Harlequin Mills & Boon Medical Romance Novels

Desert Island Keepers

You’re stranded on a desert island (sadly, not a dessert island, which I think would be heaps better…). You have the complete works of Shakespeare and whichever holy book you want/need…which 5 other books would you choose to have with you?

My choices are as below…

Me before you cover

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

Me Before You by JoJo Moyes

OMG, I cried hard at the end of this book, but I absolutely loved it and the way Moyes made me feel such intense emotions…a real journey.

Blurb: Lou Clark knows lots of things. She knows how many footsteps there are between the bus stop and home. She knows she likes working in The Buttered Bun tea shop and she knows she might not love her boyfriend Patrick.

What Lou doesn’t know is she’s about to lose her job or that knowing what’s coming is what keeps her sane.

Will Traynor knows his motorcycle accident took away his desire to live. He knows everything feels very small and rather joyless now and he knows exactly how he’s going to put a stop to that.

What Will doesn’t know is that Lou is about to burst into his world in a riot of colour. And neither of them knows they’re going to change the other for all time.

My Sister's Keeper cover

My Sister’s Keeper by Jodi Picot

Another book that had me feeling all the feels…and I think it might have been my first Picot book, too-it opened me up to a whole new genre of writing, the idea of the ‘ethical’ dilemma and how far you would go to get what you want/need/love.

Blurb: Anna is not sick, but she might as well be. By age thirteen, she has undergone countless surgeries, transfusions, and shots so that her older sister, Kate, can somehow fight the leukemia that has plagued her since childhood. The product of preimplantation genetic diagnosis, Anna was conceived as a bone marrow match for Kate — a life and a role that she has never challenged… until now. Like most teenagers, Anna is beginning to question who she truly is. But unlike most teenagers, she has always been defined in terms of her sister—and so Anna makes a decision that for most would be unthinkable, a decision that will tear her family apart and have perhaps fatal consequences for the sister she loves.

Little women cover

Little Women  by Louisa M Alcott 

When I think of this book I think of my mum and the hours we spent talking about this story, discussing the movie that had been made etc and sobbing at the appropriate moments…my Mum was a huge influence in my life and she encouraged me to read from such a young age.

Blurb: Little Women is the delightful story of the four March girls and their approach towards womanhood.

Meg, the eldest and most beautiful, shrugs off her vanity and social ambition, discovering fulfillment in romantic love. Boyish Jo on the other hand, with her contempt of all “lovering”, turns impetuously towards writing for solace. Gentle Beth rejects worldly interests, preferring to devote her life to her family, to the joy of music and to timidly aiding all who suffer in life. Amy, the youngest and most imperfect of the March girls, continually tries to overcome her selfishness and girlish pretensions, though he has a hard task before her.” (Description from Good reads)

Ain’t She Sweet by Susan Elizabeth Philips

The first full length romance novel I read and LOVED. It was funny, sweet and emotional, despite having a hero named Colin who wore a flouncy velvet jacket (from memory)…but it taught me a lot about the development of the H/h relationship and how any bad heroine can be redeemable

Aint she sweet

Blurb: Sugar Beth Carey’s come back to Parrish, Mississippi, and she’sbrought her reputation for wreaking havoc with her. She’s broke,desperate, and too proud to show it, even with her old enemieslining up for a chance to get even. Her former girlfriends havetheir eyebrow pencils sharpened into lethal points. Winnie Davis,her longtime rival, is fully armed with the money, power, andprestige that had once been Sugar Beth’s. But worst of all isColin Byrne, the man whose career Sugar Beth had destroyed — and not exactly accidentally.

Now Colin’s a famous novelist living in Sugar Beth’s old mansion,and this modern day dark prince is using his writer’s imaginationto figure out how to bring the town’s beautiful former princessto her knees. But despite her sassy mouth, feisty spirit, andhardheaded ways, Sugar Beth’s no longer the spoiled rich girlthey all remember. No, now she’s a woman to be reckoned with …and a great big reckonin’ is about to happen, not least of allfor one dark prince who might — just might — be thinking aboutfalling in love with the wickedest girl in town.

One Month To Become A Mum by Louisa George

My first book in print! To remind myself that anything is possible and to dare to dream!!

One month aussie cover

Jessie Price lost her only chance at motherhood. It’s a constant hurt until she meets sinfully sexy single dad Dr Luke McKenzie and his gorgeous little girl. Luke’s intoxicating kisses and his daughter’s adoring hugs have Jessie longing for the impossible. But as a temporary locum, the clock’s ticking – there’s only a month to make all her wishes come true…

Which book/s would you want to have close by when you’re stranded on a desert island and why? (And yes, I know I should have had something about survival skills, but…well…you know…)

Oh…and here’s some info about my newest release…OUT NOW!  Tempted By Hollywood’s Top Doc

Tempted Hollywoods Doc UK

Behind the scenes…

Top-of-his-game neurosurgeon Dr. Jake Lewis has thrown himself into work in a bid to forget the past. Now, used to high-octane medical emergencies, he’s furious to be temporarily assigned to pander to LA’s biggest diva!

