Harlequin Mills & Boon Medical Romance Novels

THREE THINGS I LOVE ABOUT SUMMER BRIDES DUET

young wedding couple - freshly wed groom and bride posing outdoo
Summer Brides

 

Last year I was fortunate to be teamed up with Susan Carlisle, a true Southern Belle, for the Summer Brides duet.

Two unexpected journeys to “I do” – Two perfect summer weddings…

LM_FB_header_7

I thought I’d share three things that I especially loved about writing my story, WEDDING DATE WITH THE ARMY DOC.

#1

I’ve waited a decade to finally write a pathologist protagonist. I loved having my heroine on the job in a big hospital, carrying her load, doing frozen sections, reading slides, making diagnoses, all while falling in love. This was the first time ever I was told by my editor to cut back on medical detail. That’s because I was so excited to have my character do an autopsy, I may have gone a bit overboard. 😉 It was easy to dial back the details in two areas in this book, but I sure loved writing that autopsy scene!female surgeon with her surgical team on background

#2

Setting a part of my book in Savannah! Fountain in Park

I love Savannah, Georgia, and when Susan Carlisle and I teamed up to write this Summer Brides duet, she mentioned she was having her book’s wedding at the Tybee Island Lighthouse. Bingo! Tybee Island Beach Lighthouse With Thunder And Lightning

 

I’d just visited that lighthouse, and also spent a few days touring around Savannah – one of the most romantic cities I’ve ever been to.

The city is blessed with a Historic District covered in cobblestone streets, gorgeous Colorful Historic Colonial Home Entrance With Flowers, Ivy And Pgardens, and oak-shaded parks in over twenty city squares. Mansions. Monuments. Fountains. Spanish moss dripping from oak trees. Atmosphere!

Old House With American FlagIn other words, picture book perfect. So my hero turned into a true southern gentleman who’d moved to L.A., and I fell in love. So did my heroine!

 

#3

ZOMBIES! Yes, I put zombies in the book, and if you’d like to read more about how I got away with that, go here: http://www.lynnemarshall.com/blog-2

 

So there you have three of many reasons why I loved writing WEDDING DATE WITH THE ARMY DOC. I haven’t even mentioned the gut wrenching love story between Charlotte and Jackson, two imperfect people who were perfect for each other and meant to meet and fall in love. Sigh. That was the best reason of all.

If you’ve ever visited the South (US) share with us. What was your favorite part? The food? The scenery? The humidity? (kidding)

 

 

15 thoughts on “THREE THINGS I LOVE ABOUT SUMMER BRIDES DUET”

  1. Hi Lynne

    Firstly I loved this story and I have Susan’s waiting on my kindle 🙂 I loved the settings and their story is fabulous so moving and sadly I have not been to The States although it is a place I would love to visit and if I get there I would love to have coffee with you 🙂

    Thank you for the lovely stories you write

    Have Fun
    Helen

    1. Helen,
      Wouldn’t that be a hoot to have coffee? That’s the beauty of the Internet, we feel like we already know each other.
      Thank you so much for the kind things you say about my books.

  2. I would absolutely love to go to Savannah. I’m a West Coast girl (Seattle via California parents) but have ended up in England and somehow missed out on the States. Your blog has made me want to put a ROAD TRIP in my future! I love the idea of the south and look forward to travelling there in your book (and, of course, to the autopsy room. Natch.) Also looking forward to Susan’s. It’s always exciting when you see two people who’ve loved writing books together x

    1. Hi Annie – as a Californian, I was never enamored of “the south” but in my wisdom (and age) I have discovered gorgeous places Georgia, South and North Carolina, and also in a state in which I’d actually like to retire to – Virginia. But I would definitely miss the dry head of California (my birth state has spoiled me in the weather department).
      Yes, Susan and I were put together and I was thrilled about the match!
      Oh, and speaking of road trip – next month Hubby and I are going to Montana. A first for both of us. Glacier National Park here we come. 😉 Hmm, do I see a Montana Medical in my future????

      1. Of course you do!!! I’ve driven across Montana twice – once when a friend was working at Glacier and that place is Big Sky Gorgeous!!! Have an amazing time. Xx 🤓

  3. I visited Savannah once in 2001, it was so pretty. I’d love to have explored it more, but it was a rowdy St. Patrick’s Day weekend and I was a chaperone for my son’s high school marching band (They were in the St. Patty’s parade) 150 plus kids isn’t optimal for sightseeing on a crowded holiday weekend. When I moved to Florida in 1987, we lived in Tallahassee for the first 4 years. It was like living in the deep south. We did not have the squares and tons of antebellum buildings like Savannah, but the huge live oaks dripping in Spanish moss made for beautiful canopied roads in the older parts of town. Everyone told us to try the seafood, it all looks so gorgeous and freshly caught, but I must confess, I loathe fish and am allergic to shellfish. I did develop a fondness for cheese grits, hot boiled peanuts,smoked Barbecue, ambrosia salads, pecan pie, and my favorite southern Hummingbird cake. I learned that blue eye shadow and an always made up face was favored by most of my new Southern girlfriends ( my makeup always seemed to melt off me from the humidity so I gave up), and going out for a ladies brunch with mimosas once a month was a ritual.. My favorite thing about living there was that my sons (who were 3 and 5 when we first moved there) developed very cute southern accents and actually learned to have good Southern manners… they say yes ma’am to this day. I do despise the humidity tho…. my hair is naturally curly and I live in a terminal state of frizz head! Sadly, when we moved to Orlando we gained lots of things to do, but lost the Southern charm.

    1. Laurie – I was smiling and nodding all the way through your comment. So so true. Love those canopied streets – nothing like Spanish moss dripping off of beautiful old oak trees, and everything else! Good thing it’s harmless. I’ve only been to Savannah twice, but did loads of exploring both times. Loved watching the container ships float by on the river. (I talk about that in the book).
      My favorite was shrimp and grits (sorry your allergic) hands down. Oh, and do you say Pe-CON pie or Pe-CAN? You must tell us what Hummingbird cake is, please?
      And I was so impressed with the well manner southern kids. Never got called Ma’am so much in my life.
      Thanks for sharing. Loved it!

      1. I say pe-con. A Hummingbird cake is similar to a carrot cake, except instead of carrots, walnuts and raisins it is made with crushed pineapple, golden raisins and pecans. It Also has cream cheese frosting. SOOOOOOO many calories, definitely a special occasion cake!

  4. Lynne, I love that you managed to get Zombies into your story!

    I’ve only ever seen Georgia in films and on the TV, but I’d love to go. It sounds an unique and very beautiful place and I’m really looking forward to reading yours and Susan’s books. And who could resist a southern gentleman, with wonderful manners and that gorgeous accent!

    1. Hi Annie – yes, that gorgeous southern accent. Love it. If you’ve read the book or seen the movie Midnight in the Garden of Good and Evil, you’ve probably already got a feel for Savannah.
      I loved sticking my Zombie run in the book. I smiled the whole time I wrote it. LOL

  5. I’m coming late to this, but Susan, I was born and raised on Tybee. I swam every day from spring till it was too cold to swim right in front of that lighthouse! I cannot wait to read your and Lynne’s books! I’m about to take a visit back home!

    1. Lynne, I’m so sorry–I meant to address this to both of you! I just got over excited about both books set in my someplace. My grandparents lived in Savannah, so we spent almost as much time there as on Tybee!

Leave a Reply

