Harlequin Mills & Boon Medical Romance Novels

The Sci-fi Geek is let loose!

Anyone who knows me well knows I’m a complete sic-fi geek, after all, I have a child called Elliott?  Should I say any more?

Star Wars or Star Trek?  I love them both equally.  Captain Picard will forever be my favourite Star Ship Captain (But Chris Pine is catching up) and Harrison Ford my favourite character from Star Wars.  Let’s face it – he got all the best lines.

Can you remember when he said them??

“Great, kid. Don’t get cocky”

“I still get a funny feeling about that old man and the kid. I’m not sure what it is about them, but they’re trouble”

“Look, I ain’t in this for your revolution, and I’m not in it for you, princess. I expect to be well paid. I’m in it for the money.”

And the best ever when Leia tells him she loves him.

“I know.”

 

Anyway, let’s move on.  EVERYONE by now should have seen the new Star Wars film The Force Awakens.  You have, haven’t you?  If not, leave now.  There will be spoilers.

 

If you haven’t been hiding from The Force you’ll know the new film echoes the original Star Wars in lots of ways.  (I know I’m Scottish, but I will never forgive Ewan McGregor for any of those three terrible films.)

It introduces some seriously good new characters, one of whom, Rey, the heroine is the subject of much internet debate.  She’s smart, strong, brave and can fight.  Oh…and she can pilot a ship too, even though she stays in a barren wilderness – but we’ll leave that one for now.  Most importantly, every Star Wars fan wants to know Rey’s origins.  She’s surrounded in mystery after being abandoned by her parents on this barren planet as a young child.  She can’t remember anything about her parents and, as we found out in the new film, The Force is in Rey.

There has been lots of speculation.  She’s Han Solo’s child.  She’s Luke Skywalker’s child.  She’s a secret baby of Leia (and maybe not Han’s?)  She’s nobody’s child and The Force has just found her.

The one I’m absolutely crossing my fingers for is this one.

ob1

The ORIGINAL Obi-Wan Kenobi – Alec Guinness.  Please, please let Rey be his hidden granddaughter.  There’s lots of chat around this.  The accent.  The costume.  The lightsaber.  The jedi mind tricks.

Could Obi-Wan purposely have kept any children he had a secret?  Of course he would have, the empire would have killed his family, he would HAVE to keep them a secret. Maybe even from his friends…

Star Wars junkies around the world are all keeping our fingers crossed that the lines between Obi-Wan Kenobi and Yoda –

“That boy is our last hope.”

“No.  There is another.”

These lines always reflected back to Leia.  But maybe, all these years later, we could believe they meant something else.

It’s going to be a long time before we find out.  Star Wars 8 has just started filming, and let’s face it, Star Wars 9 will probably have the answers.

So, I’m going to leave with you with my other favourite (and underused) new character.

I give you – Po Dameron.  The fastest pilot in the universe.  I left you with him the last time.  You might find I have a new, recurrent theme………

star-wars-the-force-awakens-poe-dameron-played-by-

 

 

 

 

21 thoughts on “The Sci-fi Geek is let loose!”

  1. Scarlet,
    I’m not that big of a sci-fi person but I remember well seeing the first Star Wars. I loved it. I’ve seen pieces of the others. I think I was afraid those wouldn’t live up to the original and I would be disappointed. All the other members of my family have seen all the movies and talk about them all the time. I’ve been thinking about taking a rainy day and watching them all in order and get with the rest of the world.

  2. I’m such a sci-fi geek! Lurve Star Trek, especially the new films, but have never been a fan of the new Star Wars films, so have not seen the most recent one at all. Love the original three, though. Oh, and then there’s Battlestar Galactica, Babylon 5, Stargate series, especially the first and Atlantis. Falling Skies, the Aliens franchise, Predator franchise, Guardians of the Galaxy…..hmm could go on…….and frequently do!

    1. Battlestar Galactica – yes! But you look too young to have seen the original version, loved the cyborgs in that MUCH more than the new series with the human versions, Stargate…….sigh…..so much love for sci-fi.

