolate! 🙂

  3. Hi Fiona, we just finished a lamb roast tonight too. Looking forward to catching up with you in August – I’ll be sure to pack boots! I can’t believe how quickly the time has passed since the last RWA conference in Sydney! I had so much fun I couldn’t miss Melbourne. 🙂

  4. Susanne,
    I love the thoughts of cool weather. In my part of the world it is HOT! Summer isn’t truly here yet either. I do love cold nights with a fire burning, a hot cup of tea and a good book. Chocolate doesn’t hurt with it either. You have me looking forward to fall and winter just five months away for me.

    1. Even though I do love winter, I think I will be looking forward to summer (or a trip to your part of the world) after a few months of cold mornings … I left out the one thing I don’t like about winter is climbing from a warm bed! 🙂

  5. I love ’em all! But the chocolate/sofa/dog/boots/fire scenario is my idea of heaven. Weirdo that I am, I don’t like (gasp!) lamb…but we do a cracker of a beef stew w/ the fluffiest/crunchiest yorkshire puddings ever….and when it snows (which isn’t very much)….bliss! I also love Christmas to bits. LOVE. IT. It eats my heart alive. I start baking cookies and playing really dorky seasonal films as soon as poss. We are in the throes of summer right now – so I don’t want to wish it away before we get the hay in!

  6. That sounds wonderful. I’ve never had a Yorkshire pudding … must try making some with a beef stew. I think might be on the menu next weekend… first I’ll have to google how to make it! 🙂

Leave a Reply