Yet when he meets headstrong assistant-to-the-stars Lola Bennett, their instant chemistry makes his new job much more tempting! He’s working with her on set in the sultry Bahamas, and it’s just a matter of time before that chemistry reaches the boiling point…

14 thoughts on “Desert Island Keepers”

  1. Hi Louisa

    Oh this is a very hard question for me LOL let me see and this list could change anytime 🙂

    I would take Little Woman as well loved that one

    The Secret Years Barbara Hannay

    Untouched Anna Campbell

    The Perfect Rake Anne Gracie

    The books in The Hollywood Hills Clinic Series (I have read the first 4 so far loved them) so I will need the others.

    Truly this is one of the hardest questions for me there are so many books that mean a lot to me 🙂

    Have Fun
    Helen

    1. Funny, Helen, because when i wrote this I thought of you, wondering which books (out of the thousands you read) you’d choose. I haven’t read The Secret Years or Untouched, but they are on my tbb list now. I loved Anne Gracie’s Perfect series…such fun!
      Thanks for joining in!

  2. I don’t know how you did it. Such FORTITUDE! I think I would definitely have to have Jane Eyre, maybe…ummmm….The Secret River which is ridiculously wonderful….Probably a HUGE book of short stories – is that allowed? I love short stories. Can I have the entire Little House on the Prairie series? Only one more? ONE? Meanie pants. xx Annie O’

    1. Oooh, Annie O’- never heard of The Secret River. I like the idea of a book of short stories. And yes, you can have LHONP if it’s all bound in one big volume!!
      And yeah…I’m mean!

  3. Ooh, difficult question! At this point in time, I’d take:
    Me Before You by Jojo Moyes (loved it!);
    It by Stephen King (such a brilliant book);
    Misery by Stephen King (because I’ve already read it so many times);
    The Last Lecture by Randy Pausch (non-fiction, but a book that ‘spoke’ to me on so many levels; and
    Good Omens by Neil Gaiman and Terry Pratchett (because it makes me laugh and I find something new to appreciate every time I read it)

  4. Louisa,
    Your choices all sound wonderful. I’ve read a number of them. I would add Shana by Kathleen Woodiwiss

  5. OMG Louisa – three of those books are 3 of my favorites, too! I am doing a workshop later this month in Maine and am using Ain’t She Sweet as a perfect example of redeeming a despicable character! Sugar Beth Carry is classic. And, like you I cried buckets during Me Before You. Heck, I got teary-eyed watching the movie trailer. Can’t wait to see it. My Sister’s Keeper was another gut-wrenching read. Loved it. And great idea about taking along your first published book. Maybe you should include your RITA nominated book, too????
    I would add To Kill A Mockingbird because it was the first book that reached me as a mere twelve year old. It turned that summer into the summer of reading. Hard to find books like that. Oh, I’m a bit embarrassed to name this one, and I definitely wouldn’t bring it to the desert Island (where desserts should be made plentiful if they want to keep me there) but Forever Amber. Again, I read it as a young teenager and felt so daring reading about ES-EE-EX! The hero was a bastard (am I allowed to say that here?) but the book has remained with me forever for the first time in print I’d heard a breast described as a ripe apple. ha ha ha ha
    I think Kristin Hannah’s book Firefly could be worth bringing along for another read or two. Oh, and for laughs – The Rosie Project (I believe an Australian wrote that?)
    Fun blog, and thanks for getting me to think about this.

    1. Oh wow, Lynne- you have some great keepers there! I adored Sugar Beth.
      Forever Amber…your secret is out! I loved the Rosie project, too- so funny on so many levels. Thanks for the suggestions! (and particularly that dessert should be plentiful- hell, yes to that!)

  6. This has been fun reading your comments (Great memories..Shanna, Forever Amber…..) I just saw the trailer for the “me before you” movie…can’t wait to read the book and see the film.
    I’d bring
    1: Katherine by Anya Seton (I have my mom’s original copy, it was my first romance that had S_E_X )
    2:Pride and Prejudice
    3: The Importance of being Earnest
    4: My dog eared paperback copy of “The Flame and the FLower” if it survuved the trip without losing pages.
    and I’d replace #5 with my kindle which is loaded with over 300 of my favorite reads (a lot by all of you!)

  7. Well, first, I’d bring a huge, unabridged dictionary with lots of photos included – think of all the new words and amazing things I’d learn while stranded! Then I’d bring a copy of The Awakening by Kate Chopin, which really spoke to me when I read it in college (haven’t read it in years, so I probably should again to see how I’d feel about it now). Then Nine Coaches Waiting by Mary Stewart because I loved Gothic romances, and hers especially, and also because it was the book I reread as an adult not too many years ago that inspired my epiphany that I wanted to write fiction. Then I’d grab a writing craft book to help me write gobs of books while stranded, so I’d have plenty to publish when I’m rescued! 🙂 There are many craft books that I love, but I’ll go with The Fire In Fiction by Donald Maass. Lastly, I’d bring the book I’m currently reading, Big Magic by Elizabeth Gilbert. It’s a wonderful book about ‘creative living beyond fear.’ I recommend it to everyone, but especially my writer friends!

    I also just downloaded Tempted By Hollywood’s Top Doc. I loved the snippet I got to read when you shared our mutual character Cameron with me, Louisa, and really look forward to reading the whole story!

    1. Robin- well, wow, you’ve put a lot of thought into this! I LOVED Big Magic- such an inspiring book. I’ve got, but not read, Donald Maas (I have so many ‘how to’ books and I’ve pretty much never finished any of them!).
      Thank you for getting TBHTD- you sweetie! i hope you enjoy it! x

Leave a Reply

