Harlequin Mills & Boon Medical Romance Novels

Independence Day!

We just enjoyed our Fourth of July celebration for another year.  It’s the day Americans observe our independence from Great Britain – a bit of a reverse Brexit? 😉  On July 2nd, 1776, the Continental Congress voted in favor of independence, and on July 4th adopted the Declaration of Independence. I read that through the summer, some held held mock funerals for King George III symbolizing the triumph of liberty – not very nice! 🙂  John Adams (later to become second president of the U.S.) wrote to his wife that July 2nd “will be celebrated, by succeeding Generations, as the great anniversary Festival” and that the celebration should include “Pomp and Parade…Games, Sports, Guns, Bells, Bonfires and Illuminations from one End of this Continent to the other.” He was right, but it ended up being on July 4th, which apparently annoyed him greatly 🙂

Across the country, parades and fireworks abound. Here’s a photo of our local parade, which we always took the kids to when they were younger.

indep-about-us

One of the biggest fireworks displays in the country, Red, White, and Boom, is right here where I live. This year, over 400,000 people came to see the 48,780 pounds of fireworks that were set off.  It’s pretty incredible! boom-1_db800c99-fe20-f434-9a26ba39443eae9c

Then there are local fireworks at various suburbs. Ours always has a concert beforehand, usually featuring bands that were popular back in the day.  A couple years ago, Smokey Robinson was here, and just as great as ever, and more recently, Earth, Wind and Fire were fabulous, too. I can’t find my photos of those, which really annoys me!  But here’s a photo of the grand finale through the trees, which is how we watched them this year.

pexels-photo-26134-medium

We’ve had a July 4th cookout all 25 years of our marriage. It’s changed as time has gone by and babies were born, then grew into big kids and now adults. We’ve lost some of the older generation, and when I look at photos of 25 years of parties, they’re poignant snapshots of the phases of our friends and family’s lives.

Here are a couple pictures from back in the day that I believe I’ve shared before. All the kids are now in high school, college and beyond. One of these days, we’ll have new little ones on the rafts!

KidsOnRaftPoolCrowd

 

This year’s party was threatened by a forecast of serious thunderstorms, but thankfully we got just a few sprinkles – whew!  Here are photos of the calm before the crowd arrived, as we were all set up to go.

pool2pool1

Here’s my son adding charcoal to the chickens on the spit. The grill got quite a workout – after the chickens came off, the burgers, hot dogs and corn got their turns. Yum!

ChickensOnSpit

And a few hitting the potluck buffet brought by everyone – let me say, there’s always plenty of great food!

July4Potluck

I’d like to hear about your celebrations!  What you do to celebrate the Fourth of July, or what other events do you enjoy that might involve cookouts and fireworks and fun?

I shared my June release before, but I’m showing it again because it’s part of the Hollywood Hills Clinic continuity. You saw from Amy’s post that the final two books, by Amalie Berlin and Tina Beckett, are out this month. I’m so happy to have been a part of such a great series, and can’t wait to read the last two!  🙂

PrinceMidwifeCover1

10 thoughts on “Independence Day!”

  1. Hi Robin

    WOW what a great party you have that is awesome thanks for sharing your family photos we celebrate Australia Day on January 26th and it is summer here and as I live in Sydney with one of the best harbours in the world we have ferry boat races and huge tall ships and fireworks so much going on and plenty of BBQ’s around the country much the same as your celebrations I am sure although we might throw a sausage or prawn (shrimp) on the barbie 🙂

    I have to say I loved your newest story and I love the whole of The Hollywood Hills Clinic Series woohoo

    Have Fun
    Helen

    1. Australia Day sounds wonderful, Helen! I absolutely am going to make it to Sydney one of these days to see your amazing harbor and so much more – hopefully sooner rather than later 🙂

      So glad you’ve enjoyed the Hollywood Hills Clinic series – I have too! xoxo

  2. Robin
    The 4th is a big deal in my family’s life. We have no less than 40 at my mother’s lake house but as many as 75. We’ve cooked a pig in the ground and have done ribs in the oven. The basic core group has come for around 40 years but we are adding new people all the time. We enjoy fireworks and a lot of sun and water. Great memories.

    1. Wow, 75! We’ve had probably 65 some years, but I think that’s been the top number. Your 40 years has us beat by far! 🙂 I bet your cooked pig is absolutely delicious.

  3. Looks and sounds fabulous Robin! I’ve only been to one 4th of July celebration in America, but I am determined to get to another one of these days.

  4. Happy Independence Day, Robin!
    Like Helen we usually celebrate Australia Day with a BBQ at my brothers house. He always puts on a big shindig. And his place is on the water so the view’s not shabby either 🙂

    1. Thanks, Amy! I’m by the water right now in San Diego, prior to the RWA conference. And that makes me pretty happy! So any celebration on the water sounds wonderful to me 🙂

  5. Wow, that’s a big party! When my grandmother was alive her birthday was July 4th, so we always had a big family BBQ/party at her house overlooking Lake Michigan in Wisconsin. There were 19 grandchildren under the age of 16 at her last birthday (1969). They had a few acres with an orchard, so we kids would amuse ourselves all day climbing the fruit trees and eating all the cherries and plums we could pick, and generally just running around staying away from the grownups. That last year one of my cousins had a rock band…they (quite badly) played for everyone’s entertainment. To this day whenever I hear Henry the Eighth by Herman’s Hermits I am back at Grandmas. I think that was the only song they knew to play. We watched the fireworks all along the lakeshore north and south of us, as her house was in the middle of a miles long c-shaped curve of the shoreline. Nothing better than fireworks from 8 or more places! When my boys were young teens I spent the 4th praying they would not blow their fingers off lighting firecrackers and fireworks with all the kids in our neighborhood(my prayers were answered). Now that they are grown, my oldest son has the annual 4th celebration at his home, We can see the local fireworks, plus now it’s legal in Florida for everyone to have personal fireworks, so there are tons of those. the best thing about being at his house is that since’s its up on a hill, we can see he Disney Magic Kingdom fireworks every night! ( and his neighborhood has really small lots, so they really can’t light up fireworks so no blown finger worries for nurse mom!

Leave a Reply

