Harlequin Mills & Boon Medical Romance Novels, Travels Around the World

THE TIME I STAYED AT A GRAND COUNTRY ESTATE IN IRELAND

DSC03291As many of you already know, I was fortunate enough to spend the last part of September and the first couple of weeks of October in Ireland. One of my absolute favorite places to visit was a gorgeous Georgian Manor Home set on the river Nore in Thomastown, County Kilkenny. Mount Juliet was built in 1757 by the Earl of Carrick and named after his wife, Juliet. How romantic is that?

My room:IMG_2293IMG_2228IMG_2227

The estate has gone through many different owners, and though the home boasts many original paintings and has maintained the lovely “bones” of the home, it is now a popular hotel with a Michelin star Restaurant named Lady Helen. There is also a really good off site restaurant called Kendalls at Hunters Yard. Beware, there is a rainbow trout farm nearby, and if you order fish for dinner it will come served with the entire head and eyes. I ate it anyway, and it was the most delicious trout I’ve ever had!

DSC03292

IMG_2229

IMG_2231

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

Besides being the setting for a modern day spa and golf course, it has maintained the grandeur of the classic country home, but now includes wedding packages. What is the draw? For starters, there is a nearby stud farm,DSC03296

a hundred-year-old bridge over the beautiful river Nore,IMG_2291

Gardens galore,

IMG_2279

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

DSC03287

DSC03299

 

 

IMG_2286

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

and a hunting dog kennel, which is home to over one-hundred dogs! Each morning all of the dogs go for a five-mile run with their trainers, sans leashes! These dogs are happy campers and are well taken care of. Can you imagine the vet bills?

IMG_2272

IMG_2277

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

A top-notch Golf course adds to the beauty, as well as a luxurious equestrian center. What more could a person dream of?

DSC03289

Even though I’ve been home for months now, I still dream of my lovely time at the Irish Manor named for an Earl’s wife.

Tell us about your all-time favorite vacation!  Leave a comment.  Join the fun!

Here’s my latest Medical RomanceLM_FB_header_4

Australia A Mother forAustralia

Thanks for reading!

Lynne

http://www.lynnemarshall.com

 

 

 

 

21 thoughts on “THE TIME I STAYED AT A GRAND COUNTRY ESTATE IN IRELAND”

  1. Hi Lynne

    What a beautiful spot maybe one day I will get to travel over there fingers crossed.

    I have been on a few cruises and I love them we have been around the Islands and Fiji and New Zealand and one of the most beautiful places we toured was along the fiords Milford, Dusky Sounds and there is another one I can’t think of the name this is one of the most tranquil places I have ever been to so beautiful.

    Have Fun
    Helen

    1. Hi Helen,
      I would love to travel to New Zealand and Australia, and Fiji, too! The world is filled with so many beautiful places.
      Thanks for being such a wonderful support for the Medical Romance line!
      hugs,
      Lynne

  2. Hi Lynne! I followed your trip on FB very closely. You look like you had a fabulous time! Nothing like a stately home stay to make one feel a little grand, right? 😉
    Best vacation was when hubby and I had 5 days in Positano on the Amalfi coast. Happy sigh…. Although in April we’re going on a Mediterranean cruise. I suspect that will top it 🙂

  3. I enjoyed following your trip on FB, and living vicariously. One day I might get to visit Ireland.
    These are gorgeous photographs. I love the one of the manor house at evening, with the lights glowing. Also, the thought of all of those dogs going for a morning run puts a smile on my face. I’d love to see that.

    1. Hi Robena – fancy meeting you here. 😉
      Yes, I wish I’d seen those dogs all running together leash-less, too. I would have loved to stay at that Manor for a whole week. So peaceful and beautiful.
      Thank for visiting LIBM!

    1. ha ha, Amy, DaVinci inspired me – I took another picture with an Irish fellow there too. He drove a few of us around to see some of the farther out sights. He told us that the stone circle fence was set up so that on full moon nights at one point it would shine through there and light the entire garden. What a sight that would be!

  4. Lynne, I want to go! Now! I have been blessed to have had many holidays and mine fall into adventure holidays or sitting on the beach relaxing holidays. I think hiking in Borneo is a big fave on the adventure side; elephants, orangatangs, monkeys, and for relaxing, the tiny island of Oarsmans Bay in Fiji 🙂 Thanks for sharing your amazing trip!

    1. Hi Fiona – your vacation adventures are book-worthy! The only elephants and orangutans I’ve seen have been in zoos, which kind of depress me. BTW, you’re the second commenter to mention Fiji. I may need to pay Nas Dean a visit!

  5. WOW! Beautiful. I can see why you went. Sounds like an amazing holiday. I will need to hunt it down…and perhaps have a lovely glass of wine whilst enjoying the sights and sounds. Beautiful. I can second (third?) the Fiji tips. I have been twice and it’s beautiful. xx

  6. Lynne,
    It looks like you had a wonderful time. Ireland is gorgeous. I love to stay in old houses or hotels. I spent the night in a castle near the Scottish boarder and it was amazing. I have every intention of doing something like that again. Juliet is going to be one I try.

    1. Hi Susan,
      I’d love to stay in a castle in Scotland. One day on our travels in Ireland it was clear enough to see a bit of Scotland just across the way. So close, yet not to be on this trip. I visited Scotland when I was 23 and still remember how beautiful it was. I’d love to go back again.

  7. Gorgeous photos of a gorgeous hotel! No wonder you enjoyed your stay so much – it looks perfect. My favourite place to enjoy a break is The Lakeside Hotel on the banks of Lake Windermere. Beautiful scenery, lovely surroundings and great food. I recommend it for your next trip over, Lynne. I’ll even join you!
    Jennifer.

Leave a Reply

