Harlequin Mills & Boon Medical Romance Novels, Travels Around the World

Fall in Love with Medical Romance this Summer!

After a week of beautiful days filled with sunshine here in London there is only one thing on the minds of the Medical Romance team—summer holidays! From sandy beaches in exotic locations to city breaks in bustling capitals east and west to cosy country getaways here on the British Isles there’s been no end of discussion about how to make the most of the long days, warm nights and bright promise the summer season brings.

So, what is your trusty Medical Romance Editorial Team up to this summer?

Laura:

Though I’ve just returned from a week in Paris with a sojourn to the Loire Valley to go chateau-hopping (because why not?!) I’m already busy planning my next great adventure…to California for the RWA conference! It’s my first visit to the west coast and so I’m planning to make the most of it and will be enjoying the conference—and the opportunity to visit with some of my North American authors. Yay!—before heading off on a two-week road-trip up the Pacific Coast Highway. The wind in the hair, the sun on my skin—I can already feel the sense of total bliss!

Laura in the Loire Valley
Laura in the Loire Valley
Laura Outside the Louvre
Laura outside The Louvre

Sheila:

I’ve also just been to France—it’s on our doorstep and yet a world away. It’s a place where many of our Medical readers live, French ladies just love our authors’ romances and so I feel completely at home! In May good weather is never guaranteed, so we simply drove south until we hit some sunshine and found ourselves amidst the old world charm of Bordeaux and the delights of the Dordogne. What a place to feast on natural beauty and bounty – of course we had to visit the wine route! This summer I’m looking forward to the Romance Writers of America Conference, with the lovely Laura and some other colleagues, and catching up with both authors and readers around the world. Beyond that, well who knows, the Mediterranean is too good to miss in the summer, and my mind always turns to those gorgeous Italian doctor heroes that our authors write about – so Italy is next on my hit list!

Sheila’s French Getaway
Sheila’s French Getaway
Sheila’s French Getaway

Tilda:

 My first trip of the summer may not get me any stamps on my passport (or a tan, if that were even possible), but it is getting me excited for what lies ahead! First I’m heading to Somerset for the hilly countryside and hopefully some lazing in a hot tub (even if it’s raining). But the main event of my summer is a week in Cyprus, the sunny isle whose name I’ve only just learned to spell…and I couldn’t be more excited about my first holiday there! Naturally my bikini is already purchased, but I’ll still be torn between decadent days in the pool and trying to watch as much of the Olympics as humanly possible…

 

London in the Sunshine
London in the sunshine

There’s no doubt that all this jet-setting is going to be brilliant inspiration—the possibilities for where we’ll set our next miniseries are endless! And, of course, we aren’t the only ones who are getting that itch to travel! Our Medical Romance authors will also be on the move which means we get the pleasure of seeing some of them here in London. In fact, we’ve already welcomed both Amy Andrews and Fiona McArthur to Romance HQ when they’ve been in town visiting from Australia! And there’s no doubt we’re looking forward to gathering with our authors at RWA in San Diego and meeting hopeful Medical authors too 🙂

Flowers in St James's Park London
Flowers in St James’s Park, London

Tokyo, South America, Africa, Australia, New York, London, New Zealand….the list of amazing settings in Medical Romance goes on and on! And even if you aren’t going away you know you can still be whisked away to exotic worlds because there are six entirely different gripping Medical Romances set in diverse, enticing cities and locales around the globe out every month! So whether you are lying on a beach or lounging in the garden, let our authors whisk you away to somewhere wonderful with a hot doc!

So, now that you know our plans we’re dying to know where this summer will find you and your favourite Medical Romance. Let us know in the comments below!

21 thoughts on “Fall in Love with Medical Romance this Summer!”

  1. Sounds like you are all having some fun in the sun I am from Australia so at the moment I am looking forward to some cooler weather to curl up with a good book 🙂

    I have so far read the first 6 books in The Hollywood Hills Clinic series and can I say WOW they have been totally awesome and I am looking forward to the last two 🙂

    I have just started Susan Carlisle’s newest Married for the Boss’s Baby today and am loving it

    Thank you all so much for the fabulous stories

    Have Fun
    Helen

    1. BTW I will be going to The Australian Romance Writers Conference to help with the book signing in August 🙂 should be lots of fun maybe one day I will get to the American one

      Have Fun
      Helen

  2. I would love to say that I’m going somewhere exotic, but I’m not and I’ve not had a holiday for five years! However, I am trying to persuade the hubby to take me for a weekend away in Paris (research trip, so tax deductible?) will have to continue to live vicariously through others!