  3. From the way Luke looked at her at the end, I was certain he was her dad. Now, I’m not so sure anymore after reading your blog.
    My absolute favorite Captain Picard was Patrick Stewart, too. Probably because my husband looks a lot like him. 😉

    1. I have to meet your husband Lynne!!! I originally thought Luke was her father too, but now it seems a little too obvious. I like the Alec Guinness thought much better!

  4. Big Sci Fi Geek too. Love Captain Picard. I had a major crush on him in my teens in the 90’s. And I love Star Wars and Star Trek equally.

    “I don’t know. Fly casual.”

    I’m leaning toward Rey being Luke’s child or …his clone. Not all clones have to be identical. My brother and I actually discussed this at length. Just because they talked a lot about clones in the new movie. “Should’ve used a clone army.”

    And if she’s Luke’s child who was her mother? Very interesting.

    I’m so excited for the new movie.

  5. Hi Scarlet

    I am a big Star Wars fan not so much Star Trek although I did watch Star Trek back in the 70’s and I can’t wait to find out who Rey’s father is I think Luke Skywalker or as you have said a granddaughter of Obi-Wan Kenobi that would be good also and there have been many heated discussions in our family about who is Rey’s father is makes for fun times with adult kids and grandkids 🙂 and yes my favourite character Hans Solo Love him and was very teary eyed in the movie my 10 year old grandson moved a seat away from me LOL and then at the end he jumped up and said no way how long do we have to wait ??

    Have Fun
    Helen

    1. I love the fact I have so many fellow sci-fi geeks!! My kids don’t love the films the way I do but they have been forced to watch. I originally came out of the movie in a bad mood because of you-know-what, but, I think my favourite new boy Po Dameron may keep me amused!

  6. I did watch the first three (or is that the middle three??) as a kid but you know what, even back then I cared little for the force or for lightsabers. All I wanted was for Han to kiss the girl. Should have known back then that I was going to be involved in romance somehow 🙂

    Anyway, I’ll leave the sci-fi geeks to the more indepth analysis methinks as I have no intention of watching this one or any of the following as I didn’t watch the last three (which is the first 3….of course…) And dont even get me started on Star Trek.

    Tip-toeing out the door before Scarlet boots me out 😉

    1. Ms Andrews, next time I meet you, I’m tying you to a chair for a sci-fi marathon! I may also buy you a Star Trek dress!

  7. I’m ignoring Amy’s response! 😉 I am a huge fan of both Star Wars and Star Trek, and I couldn’t possibly choose which I like best. Yes, the three Star War prequels were a big disappointment, and I wasn’t sure what to expect with the new one, but WOW – we loved it! All three kids and my daughter’s boyfriend came with us, which is a rare event 🙂 Great new characters, enjoyed seeing the old characters, and really loved the nods to the original three throughout the film. My son claims to know who Rey’s father is, but won’t tell! I should make him right it down and put it in a time capsule so that when the next one comes out he can gloat (or not!) 🙂

    Really love the new Star Trek movies too – I think the casting is terrific, as every one of them truly seem like they could have been the original characters when they were young (and Chris Pine…*sigh*) We still watch reruns of the TV series with Jean Luc – also great characters and storylines. So I think my whole family ranks up there with your geekdom, Scarlet!

    1. Smiled all the way through your post Robin. New Star Trek movie out soon, also love Zachary Quinn, think he totally nails Spock!

  8. Ooh, I’m a huge sci-fi geek too, Scarlet! I Star Wars and Star Trek equally (it seems most people love one and hate the other.) I loved Chris Pine as Captain Kirk. And I think they really did a good job staying true to the original characters.

    We also loved Galaxy Quest! But I don’t think anyone who didn’t watch Star Trek can enjoy all those spoofy moments.

    Like Robin, I was really disappointed in the prequels they came out with for Star Wars, so I was doubtful the new movie could be any good. But I was so surprised and happy. And that last scene… Lots of great stuff to come, I hope! 🙂

    1. We should plot to go and sneak a peek at the new filming to see if we can find out any of the story! Patience is not my strong suit, I want to see the great stuff now!

Leave a Reply

