Harlequin Mills & Boon Medical Romance Novels

Help me brainstorm, please? There’s a GIVEAWAY :-)

Let’s talk Christmas 🙂

I know, I know!  Most of us have finally finished the last of the Christmas cookies and chocolates, put away the decorations, and have dusted the New Year’s glitter from our feet.  But can we revisit the holiday season for just a moment, pretty please?  I’m about to start my next book which will be released at the end of the year, which means Christmas time, which means I have to think about it in January  🙂   I’d really appreciate some brainstorming help – will you answer some questions about your favorite Christmas story tropes?  I’m giving away my three 2015 releases to one of you who comments!

Enquiring minds want to know:

Do you prefer Christmas stories to be set in cold, snowy places?  Or do you enjoy something out of the ordinary occasionally?
MountainInFog

Do you like a woodland cottage setting with a Charlie Brown type Christmas tree, or a traditionally beautiful, well-appointed home?

City versus country?

How about babies, toddlers, and children – important to a Christmas story, or are you just as happy to read a story about a couple finding their way to happiness without children in the mix?  Do you have a favorite trope that features them, such as secret babies?  Adoption?  Daddy and child?  Something else?  Any special age group you like? (Wow, that’s a lot of questions isn’t it?) 🙂

 

And lastly, is there any particular medical scenario or character you enjoy most?

Obviously, no need to answer more than one or two of these questions (unless you want to!) and any additional comments are more than welcome!  As I said, I’ll be throwing the names of everyone helping me out into a hat, choosing one to receive print copies of my three 2015 releases.  On Sunday, I’ll announce the winner and ask for you to send me your address so I can mail the books.

3Books1

Thanks in advance – I’m really looking forward to hearing your comments!

Happy 2016!

 

 

 

15 thoughts on “Help me brainstorm, please? There’s a GIVEAWAY :-)”

  1. Hi Robin

    Oh I love Christmas stories and for me I love snowy settings in the country or city with or without children snowed in and making a Christmas tree out what they have is lovely I love seeing either the hero or heroine re creating a great Christmas for one of them perhaps one of them has been turned off Christmas for reasons and needs help to smile again and enjoy the seasons as well as the troupes you have listed I do love a good Cinderella or Beauty and the beast troupe. But of course to see everyone happy at Christmas tears of joy.

    Leave me out of the giveaway as I have these awesome stories already and loved them good luck everyone 🙂

    Have Fun
    Helen

    1. Thank you so much for your wonderful comments, Helen! I’m making notes – I love the idea of being snowed in and having to make a Christmas tree from what’s available. And your other comments are interesting too 🙂

      Yes, I was thinking “Helen won’t want the books since she’s read them all and left reviews, because she’s wonderful like that.” Something I hope you know I truly appreciate! Thanks again xoxo

  2. Countryside cottage, doctor and maybe a male nurse for a twist, miracle pregnancy after a long lost love reappears. Age young 30’s. Maybe one of them kept a memento of a Christmas item that was special. I like GP’s as doctors in a cottage setting.

    1. Ah, Laurie, your comment about a special Christmas memento made my brain light up – I really like that! Thanks so much, and for your other comments too – I knew brainstorming help from people like you and Helen would be awesome! I appreciate it! 🙂

    1. Thanks, Avril! Though maybe that’s partly because you’re sweltering right now
      🙂 Hope you’re managing to find ‘cool’ things to do!

  3. I like he secretly has loved her stories but. I read Christmas stories in both city and country. Plain Jane stories are also a special fave. I can take or leave children out of the story.

    1. Ah, jcp! I’ve never written a story where the hero secretly loves the heroine…I like that! 🙂 I appreciate your other comments, too – am taking notes! thanks so much!

  4. I like snow and country settings because I’ve never had a Christmas like that. I think readers may want to experience what they haven’t. Trendy beach settings for Christmas just don’t work for me. Go you on your Christmas story! Look forward to reading it. Oh, one more thing, based on the wild popularity of Louisa Heaton’s Christmas book 2015 – put a child in it. Make sure that child is on the cover!!!! 😉

    1. I know, Lynne! Louisa’s book has been number one for an astonishing number of weeks! Good for her 🙂 Okay, snow it is! And I’m leaning toward a country setting, just because that’s what has stuck in my mind…now to come up with the story to go with it!

  5. My vote’s for snow too, Robin! The thing I love about writing Christmas stories, is that I get a second Christmas – this time without all the rushing around 🙂

    I really like it when it seems that the hero and heroine are going to give up on Christmas altogether, and then at the last minute, they manage to make the best Christmas ever for each other.

    1. Oh, I like that, Annie! Giving up on Christmas, until a major change makes them change their attitudes. Taking more notes…thank you! 🙂

  6. I too prefer snowy Christmases, Charlie-Brown lean trees, and country settings. Stories with or without children/babies is fine with me, as variety is the spice of life. I have a hard time finding medical romances, so ANY of your medicals is just fine with me too….

    1. Thanks so much for your thoughts, Laney! I wish our medicals weren’t hard for you to find, but if it’s print books you’ve been looking for, that’s about to become easier in the U.S. (if that’s where you are). Starting in February, readers can get Medical Romance print books from Amazon and Barnes and Noble, and also still from Harlequin.com, so we’re all happy about that! 🙂

      Definitely feeling a consensus here for snow in the country, maybe even a cabin. Hmm….feeling a need to get going on the story ASAP – thanks again!

  7. IT’S SUNDAY NIGHT, SO IT’S WINNER TIME! 🙂 Thanks again for helping me brainstorm, everyone! I put names in a hat (bowl) and had my daughter pick it, and the winner is…LANEY4! Please email me at RobinGiannaAuthor@gmail.com to give me your address, so I can send the books. Also, please let me know what name you’d like me to sign them to. 🙂

    xoxoRobin

Leave a Reply

