The Writing Life

Research Fun! by Fiona Lowe

Frog and Peach
The inspiratio for the Frog & Peach pub 

Next year, there’s a new medical romance series coming out set in London. I have a book in it and I’ve had so much fun researching and drawing on my memories of London. The first film I can recall seeing was Mary Poppins and years later, I was very fond of watching Upstairs, Downstairs. When I finally got to London, I remember thinking I was on the set! Google Maps is my research friend along with Google in general.
I had the BEST FUN reading up on the Savoy Hotel. savoyOh, if those walls could talk! Fortunately, enough of the wild and wonderful stories and antics of the patrons were written down. Fred Astaire danced on the roof. It was a fave hotel of Marilyn Monroe’s and way back in the day, the rich and famous threw extravagant parties. Think Mr. Selfridge!

As you may or may not know, I have written a women’s fiction novel,  Daughter of Mine. It will be out March 2017 and closer to the date I will fill you in more on that. Right now, I have to start the second WF book and I’ve been researching. This took me to an artisan sourdough bread bakery.

BaDSCF5502ck in 2000, the Calverts started Irrewarra Sourdough, baking bread in historic stables on their western district property. From their first order of 100 loaves it has grown to baking 22,000 loaves a week as well as extending into other products. It was fabulous seeing all this glorous bread being made by hand. The boys and I were lucky enough to be sent home with some bread:-)

The research part of writing a book is always fun. It’s such a shame I now have to knuckle down and write the sucker 😉

Are you currently researching something? Perhaps it’s a h0liday/vacation? A new career? New Job? House? Or a new mattress…that’s my next job! Fill me in, I’d love to hear 🙂

Book News!

This year’s releases are A Daddy for Baby Zoe? and Down & Dusty Secret Confessions- Kelly. My most recent single title novels are the Medicine River Series (Montana Actually, Truly, Madly Montana) set in gloroious Montana. For all my book news, photos and details on each of my 30 novels,  head to my website or follow me on Facebook or Twitter.

 

16 thoughts on “Research Fun! by Fiona Lowe”

  1. Congratulations on the Women’s Fiction novels, Fiona! You’re such a talented author, I can only imagine how good these books are going to be.

    I have recently been researching for a book about a paraplegic. Did you know an orthopedic surgeon who became a paraplegic designed a “standing” wheelchair so he could continue to perform surgery? Did you know that there are Robotic Suits that can help paraplegics walk? Yes, they cost as much as a Lamborghini, but they’re out there and the future looks bright. Do you have any idea how many “items” there are to help paraplegics make love to their partners? Wow, research is ALWAYS eye-opening.

    Also, I have been to the Savoy Theater to see a play (ten years ago) and it was one of the most beautiful and amazing theaters I’ve ever been to.

    Looking forward to your London based continuity whenever it is released.

    Oh, and the sourdough culture that started during the Gold Rush in California, is still supposed to be “active” and making new bread. How about that!

  2. Oh my! Lynne, you are a WEALTH of fascinating information . Thanks! Thanks also for the kind words. I am about to try making my own sourdough culture. Will keep you posted 🙂

  3. Hi Fiona

    Woohoo on all of that fun research and I do love bread although these days I am staying away from it 🙂 need to get more weight off:)

    I love the sound of your WF and look forward to reading them next year as for research I am very much interested in recipes that are easy to make and not heavy on the hips these days and have found some nice soup and slow cooker recipes 🙂

    Oh and looking forward to the new medical series 🙂

    Have Fun
    Helen

  4. I love researching – and I have found YouTube to be absolutely wonderful for all sorts of book-related things – from listening to the sound of a typhoon to learning how to surf. And on the subject of mattresses, if you have enough money, I can tell you that hands down the best is Tempur. Sadly, at the moment, I can only afford the pillows, but I know if ever I end up having to be confined to bed for any appreciable length of time, I’m getting that mattress come hell or high water.

  5. I really enjoy researching, too, Fiona! And I’m with you that it’s more fun than actually sitting down to write the book 😉 Recently, I’ve been researching Venice which is giving me a really bad case of wanderlust, wanting to go there again! Sounds like another great medical series that you’re working on – I look forward to reading it, and congratulations on your women’s fiction stories!

  6. I’m so looking forward to ‘Daughter of Mine’ Fiona!

    The best fun I’ve had with research was finding out about ladies underwear in the 1940’s. A friend and I sat down for tea and cake with a couple of ladies who remembered 40’s underwear first hand. I told them about the scene I was planning to write and then just listened while they told me all I needed to know about fabrics and fastenings. I didn’t dare put any of their stories into the book though 🙂

  7. I’d love to revisit London..I was only 21 when I was there, and it was pre-internet (1979) so the only research I had was a travel guide from the library. I’d love to go back now and see it through more researched eyes….when I read a lot of the books you all write I often google the places and scenes so I can get a better picture in my head, especially the Austrailian/NZ/Scotland/Ireland/Wales and UK sites outside of London. I even googled the hierarchy of UK medicine, since your terms for doctors and residents are different than ours in the states. All that googling makes my brain happy!!!

  8. heart attacks,. Fiona. That’s my latest research for the next medical I’m writing., Not because I’m planning on having one!!!! It’s so easy these days. How did we manage without Google?

  9. Oh Lordy, how did writers research before the internet, Fiona???

    My latest research involves an overnight trip to Sydney tomorrow week to go see the PBR – professional bull riders – Australian championship. I dont consider that will be too taxing 🙂

Leave a Reply

