Harlequin Mills & Boon Medical Romance Novels

Spring is for planting

Spring has arrived, bringing fierce wind, light snow and sunshine. Over the last couple of weeks here in the Sounds our temperatures have yoyo-ed between one and twenty two. But the blossom is out on the fruit trees which hopefully means – as long as the wind isn’t too cruel – peaches, nectarines and plums in summer.

I love spring. It’s so full of promise for summer and new life. Lambs abound in the paddocks I pass on my way into town, daffodils nod their yellow heads under trees and in gardens and even in random places that have me wondering how those bulbs got there.

At our  place spring also means getting the vegetable garden organised. This used to be my job and I enjoy vegetable gardening. While I love flowers, actually making and maintaining a flowerbed is beyond me. Give me a packet of vegetable seeds and you’ll get a salad, give me flower plants and you’ll get a dried arrangement.

But a few years back my DB took over the vege patch and I have to say he’s better than me. That could be because he’s happy to spend hours digging and turning soil and adding wonderful fertilisers like fish carcasses!!! Like I mean, am I going to do that and then have to keep digging the smelly, rotting stuff over? Have to admit though, the results are amazing. IMG_6150

This is one of three areas where our vegetables will grow. Already the broad beans are in, the garlic’s been in since June and is growing well. I’ve seen trays of broccoli waiting to be planted out. Peas, beans, lettuce, zucchini, carrots, beet, peppers, onions, you name it, will all go in. Oh, and the spuds. At the moment they’re sprouting in egg cartons on the window sills of the spare bedrooms! Yes, well, what can I say?

And then there’s the glasshouse.

IMG_6154

Here come the tomatoes. This space will soon be full of enormous tomato plants.

Then my job starts. I make pasta sauce from here to Africa, and passata, soup, relish, tomato sauce, tomato paste, etc. I love this part.

For me this is what makes spring and then summer special. I never get tired of all those fresh vegetables and there’s nothing like going outside to pick or pull whatever I chose for dinner. Beats going to the supermarket any day.

What does spring mean for you?

10 thoughts on “Spring is for planting”

  1. Spring means milder weather to me. It means mulberries on our tree and our Jacarandas blooming. Which is about as green thumb as I get 🙂 It also means Christmas is coming…..

    ps – can I come to your house for dinner some time?

    1. Any time you like, Amy. I’ll have the wine cooling. And yes, Christmas coming is another reason to be happy about spring turning up.

  2. Aw…Sue. I’m in another part of the world and getting ready to see the leaves turn and the weather turn cold. You have me longing for a fresh tomato. Please think of me when you eat your first one. I will be so envious. It will be the middle of the winter for me and I will still have months to wait on my next fresh one.

  3. Oh, so jealous of your veggie plot- ours is still full of weeds and needs turning over before we get near planting. I love spring, I love the warm rays and wearing fewer layers. But I can’t until summer! (I love me a good hot summer) xx

  4. I’m going to enjoy spring first, and then make the most of summer. The water is tempting me to put the kayak in but as I haven’t got a wetsuit I know I’d freeze so yes, summer will help with that.

  5. Spring means better weather! Vast open skies of pure blue, blossom on the trees, baby lambs in the fields and most recently due to last years acquisition – lots of hard work on the allotment!

  6. I’m sorry to say that where I live, it means hay fever for me. We have plane trees all over the streets here in Surry Hills, Sydney. My eyelids swell up like little golf balls unless I’m quick off the mark with an antihistamine. I do like spring weather, and I love seeing all the flowers everywhere, but spring comes in at #3 on my favourite seasons list, beaten by autumn in 1st place, then winter.

  7. Aww, Avril, I don’t envy you the hay fever. I had it as a kid and hated it, but at least I grew out of it. That would certainly put a dampener on spring.

Leave a Reply

