Harlequin Mills & Boon Medical Romance Novels, Travels Around the World

Home Again… by Carol Marinelli

“Youth,” he replied, “is the most beautiful thing in this world—and what a pity that it has to be wasted on children!”

George Bernard Shaw

I have two homes, and so I hope you’ll understand when I say that I have just got back home to Australia after visiting home in England 🙂 Actually, I have three homes because I spent many holidays and most of my childhood summers in Scotland.

When it comes to writing I feel very lucky as I have several backdrops that I can readily tap into, though, I admit, even after more than two decades in Australia, the UK comes as a more natural setting for me.

On this visit home, I headed to Scotland to visit some of the places that used to be my playgrounds growing up.

I didn’t have much time so I decided to do a tour (www.discoverdunfermline.com) and cram in as much as I could, and I certainly achieved that! I’ve attached a few photos so you can see just how much my writing well has been filled!

Carnegie Hall
Carnegie Hall
Dunfermline Abbey
Dunfermline Abbey

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

As children, we used to go to pantomimes at Carnegie Hall in Dunfermline the birthplace of Andrew Carnegie. I love Dunfermline Abbey but never fully appreciated it’s rich history, and so it was wonderful to be properly shown around. We drove to Culross where Outlander was filmed, and it brought it to life for me.

Culross Market Square
Culross Market Square
Culross
Culross

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

Then it was on to Edinburgh.

Edinburgh
Edinburgh

Currently, I am writing a medical continuity, and my hero is from there, so it was lovely to reacquaint myself with such a magical place and to see where Dominic (my hero) grew up! It was a very misty day so the castle doesn’t show up in these photos but occasionally I got a glimpse, and you could always feel it’s magnificent presence.

Anyway, I am home from home now 🙂 My well is truly filled and I cannot wait to get back to my writing which I hope is all the better for such a wonderful trip down memory lane.

I hope you enjoy some of my photos, and I shall let you know when Dominic’s book comes out!

Happy reading

Carol xxx

8 thoughts on “Home Again… by Carol Marinelli”

  1. How lucky you are to have several places ot call home, Carol!
    Love Scotland – have been there several times. And now I’m listening to book 3 in the Outlander series it gives me a whole new persective on the place 🙂

  2. I was just thinking about the settings I most love to read – and anywhere in England, as well as Edinburgh and Dublin are right up there.

  3. Hi Carol

    Thank you for those photos sadly I have not been to England or Scotland maybe one day and yes it must be awesome have all of these places as home and bring them into you wonderful stories 🙂

    I am reading one of yours now Di Siones Innocent Conquest and loved your last medical from The Hollywood Hills Clinic series I look forward to your next medical 🙂

    Have Fun
    Helen

  4. Carol, so lovely to read your blog about all your homes!! I feel the same…sometimes torn leaving one for the other, but lovely to have my heart in so many places.
    How wonderful to visit Culross and re-imagine those Outlander scenes in real life! Well jealous!
    Can’t wait to read Dominic’s story (Am I the only one who reads in a character’s accent?)
    xxx

  5. Hi Carol – three homes in such wonderful places, how lucky. Loved the pictures, and can’t wait to find out more about this continuity – which line? – Looking forward to Dominic’s book. Don’t suppose you’ll be in San Diego for RWA conference next month after just getting back home? Still, it would be great to see you again.

  6. I love that you have several places that feel like home to you, Carol! I was lucky to go to Great Britain with my grandmother who grew up in Bolton, Lancashire, but I was only 15 at the time, and had a very different perspective than I would today. She wanted me to visit the home where she grew up, but I wanted to spend time with my teen pen-pal – how I wish I’d made a different decision! I would give anything now to have that memory. So I must go visit again, and I’m planning on it being sooner rather than later! Thanks for sharing the wonderful pics.

  7. Carol,
    Good to see you here. I love a visit down childhood memory lane. It’s fun to see things you remember from a child’s point of view as an adult. I have a trip to show my children some of my childhood places in the fall. I don’t think they are looking forward to it as much as I am.

Leave a Reply

