Harlequin Mills & Boon Medical Romance Novels, The Writing Life

Just Another Manic Thursday

So blog day has arrived, and I am skidding in at the last second. Then again, that seems to be the way I’m running nowadays. I just turned in a book last week (yay!) and have been catching my breath ever since. In fact, I was in the car with my husband and son, and I sighed and said, “It’s just another manic Monday.” Of course then I had the song running through my head and started singing. My son gave me the strangest look. It seems he’s never heard that  song. Like ever! Could it be true? Are there actually people who’ve never heard Manic Monday?  If you’re one of those souls, get thee to the nearest You Tube and look it up. Seriously. Go and listen to the actual song by The Bangles. It’s awesome. I even pasted a link here for your convenience.

And in the spirit of running far behind this year (and while looking at my own very, bare Christmas tree), I made up my own little ditty to the tune of Manic Monday. Only it’s Manic Thursday. Because that’s the kind of day it is.

The tree’s not done,

It’s just sitting there all unadorned.

The baubles and lights

are in boxes looking so forlorn.

I haven’t shopped

Cause I just haven’t had the time

But the days are getting shorter,

So I guess I’d better stand in line.

It’s just another Manic Thursday…

Tina's bare Christmas tree
Tina’s bare Christmas tree

 

I know it’s corny, but the original song has been stuck in my head for days. Anyway, I hope your Mondays are not manic and that your shopping is done and your cookies are all baked. If so, share how you stay ahead of the game, so I won’t find myself so far behind next year. If you’re like me and running as fast as you can to catch up, come and commiserate with me!

I do have a brand new book out. Things like that help make all of the manic days worthwhile! (And having my kids home from school for the holidays…definitely that!) 9780373010745

12 thoughts on “Just Another Manic Thursday”

  1. I’m here to commiserate, Tina. I was hoping to have my book done by the time we went away but its probably another 10k away and we’re leaving tomorrow – lesigh! My own fault. Too long procrastinating at the begining. And if we weren’t going away for a few days now then it would be fine – I could have the book to my ed before the Xmas shut down. But we are going away tomorrow and I wont get anything done while I’m away so I’m going to have to try and cram in the last 10k in the couple of days before Xmas – 22/23. Which leaves 24th for me to prepare a lot of the food for the next day.
    Oh and I still need to buy half a dozen presents…. I can do it….right…?
    I’m so cranky with myself – no one else to blame :-/

    Dear Christmas – could I please just have another week added in before youi arrive?

    1. Whew, Amy, I am so glad I’m not the only one. I haven’t even started shopping for presents. Maybe once you get back, you’ll be energized and ready to get that book finished! Crossing my fingers!

  2. I think it might be a good idea to have Christmas every other year. Then we might all be able to be ready for it. I am fortunate to have my book in and revisions done, AAs done for another book, eHers, too. (let me preface this by saying I only wrote 3 books this year, and I’m assuming you wrote at least 4 or maybe more?) I feel like this time without writing is a gift. I’ve got all of this week and next for Christmas. Just Christmas. But what if I need to do revs on the previous revs? Fingers crossed. Always leave ’em with a hook, right?
    loved your version of Manic Thursday.

    1. Oh…revisions on previous revs! I’m sure your first revisions will go over just fine, Lynne! And yes, turning my book in was a wonderful feeling (even if I’m sure revisions will hit before the Great Christmas Shutdown. Unless my book is so awful that it needs a complete rewrite. Okay, let’s not think about that right now. 🙂 Yay for being able to concentrate just on Christmas. I think I’m almost ready to do that. My daughter comes home tomorrow night and she and her brother will decorate the tree. I hope. At least that’s the plan. 🙂

  3. Well if it’s any consolation my tree is as bare as yours at the moment, Tina! But I’m refusing to panic, as I’m in the happy position of having my book in as well, and nothing to do until after Christmas. (When I say nothing, that doesn’t include Christmas itself, of course.). So consider me officially covered in sparkle and knee deep in wrapping paper 🙂

    1. Turning that book in was a huge thing for me! It gave me the freedom to be able to finally sit back with some hot spiced cider and enjoy the season. And sparkle and wrapping paper sound great right about now. I think I’ll join you in tossing around some magical glitter and wrapping some presents (after I shop for them, of course). 🙂

  4. If it makes you feel better I bought your book:) I bought lots of Harlequins (including Medicals although I wish they were available a month earlier online on their site like several of their other lines…hint) lately. I love the Christmas countdown they do every year in the US on their web site.

    1. Thank you so much! I hope you enjoy it. I didn’t realize they weren’t available a month earlier on the harlequin site. I will pass your suggestion along!

      I hope you are done with your Christmas shopping and can curl up in a comfy chair and read all of those Harlequins. I plan to do some reading myself very soon! Have a wonderful Christmas! 🙂

  5. I so feel your pain. I was glad it was your Thursday to blog and not mine. I sent my book in yesterday. The tree is done, now, the presents wrapped, now, and I’m working on food. We are doing Christmas a few days early so my time is even shorter. Still I’m running to catch up. Such is life.

    1. Well at least you got your book turned in! (Do you see a theme here?) I think it must be a writer thing. Time is measured according to where we are in our current deadlines, ha ha! Have a wonderful early Christmas, Susan! 🙂

  6. Love the cover of your latest book! Normally at Christmas, the hubs and I would be one of those couples that started in January and by September/October would have everything wrapped up. Then the kids came along and um, well, we kind of leave everything to the last minute. The kids never know what they want and when they do finally tell us what they want, we buy it, get it wrapped and then suddenly they tell us they want something else. Erm, no! I can never be bothered to write out Xmas cards, so hubs does that, but we always forget someone/miss neighbours/ forget the third cousin twice removed who lives in Australia, who we never speak to anyway.
    I wish I could say I’ve handed in my latest book, like most people have, but I’ve just started one, so I shall still be writing over Christmas, but I see that as guaranteed quiet time whilst everyone else is getting cranky over Twister. Merry Christmas!

    1. The just starting of a book is always fun. It’s my favorite part, actually, those first three magical chapters. Once that’s over, the rest is hard work. But I’m glad you’ll get some quiet hours over the holidays to write! I actually just got revisions (as in today) for the book I turned in. My editor is speedy! And the changes are lighter than I thought they would be, so I’m doing a happy dance and celebrating!

Leave a Reply

