Harlequin Mills & Boon Medical Romance Novels

Cranky Romance Author by Amy Andrews

Happy Valentine’s Day to those in the world who are celebrating it at the moment! Here in Australia it’s come and gone already and the chocolatiers and florists are taking a well earned breather.Well…until Easter anyway!

valentinetree.jpg

Anyone who was on my FB page yesterday will know I spent a good deal during my “day of love” fuming about an article that the lovely Avril Treymayne had posted on her FB page about some idiots somewhere naming the top 20 romcoms ever.

Avril was baffled by the list. Me? To say I was incensed is putting it lightly. Romcoms are my thing – I’m a self-confessed connoisseur – and have probably a dozen or even more that I love like I’d written them myself. Or, in the case of the finale scene in Notting Hill, that I wished I’d written myself!  Here it is because awesomeness.

And here’s the stoopid list for you to have a look at –

http://www.empireonline.com/movies/features/romantic-comedies-best/

Now I know that movie/book/art tastes are different but I reckon if a bunch of romance readers – more authorative on this topic I bet – was asked to put together a list of the top 20 romcoms it wouldn’t resemble this list remotely….

I agree with three. And could probably get on board with one or two others if someone stuck a gun to my head. I suppose I should be grateful they at least got #1 right!

But where is Notting Hill? Bridget Jones’s Diary, Love Actually, My Big Fat Greek Wedding, Dan In Real Life, Wimbledon, Raising Helen, The Princess Bride, Stakeout, Sweet Home Alabama, The Waitress, A Fish Called Wanda, A Knights Tale?

My biggest bug bear with the list is that I think they got confused between romantic and romantic comedy. I dont believe romcoms are just romantic movies with a bit of humour. I think comdey is integral to the romcom and has a certain tone and pace. It’s one of those – you know it when you see it kind of things.

And I didn’t see a lot of it on that list. Seriously, if you’re writing a list purporting to be made up of romcoms (the top 20 no less) than they’d better damn well be romcoms!

So, now its your turn. Do any on the list make your top 10. If so which ones and which ones would you like to see there instead? I need some romance peeps to restore my faith in humanity.

Help me, please, help me!

PS – dont forget to check the previous post to see if you’re a winner of the massive Valentine’s Day giveaway!

18 thoughts on “Cranky Romance Author by Amy Andrews”

  1. Oh yeah that list is missing a lot. I don’t agree with a few of them. Several of them actually.

    My favourite Rom Coms are pretty much in line with yours. I love The Proposal. Two Weeks Notice is a good one. So is Miss Congeniality and While You Were Sleeping. Pretty Woman is another. Runaway Bride. Anything with Doris Day and Rock Hudson. Also That Touch of Mink with Cary Grant and Doris Day. There’s also Moonstruck and Sabrina. One of my new favourites is Trainwreck.

    I think I can ramble on here for a while …

  2. LOL, Amy, this is the equivalent of a list of “literary” romances. Most of the “popular” films are missing although they did get Four Weddings and When Harry Met Sally. I’d add in You’ve Got Mail, The Proposal, The Wedding Date, and I totally agree with Amy’s choices 🙂

  3. LOL wow there are a lot missing from that list I have no idea who made it up a couple of them I would agree with and I have to say I don’t watch a lot of movies but I would add Pretty Woman You.ve Got Mail My Big Fat Greek Wedding is one of my favourite movies 🙂 I agree with Amy Ruttan on anything with Doris Day and Rock Hudson a lot better than the list they have

    have Fun
    Helen

  4. I do like some of the “old” movies, but I agree with Amy…I’d add the Wedding date, Made of Honor, 27 dresses, Love, Actually, Sweet Home Alabama, Kate and Leopold, Notting Hill, Bridget Jone: Edge of Reason, The Proposal, Easy Virtue, Mama Mia, Music and Lyrics, An American President and one of my Favorites “the Accidental Husband” with Jeffrey Dean Morgan (which was never released on the big screen)

  5. Amy,
    I agree the list was a poor one. There were a few on there I like such as 10 Things I Hate About You which is a personal favorite but then I’m a Shakespeare fan. It Happen One Night is great too. All the movies mentioned here are great also. Bridgett Jones Diary (both) I have on DVD and watch over and over. Chasing Liberty is excellent. Matt Goode and Mandy Moore. Romance through and through.

Leave a Reply