  3. Hoping to go on a short Caribbean cruise this summer with my kindle. I have been on so many cruises to the Bahamas that I usually just claim a spot on the sun deck near the pool and bar and read the day away! Everyone else is off the ship exploring, so those days in port are quiet for me! Of course, I can be tempted to go to a private island for a day if there is that choice……sun, rum, books. Bliss.

  4. I love hearing about all the travels. Vacations are what I live for. My vacation this year is rather low key. My husband and I are going to spend a week in Ohio and Pennsylvania. I’m going to be going to events but between those I’m putting my feet up. I’ll be in San Diego in July. Looking forward to seeing everyone.

  5. Such gorgeous pictures! What must it be like to have France on your doorstep. I look forward to seeing both Laura and Sheila in San Diego, too. Oh, and Laura, when you drive up the California coast be sure to continue on highway 1 past Big Sur to Carmel, then take a morning or afternoon to take the 17 mile drive. The views are beautiful.
    I am setting out tomorrow for Maine. Lucky me, it’s a writers retreat, and I am happy to contribute one of the workshops there. After the weekend we will visit family nearby, then will go on to New Hampshire and will also visit Cape Cod in Massachusetts. I’m definitely looking forward to it, even though a have a Medical Romance deadline in June!
    Thanks for the lovely blog.

  6. My “vacation” will be San Diego for RWA as well. I’m hoping though to spend some summer days at the beach on the coast of Lake Huron. I definitely will be heading up to the Kawartha Lakes to visit my bestie and be spending some great times in the woods and the lakes around there. I’m planning on enjoying summer, when last summer I was laid up after surgery. Yay for swimming and hiking and campfires! WOOT!

    Can’t wait to see you again, Laura and meeting Sheila for the first time at RWA!

  7. Waving to you all, Sheila, Laura and Tilda! Oh, France is looking particularly lovely in your photos! Looking forward to seeing Sheila and Laura in San Diego with the other med rom authors.
    I’m off to Tahiti next Sunday for a week of sun- can’t wait! xx

  8. What a fabulous blog – loved the pictures! I can’t believe you got that shot of the Lourve, Laura, with nobody else in it!! Did you snap your fingers and freeze time for a moment or two? 🙂

    Was awesome to catch up with the London team last month. I’m still talking about being taken to lunch at the shard by my wonderful editor, Megan! Such a special thrill.

    I’ve just come back from my sun-drenched (mostly) Mediterranean holiday so that’s me for a couple of years! 🙂

  9. Oh, it’s been so long since I travelled overseas and I miss it like crazy, but I have hopes of Spain later in the year. I cannot believe, with all the travelling I’ve done over the years, I somehow missed Spain!

  10. Tres bien and ooo la la and I DEFINITELY am having a baguette with cheese for lunch! We’re actually off to Germany for a few days chased up by Scotland – so that should be fun. Later in the year a trip home to Seattle to see family and a wee trip down the California coastline to check out Hearst Castle. Most of my holidays tend to be via whatever I’m eating….China on a plate! Italy on a plate! Bon voyage one and all…even if you’re at home (which I hear tale is where the heart is!).

  11. Love the beautiful photos, Laura, Sheila, and Tilda! So wonderful to have France on your ‘doorstep’ – a place I haven’t been that’s high on my bucket list! I’m so happy to be getting to meet my fabulous editor Laura in San Diego this year, and to see Sheila again. And also my fellow med rom authors – love spending time with all of you! We have an uncle who lives right on Mission Beach in San Diego, where we’ve parked ourselves nearly every year since I got married and will be parking ourselves again prior to the RWA conference 🙂 That’s probably it for a summer trip this year, unless you count a brief trip to Arkansas for a wedding.

    Oh, I forgot that I’m also visiting Italy…via research! 🙂 My next book is set in Venice, which I went to a few years ago and absolutely LOVED, and looking at photos and reading about it again is giving me a serious case of wanderlust. I wonder if the family would notice if I just left for a while…

    I’m thinking the very near future (as in maybe next year?) requires a trip to London and France 🙂

Leave a Reply

