Harlequin Mills & Boon Medical Romance Novels, The Writing Life

WAITING…

WaitingWaiting has always been the most difficult part about writing for me. It begins early in the process: Waiting for critique partners to read your pages; for contest entry results; for responses from agents after you’ve risked sending your baby out into the world.

Fifteen years ago, when I first started this crazy journey, agents would actually send rejection letters, most often form letters, but occasionally one would be written especially for the author, making a suggestion or two about how to improve on the manuscript. This was a rejection worth waiting for. These days, most agencies don’t even bother to respond. The new normal seems to be – no news means no. How rude, right?iStock_000077653867_Double.jpg

Harlequin is one of the only publishers willing to take un-agented manuscripts, which is great, but the wait time can feel endless! Waiting for “the call” doesn’t seem to compute with authors because no one ever suspects that call, do they? It always seems to take folks completely by surprise. And such a sweet surprise it is.

The call!jpeg.jpg

Even after getting published “waiting” remains a huge part of the process. Waiting for the editorial revision letter, then waiting for the reaction to your post revision manuscript. If the book is accepted there is more waiting to do – for the copy edits, for the publication date, then, for the cover, the author copies of the book, release day! After that, the scariest waiting period of all comes – waiting for reactions and reviews for the book. Inevitably, a silent unease sets in as the waiting begins for the offer of another book contract.

Never a day goes by without some form of waiting.Woman in business suit looks on the hand of the clock close up

Why am I lamenting about waiting, you ask? Because I am deep in the process of waiting for word on a proposal for a trilogy for another line at Harlequin. After over 17,000 words in the form of the first three chapters, and another 11,000 in three thorough synopses for all of the books, I’ve yet to make the hurdle of getting past my own editor. Once that is done I will wait for the thoughts/comments/rejection (?) from the senior editor of the other line.

So these days, waiting is first and foremost on my mind. Thankfully, I have another contracted Medical Romance to concentrate on, but it is hard to move forward with my subconscious pulling me back to the waiting game for that other proposal.

At least I don’t have to wait for the gorgeous cover for my next book. Isn’t she a beaut? This is book #6 in the Hollywood Hills Clinic continuity that I was lucky to take part in.

HIS PREGNANT SLEEPING BEAUTY will be out in June (though currently available for pre-order!)

9780373011148

512HRpHFjwL__SX311_BO1,204,203,200_Here’s the blurb:

Rescuing the runaway

When paramedic Joseph Matthews rescues a vulnerable pregnant woman left in a coma, he vows to be there for his sleeping beauty. Even though, after his ex-wife’s betrayal, everything about innocent Carey Spencer evokes bittersweet memories…mixed with unexpected desire.

As Joseph helps gorgeous Carey recover and build a safe new future for her unborn baby, can he gather his courage to give them the happy-ever-after they deserve?

PLEASE DON’T KEEP ME WAITING: LEAVE A COMMENT ABOUT SOMETHING YOU’VE HAD TO WAIT FOR AND DON’T LEAVE OUT THE PART ABOUT HOW HARD IT WAS. OR, JUST SAY HI. WE LOVE IT WHEN BLOG READERS CHECK IN TO LET US KNOW YOU’RE OUT THERE.

Until next time, make it a great one!

Lynne

15 thoughts on “WAITING…”

  1. Lynne! First of all CONGRATULATIONS on being such a creative machine that you’re thinking trilogies and details synopses and hip hip hooray for you! I think that’s great and I’m rooting for you. Secondly – I FEEL YOUR PAIN. I am the worst waiter in the universe. (I’m not very good at being a waitress either but that’s another story). I pace.. I hypothesise endlessly about what could be happening/not happening/etc etc etc – shocked, every time I’m waiting on something – that the world rather mysteriously isn’t revolving around ME! (My husband won’t find this humorous at all…bit too close to the bone…hee hee!). I take to watching lots and lots of movies and/or box sets when I’m waiting. And, like you, dreaming up other projects – getting really stuck in and then – boom! – right when I want it least because I’ve become used to the idea that I’ll never hear….I hear. So – I hope your wait isn’t long and that the answer is a good one. (Can you see you touched a nerve at the O’Neil household?) xx Annie

