Harlequin Mills & Boon Medical Romance Novels

Tea for Four

I’ve learned that there are three things which writers do really, really well.  Drink tea, eat cake and talk.  So what better way for us to welcome Lynne Marshall to the UK?  Caroline Anderson and Kate Hardy made the trip down to London today, and the four of us went for afternoon tea.

First, though, we had a special visit to make.  Kate came hot-foot from the British Museum to meet Lynne and I for a walk along Harley Street, the setting for the 200 Harley Street continuity.  And when the street sign, which we’d set our hearts on being photographed with, turned out to be fifteen feet off the ground were we deterred?  No, we were not.  We also found the building where Lionel Logue (speech therapist to King George VI) practised.

Harleyst1
Kate and Lynne under the Harley Street sign
Lynne on the steps of Lionel Logue's Harley Street practise.
Lynne on the steps of Lionel Logue’s Harley Street practise.

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

Then a flying visit to Trafalgar Square and on to the AMBA Hotel, Charing Cross where Caroline was waiting for us.  Lynne had a chance to play the star on the sweeping staircase.

Tea1

We drank a toast to Jennifer Taylor, who wasn’t able to join us, but who has lent us her blog date today.  (I was beginning to suspect that Kate is the best organised person that I know, and if you look carefully, you’ll see that her top matches the drinks perfectly!)  And then it was time to tuck in to tea, sandwiches and cake.  The cakes had a Mad Hatters Tea Party theme.

Annie, Caroline, Lynne and Kate

tea4

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

AfternoonTea1Lynne’s photograph of the table which greeted us, shows the terrace tearoom in the background, which has views over The Strand.

Afterwards, we went for a stroll in the park, and then on for drinks on a riverboat moored by the Embankment.  (Did I mention that there was a LOT of talking, which was very thirsty work.)  Then it was time for hugs all round, as Kate and Caroline left to catch their train home.

Lynne and I took a short stroll along the Embankment, past the London Eye, to see the Houses of Parliament lit up for the evening.  And then, finally, we decided that our aching feet had done enough for the day!

river3

bigben

27 thoughts on “Tea for Four”

  1. Oh thank you so much for posting these fabulous pics of all of you! Lynne looks like she’s having a great time over there and how welcoming you guys were to take her to tea in London. Sigh…I love London!

    I’m going to be there in April and I’m booking you all in for my mad hatters tea party. Except, can there also be champagne?? 😉

  2. It ‘nice to know (at least in photography and in their stories), the authors of books that I like very much. I love the books in the series Medical Romance, and I try to buy all your books when I find them translated into Italian. Very beautiful photos.

  3. What can I say? After my marriage and births of two children, oh and getting “the call” – this was the BEST day of my life. I am so touched by your generosity of time and friendship. I’ve said it before and will say it again, authors (romance authors anyway) are the most wonderful people on the planet. You, Annie, went above and beyond by shepherding me around town on the tube for two days. I couldn’t have done London without you! Love the blog and the day. This memory will be etched in my mind from here on out. So special. THANK YOU LADIES!

    1. Oh Lynne, it was an absolute privilege! Such lovely memories for me, too.

      And I should mention here that Lynne is one of the most gracious tourists I’ve ever met – when I managed to lose St Paul’s (how do you lose a whole cathedral), this lady pretended not to notice, and simply nudged me and pointed to the sign 🙂

  4. Great blog and photos and afternoon tea looks divine. Can’t wait until it’s my turn to visit 🙂 Must agree with Lynne – romance authors are among the most generous, friendly and amusing people i’ve had the pleasure of meeting. So glad to count you as friends and cyber-friends.

  5. I’m so jealous. What a wonderful visit. I love London and haven’t been there in far too long. I would have loved to hear all the talk.

    1. I enjoyed every minute of it, Susan. A very special afternoon, in lots of different ways.

      As an afternoon tea enthusiast, you would have loved our table – all of the plates and cups were of a different pattern and all so pretty. (Now I know what to do with all those odds and ends of china I’ve managed to collect over the years.)

    1. Absolutely! And it was such a pleasure to meet you, Lynne, but boy, that afternoon tea was a tough thing to have to tolerate – and the prosecco on the Hispaniola right opposite the London Eye? – dreadful. But we managed 😉 Glad you enjoyed it, and really privileged to have been part of the making of your memories, Lynne. Wouldn’t have missed it for the world. I have to confess, I took half my afternoon tea home in a goody bag, and I’ve just eaten the Mad Hatter’s top hat – think of the yummiest chocolate bourbon biscuit you can manage, and then put it on steroids. Uber-luscious! And not a single calorie. Mostly because they hunt in packs…

  6. Oh, yes, and me too, please. We’re heading that way in May or June. Still working on the itinerary. Isn’t it wonderful how much fun you all had. We belong to a special group of ladies.

  7. Oh, how I wish I could have been there! It looks like you had a really fabulous day. I would have loved to meet up with you all. Still there’s always next year. So definitely add me to the afternoon tea list. Mm, I can almost taste those delicious cakes . . .
    Jennifer.

    1. I was wondering whether your ears were tingling, Jennifer. (Mine certainly were after a couple of sips of the blue shrinking potion 🙂 ) Having you there would have made the day perfect, and your seat is already saved for next year!

    2. Echoing everything Annie said – and we did make a toast to you with the blue cocktails (I wish I’d thought to ask what they were called!) 🙂 xx

  8. Oh late to the party report but what a FABULOUS report it is! How marvellous that Lynne is over there and around the time of the 10th anniversary of her call!! I think I need to talk to DH about London… 😉

    1. Thank you Fiona! Lynne visited the new Mills and Boon offices the day before, which look very smart from the outside – I’ve yet to see inside but my turn is coming soon.

      Hopefully both you and Lynne are ready for the next ten years, now. Because you’ve both given so much reading pleasure in the last decade, and good things should be repeated 🙂

  9. What a wonderful time you all had! Lovely to see the photos- I’d been wondering what the blue drink was, now I know- a shrinking potion! (I don’t think I need any of that- I’m too short as it is!)
    Oh, I so wish I could have been with you, it looks like so much fun! xxx

    1. We did, Louisa! We were possibly having more fun than it appears, due to the need to pose nicely for photos 🙂

      I’m sorry to say that the shrinking potion didn’t work – because I reckon I could stand to lose a couple of inches in height. (Isn’t it always the way – never happy with ourselves 🙂 ) So I can confirm that it’s perfectly safe for you to have as much of it as you want.

  10. I’ve so loved seeing the photos of Lynne’s London visit, of all of you together at tea, and the fun stories. 🙂 I admit to being envious, but so happy you all had such a wonderful time together. Not that there was any doubt of that – as Lynne said, romance writers are the loveliest people in the world. Thanks for sharing it all – I can almost feel like I was there 🙂

    1. Thank you Robin! I love following everyone’s travel stories, and one of the nicest things about being a romance writer is that you get to know readers and writers all around the world 🙂 We are very lucky.

Leave a Reply

