Harlequin Mills & Boon Medical Romance Novels

New Year’s Resolutions

Okay. So it’s that time of year when we (hopefully) meet up with family and eat, drink and be merry. We stuff our faces with turkey and the trimmings, we drink Buck’s Fizz or wine or our tipples of choice and then afterwards, sated and with out belts loosened, or buttons on trousers undone, settle onto the couch and try not to fall asleep. And when we’re not sleeping, the inevitable question comes around – What are your New Year’s Resolutions?

I don’t have any. Well, none of the usual sort. Eg, I’m going to go to the gym; I’m going to eat more healthily; I’m going to take up salsa dancing and shift some weight; I’m going to climb Mount Everest.

They all might as well be that last one, because they will all be as unattainable. And the reason why? They’re not specific enough. Resolutions need details. Numbers. Precision.

I will go to the gym at least once a week on a Friday.

I will eat five portions of fruit and vegetables every day.

I will join that salsa class every tuesday evening at 7pm.

I will NOT climb Everest, because that’s just plain crazy!

These are still not my resolutions (except maybe that last one!). My resolutions have to do with my writing and some are easy and some are not. But they are specific. They have numbers, time and dates to be achieved by.

  1. I will buy a sign for my door that tells people not to disturb me whilst I’m writing.
  2. I will set regular writing times of 11am-2pm to write every day, rather than just doing it when I can fit it in.
  3. I will finish my novella I started (outside of my contracted books) and find a publisher for it, by the end of 2016.
  4. I will enter at least one short story competition by July 2016 and a second by December 2016.

I think these are perfectly achievable. I may achieve more than that, but I’m realistic and remember the fact that I still have four children in the house (and a husband) who all seem incapable of doing anything without having my input.

So! These are my resolutions. I may add some. Who knows? I’ve got some more time to think about it. I know I want to get my name out there more and write other things, so we’ll see.

But what about you? What are your New Year’s Resolutions? Do you set yourself any? Do you prefer not to and why? Let me know. I’m intrigued! In the meantime, have a very merry, happy and healthy Christmas!

Warmest wishes to you all,

Louisa xxx

My last publication was A Father This Christmas? but my next is One Life-Changing Night and both of these can be found on Amazon. Just click on the highlighted text and you will be whisked away to the magical world of book buying!

IMG_0246

 

 

10 thoughts on “New Year’s Resolutions”

  1. Merry Christmas to you, too, Louisa! Like you my resolutions are usually writing related – I think of them as goals for the coming year. So my goal is to submit a trilogy proposal to Harlequin US and hopefully to get a contract to write all three books. If that doesn’t come through early in the year, I’ll regroup and come up with another writing goal. My personal goal is to keep at an acceptable weight and stay on the healthy side of the medical care line. As you can see, I’m a practical sort of lady. In secret I still have big dreams though.
    Happy New Year to you as well!

    1. A trilogy! Oh my gosh, I’m not brave enough to attempt one of those yet, juggling timelines and cross overs and all the other stuff that must go into the planning. Maybe that can be a resolution for me at the end of 2016?
      Wishing you all the best with your goals and have a very Merry Christmas and a Happy New Year, too!

  2. Merry Christmas Louisa. I have some New Year Resolutions that I plan to stick to. I am thinking of doing a post on my new year resolutions as well but to give you a peek into them, they consist of me getting admissions for my Masters, completing my manuscripts (yes, they are two) and travel. That is all but I am happy to tackle what life throws at me.

  3. I gave up making resolutions a few years back cos it was depressing when they fell by the way side (usually far too early :-/ ) I like calling them goals, too 🙂
    My goal for 2016 – I’d like to have 3 books written by the 3rd week in April….
    Eep!
    Gotta aim high, right?
    Hope you had a Merry Xmas, Louisa!

    1. *giggles nervously* Erm….3 books by April? The third week in April? Yeah….totes achievable. Easy peasy. Not a problem. Right?
      Right?
      Best of luck to you. I’ll be thinking of you as slave away at the typeface. Enjoy that three minute sleep you’re going to take.
      Happy New Year!

Leave a Reply

