Harlequin Mills & Boon Medical Romance Novels

Announcing the 2016 Harlequin/Mills & Boon Medical Romance Fast-Track!

#MedicalBlitz

February 1st-14th 2016

Hi everyone! My name is Laura and I’m the Assistant Editor on the Harlequin/Mills & Boon Medical Romance team. We’re thrilled and grateful to have been invited to contribute to Love is the Best Medicine and look forward to getting to know you all and sharing our love for Medical Romance. If there’s anything you’d like to know please just ask. The Medical Romance editorial team (Sheila, Tilda and myself) would love to hear from you!

There is so much to love about our jobs on the Medical Romance editorial team but one of our favourite things is finding new voices to add to our spectacularly talented author base. And right now we’re looking for exciting new authors to join our amazing Medical family!

Medical Romances are stories with cutting-edge medical drama and settings, in some of the world’s most vibrant and beautiful cities! With pulse-racing medical drama bringing them together Medical heroes and heroines find themselves in a wide variety of intense, emotional situations—ER emergencies, heart and transplant surgeries, city hospitals, GP practices, paediatrics, Maternity wings, IVF clinics, jungle or outback settings and medical rescue just to name a few!

Our #MedicalBlitz is a fantastic opportunity for your Medical Romance to get fast-tracked!

What we want:

  • A query letter that introduces you and your book – and any previous publishing credits, contest wins, or affiliations
  • A 2 page detailed synopsis. Show us what drives your story forward, including the internal and external conflicts your hero and heroine face on the road to romance. We want to know what happens in your book, even the ending. (No cliff-hangers in the synopsis, please!)
  • Your first chapter (up to 20 pages)

 Here’s how it works:

  • From February 1st until midnight (EST) on Valentine’s Day, we invite you to send in your submission. Go to http://Harlequin.Submittable.com and click on ‘#MedicalBlitz Submission Fast Track!’ to submit your first chapter and synopsis.
  • Every contemporary Medical Romance submission will be read by one of the Harlequin Medical Romance editors and will receive editorial feedback by February 19th. That’s quite a fast-track!
  • We’ll then request to see more of the submissions that show the most promise!

This isn’t a contest but a chance to showcase your work to our editors and get some helpful feedback in an accelerated time frame, and maybe even become the newest Harlequin Medical author. If you’ve ever dreamed about being published, send us your submission. We want to read YOUR story!

And check out the hashtag #MedicalBlitz on Twitter. We’ll be sharing tips, insider details, our wish lists, and more throughout the Blitz. Planning on submitting? Have questions? Please leave a comment. I can’t wait to hear from you!

35 thoughts on “Announcing the 2016 Harlequin/Mills & Boon Medical Romance Fast-Track!”

  1. I am definitely spreading the word at Facebook. This is a fabulous opportunity for an aspiring author. thanks so much for time away from your busy schedules to visit our blog. I hope you get a lot of entries!

  2. This truly is a wonderful opportunity for writers! I sold to Hqn Medical Romance through the Fast-Track submission process, so I’m proof it can be a fabulous thing! 🙂 I also have friends who submitted and didn’t get published, but did get great and useful feedback from the editorial staff, which is a huge benefit too. And with being required to submit only one chapter along with a synopsis, it’s something easy to do. I highly recommend it! 🙂

  3. I’m going to have a go, I was a nurse and a hospital social worker for years but now write full time, do you think they will like a social worker? It is so not the job the media shows but is much more warm & friendly, like call the midwife. See my first published book ‘Please Adopt Me’ on amazon kindle. I am planning to write a series of similar books, but I hadn’t thought of submitting any here. See more on my website, http://www.lynnepardoe.com

      1. Thanks for that Emily, I’ve got loads of ideas as long as they like social workers, though with a bit of digging around in my memory I probably would remember some old nursing stories! 🙂

  4. Like Robin, I entered a chapter in one of the Fast Track opportunities way back in August of 2010. That chapter turned into a request for a partial and then for the entire manuscript. The story went through a couple sets of revisions before selling and winding up on the bookshelves in January of 2012! It’s been a wonderful ride and almost 20 books later, I’m still loving every minute of it! It can and does happen, so don’t be afraid to send in your story!! 🙂 Good luck to everyone entering!

  5. My first book was the result of the 2010 FastTrack, too. It really has been a life-changing experience, and I’d recommend it to anyone. The editors were wonderful, with feedback and encouragement all the way.

    Good luck to everyone who enters. 🙂 And do keep those questions coming in!

  6. Like Annie and Tina, my debut was sold through the 2010 Fast Track. Today is the actual anniversary of my call too. Can’t say enough about the Fast Track opportunities. 🙂

  7. The fast track opportuntiy wasn’t around when I started writing, LOL, but I know the Medical team at HM&B has found some fabulous authors this way. I love writing medicals – the combination of drama and romance is exciting and I love the diversity of stories we can deliver. Good luck to any aspiring M&B authors out there!

  8. You’ve got to be in it to win it 🙂 ALWAYS worth a shot if you have a story you want to write. Remember, the focus is on the Romance..the medical elements are in the background. Use them to drive the story and the romance forward. Good luck!

  9. Thanks for that Fiona. You guessed right, it is easy to spend too much time on the patients, since that’s what we’ve done so much of in our training. Its nice to be able to change that though, I’ll just have to watch that I don’t slip up! 🙂

  10. Fast Track sounds like the road to take. I agree with Fiona, you have to put that work out there to ever get anywhere. I look forward to seeing what comes out of the Blitz.

    1. Hi Bobbi, I’ve read that they read the first 20 pages, if they like that ask for the next 3 chapters and after that they ask for the whole. I haven’t read about a deadline but I’m only guessing from what I’ve read on here. Its a great opportunity though! Best of luck!! Lynne 🙂

    2. Hi Bobbi, I’ll take a shot at answering this one! This is from my experience of taking part in the 2010 FastTrack.

      As I understand it, the story doesn’t need to be complete, although you will need to know your intended full plot line for the synopsis. In previous years, what’s happened is that if the editors want to see more from you they’ll contact you and tell you exactly what they want and discuss a time-frame for delivery with you.

      I was published after taking part in the 2010 FastTrack, and when the editors got back to me asking for a manuscript, I was so worried they might lose interest if I took too long, that I gave myself an almost impossible deadline! I managed it, but it would have been a lot better to take the time I really needed 🙂 So my advice for everyone (learned from my own mistake) is to be realistic about what you can comfortably do.

      Good Luck!

Leave a Reply

