Harlequin Mills & Boon Medical Romance Novels

A perfect day . . .

P1000494
Rufford Old Hall, Rufford, Lancashire

Apologies for the fact that this post is late. I could claim that I have been busy writing, or doing jobs around the house, but it would be a lie. I have spent the day enjoying myself.

Today I visited one of my favourite places in the north west of England, Rufford Old Hall. I go there several times during the year, to enjoy the sheer beauty of the place. With 500 years of history to its credit, it is a very special place indeed. There is even speculation that its Tudor Great Hall hosted theatrical productions in Shakespeare’s time, and that Shakespeare himself played here. Here are a few more photos to tempt you.

P1000501
The Great Hall
P1000499
Imagine wearing a dress like this!
P1000506
The topiary is as spectacular as the house. This is one of a pair of squirrels leading into the grounds.
P1000504
Me, enjoying the gardens on a previous visit.

Rufford is a special place for me. I love visiting it and soaking up the atmosphere. Do you have a special place you love to visit? I would love to hear all about it.

A very happy Easter to you all.

love,

Jennifer.

17 thoughts on “A perfect day . . .”

  1. Jennifer, you’re looking great! Love these pictures. Without leaving my state, we like to visit a small beach town called Cambria and up the road is the Hurst Castle. Always fun for a visit. Closer to home there is a gorgeous place called Huntington Gardens. It really takes more than a day to cover all of the beautiful gardens, plus they have a nice “proper” English tea house on the premises. However you need to plan ahead and make reservations. I imagine there are thousands of grand places like Rufford Old Hall in England. I’m a sucker for topiary gardens, too.
    Happy Easter back at you!

  2. Thank you, Lynne. I feel great too – there’s nothing like some warm spring weather to give you a boost. It sounds as if you have some gorgeous places to visit close to your home too. I love exploring new places but going back to somewhere you know and love is really special. If you ever come over here again then I shall take you to Rufford and also to Levens Hall a little further afield. The topiary gardens there are spectacular.

  3. When I lived in Surrey, we used to love visiting Hampton Court Palace. Amazing place, from the palace to the gardens. We went many times and whenever we had guests staying, it was another good excuse to take them, too!

    1. Louisa, I have always wanted to visit Hampton Court Palace and never made it. Yet. Definitely on my to-do list!

  4. You and the house look so beautiful! (As separate entities of course). Adds yet another lure to head up North and see the delights! I can’t believe I have lived here twenty years and still have so much to see!!!! Thanks for the great post and pictures!

  5. Hi Jennifer

    What a lovely post and a lovely place to visit I live in Australia and besides visiting the beach I love to go to The Blue Mountains it is peaceful and relaxing with so many old places to visit as well as lovely walks 🙂

    Have Fun
    Helen

    1. Hi Helen, apologies for the late response but I have been off checking out new places to visit over the Easter weekend. I discovered Astley Hall near Chorley in Lancashire and it was amazing. Built in 1588 it has the most stunning plaster work ceilings and beautiful grounds. If I am ever lucky enough to visit Australia then the Blue Mountains are definitely somewhere I would love to visit. Maybe one day . . . .

    1. Thank you, Fiona. I am not the world’s greatest photographer but when you have a building as gorgeous as this even I can’t go wrong!

  6. Oh, how gorgeous, Jennifer. I love those mad topiary squirrels!

    I’m very fond of Hampton Court too – the maze is one of my favourite places, and I always make sure to get lost in there whenever I visit 🙂

    1. I love the squirrels too. They are so cute that I love to see them. I shall definitely make a trail of breadcrumbs when I finally make it to Hampton Court!

  7. Jennifer,
    I love all the old castles and manors in England. I can’t get enough of them. If only I lived closer. Sigh. I don’t really have a place I go back to over and over except the beach. But I’ve been to many places I loved.

    1. The beach is a great place to visit, Susan. I love going although Formby/Southport which are my nearest beaches are so huge and the sea so distant that you need to walk for miles before you can dip your toes into the water! Mind you, the weather in the north west isn’t conducive to bathing all that often :>

  8. Oh I love this, Jennifer!
    When we lived in the UK we joined the National Trust and visited as many houses as we could including Rufford Old Hall!
    One of my favourite places to visit? London! And that’s where I’ll be 3 weeks today!! 🙂

    1. Amy! I can’t believe that you’ve ben to Rufford. How great is that? I love London too and I can’t wait to meet you at long last in a few weeks’ time. I shall get my train tickets booked asap.

Leave a Reply