    1. Hi Annie, thanks for commiserating with me. We’ve literally had to take this project from a kernel of thought to a thoroughly thought out project. I am grateful to have an editor who still believes in me! But waiting is always the toughest part for me. Like you I forget that I’m not the center of the universe and that my overworked editor has a gazillion other authors and projects to work on. It’s just hard for me to work on two projects at once, so my lovely idea for that next medical is impatiently calling out to me and I’m screaming – stop! There are too many people fighting for space in my head. Before this is over I may be a mumbling idiot! 🙂 But don’t you love the picture of our family dogs waiting? They definitely know how I feel. ha ha

  2. Hi Lynne! Wow, I’m SO with you on the agony of waiting. I don’t think the agony gets easier whether we’re published or unpublished. Congrats on trying for another line. Dare I ask which one?

    1. Hi Louisa – I figured this crowd might understand where I’m coming from. Nothing ever moves fast enough for our wishes in this biz, it’s the nature of publishing. If (>be more positive, Lynne<) or when I get word, I'll be sure to tell you!

  3. Lynne,
    I do feel your pain as well. We are an impatient lot. I’m just glad we have moved past the typewriter and mail version of waiting. I get beyond the waiting by focusing on something else to the point I forget I’m waiting on something else to happen. Looking forward to good news.

    1. Hi Susan!
      After reading your blogs about your incredibly busy life, I can see why you are able to focus on other things and forget. I must work on that approach!
      I hope I will have some good news to share down the road. Prepare to wait for it…
      😉

  4. At the moment I’m waiting for the next 6 days to tick down so I can get on that plane and enjoy my 4 week European adventure. The days leading up to a holiday in particular always seem the longest, dont you think, Lynne?
    Good luck with the prop! I am in awe of your creativity. A third Harlequin line – go you!

    1. Oh, waiting for vacation is the hardest of all! Can’t wait to see your pictures on facebook, and please share your tea with friends in London.
      Not a third line, Amy, the second one, which feels like the first time all over again.
      🙂

  5. Hi Lynne

    You authors do have lots of waits but us readers wait for that next book from their favourite author or the next book in a series 🙂 I am loving this Hollywood Hills series I have read and loved the first 2 and won’t be long before I cane dive into the next 2 YAY 🙂

    Other than that I am a bit like Amy when I have booked a holiday and am counting down the days till we leave making sure I have everything I need and dreaming about what I am going to do and see 🙂

    I love the covers on the new one can’t wait to read it

    Have fun
    Helen

    1. Hi Helen!
      Oh, yes waiting for a vacation seems to take forever! I am thrilled with all of the covers in this series also, and have already sent the digital copy to Nas, who will,, no doubt forward it to you.
      Thank you so much for reading and reviewing our books!
      hugs,
      Lynne

  6. Oh, Lynne, I remember those endless days and months waiting for replies from Harlequin, but at least they do reply. And you’re right, the waiting, hasn’t stopped even now I’m published. It is particularly annoying when you are itching to get on with a story and have to WAIT for comments, suggestions, etc.
    I’m not very patient either. When I want to do something or know the answer to something I want if now. Don’t tell my wee grandson as we’re all trying to teach him to be patient. How’s that going? Not very well, and I might have to take some of the blame. 🙂

    1. Hi Sue!
      Well, that does put my impatience into focus, regarding your grandson. ha ha. I admit with this proposal, I have been brainstorming back and forth with my lovely editor, and whenever I submit the current version of the chapters, it puts off moving forward for at least another week or so, and as I mentioned, I am not good at working on several projects at once – too many characters in my head gives me nightmares!
      I couldn’t ask for a better editor, though, and I know she has many more authors to deal with than me. She has assured me, I am not being overly demanding, so fingers crossed I haven’t burned any bridges with this blog. I’m just telling it like it is for new and aspiring writers. It’s always challenging to write period.

Leave a Reply

