Harlequin Mills & Boon Medical Romance Novels

NEW YEAR, NEW BOOKS!

2015 and 2016 year written on sandy beach sea. Wave washes awayHappy New Year! I hope your holidays were spectacular and now you are resting up and getting back into your routine. Between you and me, I’m glad 2015 is over. Once we hit Halloween, it seems to all go downhill and there isn’t a chance to blink before Thanksgiving and Christmas. Whew, what a wild ride.

The New Year is always something to look forward to. It’s a clean slate, a chance to start fresh, and many of us need that. Renewal is a good word, and we all need to renew our enthusiasm, hope, and perseverance with each new year.   I hope you’re looking as forward to starting again in 2016 as I am.

Speaking of 2016, I’m happy to say I will have three books out with Harlequin Medical Romance and I loved writing each of them for different reasons. January 1st was the release of A MOTHER FOR HIS ADOPTED SON, and I am blown away by the early reviews. Check out these reviews from CataRomance and Booked Solid. A writer can’t ask for better reviews than those.

So let me tell you a little about this book. Here’s the blurb:

Notoriously cool, calm and always in control, single dad Dr. Sam Marcus is facing every parent’s worst nightmare. His adorable adopted son, Dani, has cancer, and Andrea Rimmer is the only woman who can help! 

As Andrea treats his son, Sam sees the warmth and compassion behind her independent exterior. Can he prove to Andrea that she’s the only mummy for Dani, and that together their family is a perfect fit?

Now you may be tensing up and thinking, a child with cancer? No! Who wants to read that, it’s too heartbreaking, and everyone knows you can’t kill a child or a dog in a book if you want anyone to read it. Believe me, this story was a tough one to write, but trust me, I didn’t kill anyone off!!!!

Here’s what Sam, Dani and Andrea looked like to me when I wrote the book.Sam, Andrea and Dani

Why did I write the book? Because a few years ago I read an article in a magazine about a lady who was an ocularist. A what? A person who makes artificial eyes. Prosthetics. I found what she did fascinating, and when I decided to write a heroine who was an ocularist, well, I needed patients for her to help. Also, I really pushed the envelope of medical professional with her particular talent. Surprisingly my editor was completely onboard with this pairing of doctor and apprentice.

LM_FB_header_4

Australia A Mother for
Australian version

 

Before you make your decision about whether or not you want to read this book, I hope you’ll read the reviews on GoodReads, or at least the two reviews I linked to above. The main point is, this love story was both a challenge and a blessing to write. I had to delete and rewrite the original ending, about 5,000 words worth, then added 6,000 more words for the new ending, which was tough, but it made the book so much better. So it’s true, tackling hard topics isn’t easy and writing books where two people are supposed to fall in love in those difficult stories is an even bigger challenge. Believe me, I know! But I’m going to end by saying this, it was well worth the effort. I love Sam and Andrea’s story. That’s all there is to it, and that’s the best job satisfaction a person can ask for. Right?

Have you read or written a particularly tough storyline lately, or read one in the past that still sticks with you? Please share!

19 thoughts on “NEW YEAR, NEW BOOKS!”

  1. Happy New Year, Lynne! I love the sound of an occulist! I love your book is about a mother for a child and mine is about a father for a child…the Ying and Yang 🙂

    1. Fiona – I think they call that synchronicity? Even as far apart as we are, we’ll always be first-sell twins and that binds us. I’m glad you’re intrigued by the heroine’s profession. 😉

    1. Laurie, I can’t tell you how much letting an author know you enjoyed their book means. Thank you for contacting me about that, and I’m so glad you’ve discovered the Love is the Best Medicine blog. This year is going to be really fun thanks to our fearless leader Annie Claydon. We’ll be having giveaways and surveys and all kinds of fun!
      So glad you enjoyed my book. 🙂

    1. Hi Judy! And I’m so glad you’ve discovered the Love is the Best Medicine blog, and that you like Medical Romance. Since we’re giving compliments, I’ll say, I love your reviews!!!!
      thanks a million.

  2. Happy New Year, Lynne!
    An ocularist sounds fabulous – can’t wait to read that one!
    I cried in a couple of the scenes I wrote in the medical I just sent off to my ed – that’s always a good sign 🙂 And the book I wrote with my sister – Numbered – which is out in a few weeks has a heroine with breast cancer and I still cry when I read bits of it. I dont mind a good cry in a book as long as there are some light moments to balance it all out!

    1. I so agree about not minding tearing up – I think it’s good for us! – when we read books. But I also agree that we need to balance the tough scenes with lighter scenes to make the topic bearable. Even Me Before You by Jojo Moyas had fun scenes (thank goodness!). Good luck with your upcoming books. I so enjoyed your first book written with your sister!

  3. I’m definitely looking forward to reading these Lynne! One of the things I adore about Medicals is you always come out of a read feeling emotionally satisfied…and a little bit smarter! Thanks for keeping that trend true.x Annie

    1. A little birdie told me you got teary-eyed while rereading your book #8, am I right?
      Yes, Avril, I really pushed the limits on what qualifies for a medical professional in Medical Romance. I loved the opportunity, too. 😉

  4. This sounds like another great story, Lynne. Can’t wait to read it.
    I always feel that when I tear up while writing my story then it is going to touch the readers too.

    1. Hi Sue – I hope that’s the case. 🙂 And thanks for cheering me on. It is always a challenge to come up with a solid Medical Romance, because there are so many masters of it, yourself included, writing for the line.

    1. Hi Louisa! I agree the Medical Romance covers have gotten better over the last couple of years. Perfect example is your gorgeous cover with small child front and center for Father This Christmas. And congrats on holding #1 spot at Amazon e-book list for meds for nearly two months!!! Well done.

  5. Hi Lynne

    This one is calling to me and I can’t wait to read it I have to say I love a story that will make me cry 🙂 and there have been many over the years

    Have Fun
    Helen

    1. Hi Helen,
      It has been wonderful how you’ve dedicated a large chunk of your reading time to our Medical Romances. We feel we’re the best kept secret in category romance, and thanks to people like yourself willing to read and review our books, word is getting out.

Leave a Reply

